We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Level Contributor
169 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night here and nothing to complain about. I got extra toiletries when asked and the front desk staff were nice. Only thing that they could improve on is make wifi free. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. 4/5.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Asokore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Asokore

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.

Both staff and management were all very encouraged by your recommendation.

Kind Regards

Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    749
    422
    111
    78
See reviews for
382
834
125
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sipoo, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Flew into Gatwick from Helsinki on a chilly Saturday morning with my family. Although we arrived early, well before noon, the receptionist checked us in and gave us a room so we could ditch our luggage and head out to downtown London for a day before the flight next morning. The room was nice although pretty basic, but the hotel should improve the thermal insulation on the windows and then the temperature drops below freezing, as it did during the one night stay we spent there, you can feel how the room temperature also drops.

The hotel breakfast room opens 6AM even at Syndays which is great if your flight departs before noon.

There is shuttle bus service available between the hotel and the Gatwick airport at a cost of 3 pounds per person.

I'm happy to recommend this hotel to anyone for a stay over nights in Gatwick and for a few day business trips in the area although some consideration is adviced during winter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raitis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Raitis20
Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.
We were very pleased to read that you were happy with your check in experience, breakfast and the bus transfers to and from the airport.
We do apologise that you found the room cold, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We were delighted to read that you would recommend the hotel.
We do hope you and your family will book to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here as a part of six prior to our flight to Orlando. Rooms were great. Bus to airport was great for £3.00 each. Picked up our car on return and that was a great way to end the holiday. We ate in the restaurant and that was fine. Would stay again if flying out of Gatwick

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SIH135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear SIH135

We were very pleased to read you had a great stop over at the Holiday Inn London- Gatwick before your flight out of Gatwick.

We do hope you had a fabulous time in Orlando.

We look forward to welcoming you back, when you next fly out of Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I and a colleague were flying early in the morning so stayed here the night before. We traveled to Gatwick by train and used the shuttle bus from and to the airport for £3 each way per person at the time of writing so can't comment on parking etc. Check in was excellent as we are both club members so all details were already known. The bars and restaurant were very nice and all public areas clean and tidy.The room was great, although it was only a one night, arrive late / leave early stay so I didn't need to unpack and explore the storage options, or the WiFi etc. I would definitely stay again if flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HostMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear HostMania
Thank you for taking the time to write your very positive review.
We were delighted to read that you had an excellent check in experience and found the bar, restaurant and public areas to be very clean.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

A once excellent loyalty club is becoming less and less attractive and our one night stay here did little to reverse this trend. Despite the price match promise I obtained a park and stay package cheaper with Holiday Extra's. PC point blank refused to honour the deal. To be fair this has nothing to do with the quality of the hotel however the experience at the hotel did nothing to help. In fact quite the opposite. On arrival I advised that I was a Gold Elite customer and that I had an 18 day park and stay. 'No you haven't. On producing the confirmation e-mail there was a quick backdown but no apology. 'You should have called us directly as we can match any deal'. I did and you couldn't! Went to our twin room to find that the beds were dreadful. An earlier review mentions how uncomfortable (and unstable on their wheels) they were. Having stayed in dozens of HI's and Crowne Plaza's I took this with a pinch of salt as they are normally pretty good. Wrong! Was like sleeping in a supermarket trolley every time you moved. Did not want to eat in the restaurant but very little option in the area at the time. Whilst hotels are always going to charge way over the odds the food here was simply a rip off. Again, I have always found the food in HI's/CP's to be expensive but almost worth the money. I was always under the impression that Priority Club members were to be acknowledged and advised of any offers at the hotel. Nothing. I was charged for Wifi the next day but again had to advise that I was PC member and it was eventually removed. To be fair the parking side of things went pretty smoothly with no problems on our return from holiday. I would say however that I presented our ticket to reception and immediately given our keys. No request for any ID. If I had dropped the ticket at the airport anybody could have picked it up and helped themselves to a car. Surely a check of a passport or a driving licence to ensure the correct owner? I originally booked the Crowne Plaza at Crawley (same deal) but the parking arrangements were a bit messy so moved to here. Probably a mistake. I would definitely not stay here again and am actively looking at other loyalty schemes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJULES22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, General Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear AJULES22
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you have experienced a few problems.
Please could you call me to discuss this further.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Sean Quinney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Once again a great start to our holiday. The 'Park and Stay' package worked like clockwork as usual. For the first time we stayed in for our evening meal (having always gone for a walk to local pub or the nearby town before) - the bar was nice and our meal was lovely (and they now seem to have very fair prices). For once we also had time for a breakfast which was also great start to the day and very good (you get discount if you book in advance or on arrival). We love staying here as it starts our holiday early and sets us up very well for the tediousness of air travel.

You can sign up for discounts if you sign up to the hotel loyalty scheme and revisit which does get you free breakfasts or room upgrades. One thing that stands out - every staff member was friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel. One receptionist even went out of her way to go out to our car and retrieve something we had forgotten and put it on the next bus to the terminal so we could have it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the car park are generally quieter than those facing the road - but the road is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemerbikerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Beemerbikerbabe

Thank you for your very positive review and for outlining the advantages of booking to stay at the Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport.

It was very encouraging to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I booked a hotel / parking package with Holiday Extra's. After reading some of the reviews on TA I was a tad concerned - I needn't have been.
Check in was quick & efficient and the room was clean & comfortable. We had already checked in at the South Terminal but returned there to eat. The staff were helpful in providing bus times and sold us tickets for not only the evening but also for our outbound & inbound transfers.
We had a drink in the bar which was a tad expensive but this is to be expected at an airport hotel.
Our transfers both ways went smoothly & my car was awaiting me on our return.
I would use the hotel again..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Kenao

Thank you for taking the time to write you review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and everything went so smoothly for you.

We look forward to welcoming back next time you are booking to stay in the Gatwick Areas.

Kind Regards
Catherine James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing