We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a typical, old Holiday Inn, but it's had a makeover and I can't find anything serious to find fault with. The location is brilliant, 5 minutes South Terminal with buses every ten minutes. Huge car park behind with direct access to hotel. Reception friendly and efficient. Nice bar. Good sized rooms with all life's little necessities. Very comfy beds. Good bathroom with full sized bath. Strong air cond. that dripped all night. I would use this hotel again, for price and convenience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pedroofpobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Pedroofpobla,
Thank you for taking time to fill out a positive review for The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are glad that you found the overall experience a success and we hope you welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Used some avios points for 4 days parking and an overnight stay before flying out at 6am the next morning. This was my first stay at this holiday inn as I normally stay at the one at Worth or at the Hilton at the airport but this seemed good value with the parking.

We arrived at 10.30pm ready for bed. Reception had three staff working but I unfortunately picked the trainee so check in was slow but we all have to learn and she was very pleasant. What disappointed me about reception was the nice touch of fruit juice on arrival served from the table beside reception. However despite the number of reception staff available, the table had not been cleared of dirty glasses and the fruit juice was all gone. The table looked an eyesore and was a poor first impression.

The executive room was uninspiring yet functional. Standard for this type of hotel.

We checked out at 4am, the norm for a 6am flight of course. However despite my rate being a bed and breakfast, and this being a hotel at an airport, it being one of the most busiest holiday airport in the world at this time of year, there was no provision for coffee, tea or any form of breakfast.

I found this very disappointing. Holiday Inn you can do much better, I would have expected more.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dwain_Pipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Dwain_Pipe,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with the low cost parking facilities and pleasantness of the staff. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with you first impression, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will make sure it doesn't happen again.
We do hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now and like it because it is very convenient for Gatwick. It is up to the Holiday Inn bran standards and we found the food exceptionally good. The room given to us was roomy and clean, with the bed being very comfortable. I would not judge this hotel on the views as you wouldn't stay there for the views! But the hotel does a great parking deal and the shuttles to Gatwick airport are reliable and reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MPB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear MPB999,
Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the food, cleanliness and felt comfortable during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked the holiday inn Gatwick with car parking for the night before flying. Had a good nights sleep, very comfortable room and the staff were very good. My tip would be to eat and drink before you get to the hotel because food and drink are very expensive!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Stephen d,
Thank you for taking your time to fill out a review on The Holiday Inn London Gatwick. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the staff.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked two rooms with parking as a part of our package holiday deal. We didn't know where we would be staying until three weeks before the day. Directions to the hotel were clear and correct. I phoned before arrival to request the two rooms be adjacent or adjoining, and they were. It was easy to park the car in the carpark behind the hotel and we left the keys with them.

The rooms were clean with nice linens and furnishings. There is a large tv, tea/coffee making, a hairdryer and clean and bright bathroom. I personally found it very difficult to sleep as the bed was not comfortable for me and the pillows not quite right, however the others in our party slept fine. We did have a problem with the air conditioning unit in our room. It started to drip quite seriously about 1 o'clock in the morning, and it was loud and annoying. I put some towels down on the floor to protect the carpet, but the noise of the dripping was enough to ensure I did not sleep.

We did not make use of the bar or restaurant, but the checkin at reception was quick and efficient. The receptionist called Gema was particularly helpful and full of good advice.

The bus to the airport which runs every ten minutes costs £3 per person each way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shamwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Shamwo,
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with your check in experience, the cleanliness of you room & the car parking facilities.
I have mentioned the air conditioning to the maintenance team and will be looking into this matter further, thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have never met such friendly ataff - everyone was concerned that we were comfortable and had all we wanted. Food in restaurant excellent. Rooms the usual corporate thing, but comfortable and considering how busy the hotel was, very quiet. Surprised there was less attention to detail eg. hotel info in rooms though - Holiday Inn Expresses seem to have more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ukangelique,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following for recent stay at Holiday Inn London Gatwick. We are glad that you were satisfied with the staff and the restaurant and that you enjoyed your quiet stay.
We do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived here at almost midnight after a flight. We were very travel weary and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The bar was still open and we were served a nightcap by two cheerful people The room was clean and comfortable and the sound insulation was brilliant. Breakfast the next morning was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Churchtown,
Thank you for your great review of The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the staff, cleanliness and the breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £66 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing