We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great reception staff. Poor food. No secure parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Location was great. Family room booked for package including breakfast

Parking barrier broke so no secure parking

Checkin was great , staff couldn't do enough


Room was tired - you can tell it's a busy hotel. Everything very worn

Two camp beds for children - they were fine as only small .

Vending machines all broke

Restaurant reluctantly seated us at 8 but struggled to get any drinks as they were so busy.

Kids eat free is a load of rubbish - they basically put a few cold buffet items out ( they were all empty)

We ordered two steaks - they were in edible . We couldn't get any drinks served as staff were so busy

Breakfast on the other have was very good quality fresh food, juice, coffee etc

Would I stay there again? Only if no where of a better quality was available....

For just a sleep and breakfast close to airport then it's not too bad

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinejohnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Carolinejohnuk

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor, I would like to assure you that parking barrier has been repaired and working well.

We were pleased to read that your check in experience was good and the staff were helpful.

I would like to assure you that we have taken your valuable comments regarding the restaurant up with our Food & Beverage Manager.

We do hope we can look forward to you booking to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Catherine James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

stayed here mid December 2013 and was pretty good. Car park had a few issues but the staff were straihgt on to them and sorted them out. Room was fine, i was facing the road and it was not to noisey and generally hotel not to noisey - sometimes airport hotels can be noisey.
Staff friendly and attentive but restruant menu a bit restrictive, stayed there 4 nights and ran out of things i liked on menu and a bit over priced for what it was really, but food was of good quality. Worth noting parking is £10 per night but then all the airport hotels charge about that

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller123456277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear traveller123456277

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your positive comments regarding the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Catherine James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was a comfortable night's stay prior to an early flight the next day. There is a frequent bus service to the airport - costing £3 each way. Breakfast was not included in the deal, but car parking for 15 nights was part of the deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Fleckney

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. It is always refreshing to receive such encouraging feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Catherine James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After staying here for 5 long nights at the beginning of December I can safely say I was more than happy to get home. The service is appalling and have never experienced something so terrible in my life. The rooms are far from clean as there was a group of 12 and in one room was cockroaches !!! They didn't even seem bothered and tried to deny it at first. Then the restaurant was shocking. We waited hours before getting our food and we would be in from 6pm as soon as it opened until 9-10pm some nights. One night I received my meal and nearly chocked on plastic (looked like a sweet wrapper) I was taken to one side to fill out a form which was sent away apparently and I never received anything to why and where this come from. I asked for a copy of the form the next evening and was advised that they didn't have a copy and was already sent to some department. I was taken back when they said they didn't have a copy as how could they follow up the situation if they didn't and the original form could have been lost in the post etc. The food clearly not checked when sent out. This could have been a young child and could have been a lot more serious. The staff were so rude and would certainly NEVER recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Amy

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I know that i personally dealt with your situation whilst you were with us and I believed that everything was dealt with to your satisfaction, however if you would like to discuss further then please do not hesitate to contact me directly

Regards
Sean Quinney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel was efficient and the staff helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant meals we had very much. The only problem we had was that Gala Hotels sent the documentation with Travelodge on it instead of Holiday Inn where we had been booked in so this caused us problems registering both times we stayed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Andrew H

Thank you for your very nice review.

I am sorry that you had problems with your booking. Please feel free to book direct with the Hotel in the future or on the IHG website.

Kind Regards

Catherine James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have stayed at this Holiday Inn twice now, having previously had an extremely bad experience at the Hilton, Gatwick. We usually book in here the night before flying and leave the car in their carpark for the two weeks we are gone. The hotel is always clean with efficient staff. The room is clean and quiet with a comfortable bed and good shower. Meals at the hotel can be bar or restaurant. As the menu is the same in either we ate in the bar area. There are call buttons on the table but we did not have to use them as the waiters/tresses were there whenever we signalled. The food was good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately, as one who enjoys cask ale, there is nothing worth drinking in the bar as far as I am concerned. We had a good pre holiday stay and will stay there again next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Bill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear 66Bill2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Catherine James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed last night there before flying to Marseille. Wanted to have dinner. We had the order taken straight away but we had to wait over 30mins to get the drinks delivered then a further 10mins to get the starter. The restaurant was slightly busy but all table were on dessert when we arrive. The hostess was hoovering around without actively helping, the whole floor was full of dirty tables. Not really welcoming. Fortunately the starters were good (risotto and mushrooms), the mains(chicken) were moist but soaked too much in Bbq sauce - dessert brilliant. Luckily the trainee Oksana was really sweet and smiley and made up the wait, but we would have appreciate an apology from the management for the waiting time Or maybe comp drinks would have been nice. Lastly the Spanish lady Gema was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Ephylyos (London)

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn London Gatwick Airport.

I can assure you that your valuable comments will be taken up with the Food and Beverage Manager.

I would however like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments regarding the two members of staff that stood out to you. It is always encouraging to get such feedback for both the staff and Management.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards
Catherine James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £66 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing