We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, clean, but poor attention to detail” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
surrey
Level Contributor
353 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, but poor attention to detail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here for one night. Certainly very convenient for airport and other facilities. Friendly at Reception and got the room I had requested. But the remote didn't work, there was no list of TV/radio channels, the basin didn't empty, there was poor lighting, and new light was delivered but no socket to plug it into! At that point I gave up and went to bed! At least I had booked on-line and not paid £220. Quietest rooms at far end of corridor if you don't have a very early flight.

Room Tip: If not early flight then ask for a room at the far end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear pmas53

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.

We were delighted to read you found the hotel to be convenient for the airport and other facilities and you found the staff to be friendly.

Your valuable comments regarding the details in the room will be taken up with our Head Housekeeper.

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    750
    422
    111
    78
See reviews for
382
835
125
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

i booked this hotel as it is only a short bus journey to south terminal, and there was a park and fly option. This is the second time I have stayed here, with this stay much better than the last. We got upgraded to an executive room due to being a IHG member (not told so was a nice surprise for my partner when we arrived at the room). We did not eat here due to the timing of our flights in the morning. There was plenty of parking spaces.
It was a breeze coming back after the trip. Just got the pass stamped and we were on our way back home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agehig, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for your kind comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Adrian
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a Xmas party here on the 7th, really impressed with the service that my party and I received, had a bit of a problem in check in but it was dealt with professionally and without any fuss. I would recommend this for a Xmas party as the food was great,DJ was so good (I danced all night) and he played a variety of music, which is nice. We will be going back next year and I have a NYE party here as well and am really looking forward to it.

Rooms were clean and as far as I am concerned not outdated at all (as per some of the comments), there was a bit of noise sometimes during the night as people are coming and going but it was ok, have been to hotels where the noise is unbearable.

All the staff were friendly and eager to assist in whatever way they want, breakfast was fab and you don't feel as if you have to rush. I would recommend going down around 9ish as it was quiet at that time but the time we left around 11ish, it was packed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vebs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Vebs32

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always encouraging to receive such very nice comments for both Management and Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Where do I start....
I was staying at this hotel from Sunday to Friday and experienced the worst service ever!
The night we got there it was late. We arrived into our room and started unpacking and seen something jumping around the room, it turned out to be a cockroach!! Then we pulled out the draw and there was another one there already dead!
We rang reception straight away and two of them came up to the room. They immediately said it wasn't a cockroach and believe you me they were definitely cockroaches as you will see in my photo.
We did not get any apology and they didn't even help us with our bags! They moved us rooms and the service we received was ridiculous.
Then the restaurant was appalling! They couldn't cope as there was 12 of us. The service was terrible took 3 hrs to get a meal some nights. They would even bring out our desert before we had our main! And this happened a few times!
Then a few days later we found plastic in the mash potato!! Which looked like a sweet paper wrapper! As you will see again in my photos! This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ndicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Ndicka,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Welcome was warm and efficient, the rooms as expected so far so good.

In the morning 8.00 am I went down for breakfast, the cleaners had already swooped and a decorating table had appeared in the hall, with open paint tins.

After breakfast I checked out and asked the lady on reception to keep the access to the room open for another 30 mins. Returning to the room the access had been cancelled.

Down to reception again, no apology and at no time at reception I was not asked how my stay was.

Grumpy minor points, but still if you sell high, you should deliver high standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear rjcrowther,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is nice to know that our rooms met your liking and you had a good check-in experience. However, it is regrettable that your breakfast experience was sub par and the service received did not meet your standards. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. This will definitely be addressed with the appropriate departments.

Again, thanks for your review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The staff here are friendly and professional - we booked a stay/park package and we arrived at 3.30pm ish, parking was easy, check in was easy, dealing with the parking was very simple. We had an executive room, which I don't feel was worth the money (complimentary water and bar of chocolate, plus bath robes/slippers) in comparison to executive perks which you get in hotels such as the Crowne Plaza, but the room was very spacious, quiet, had good temperature control and the bed was comfortable. Food and drink is quite expensive but not abnormal for a London airport hotel. We took a taxi from the hotel to the aiport for £9, or the shuttle bus is £3 per person, it took around 10 mins in a taxi. Reception booked our taxi for us the night before and it was bang on time. We left our car keys with the hotel, it took all of 2 minutes when we returned to get our keys back and have the parking ticket validated, the car had been moved to a pick up area - I was impressed with the ease of the parking service and would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had an executive level room and it was really quiet, it overlooked the car park and main road but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Allie1234,

I appreciate that you took the time to review our property. It is good to know that you found our staff to be accommodating and friendly. Furthermore, I am happy that our parking service was of ease for you. It is always hugely motivating on our part to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

We hope the next time you are in the area, you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
570 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel just couldnt be better for Park and Stay. The rooms are spacious and great, and the food in the restaurant first class. All the staff are excellent, and we find it our first choice for when ever we are travelling from Gatwick.
Some little tips, take an overnight bag and hand your keys into reception in the morning when using it for park and stay.
Also on arrival they often try to get you to book breakfast, but fail to tell you that a cheaper and simply breakfast option is available in the bar area, ie bacon buttie etc., which is often all you want before flying.
Great location. We used Virgins twylight check in, and got rid of our bags before we checked into the hotel, which meant in the morning we only had hand luggage with us on the bus., to the terminal.

Room Tip: We always ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing