We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Fairly standard sort of hotel, good, clean and comfortable rooms with everything you could need. Slept and ate well, so no real complaints at all. Obviously, it caters for one night transits before flying out so expect lots of tired people and luggage everywhere for check in/out but no real problem.

So having said all that, I would really like to praise the staff; all of them, restaurant, bar, reception, housekeeping etc, were friendly, helpful and efficient. Given what I said about it being a transit hotel, keeping up a level of interaction with the guests, in various different languages, must be difficult, but they managed it; well done all! I especially liked the way I was engaged in conversation by a young waitress just because she wanted a chat, lovely.

So, use the hotel for what it is and appreciate the workforce behind it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear SomersetSpud,

Thank you for taking your time to fill out a review for The Holiday Inn London Gatwick and for your positive feedback regarding the friendliness & helpfulness of the staff.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here for 1 night prior to a flight out. I parked my car overnight and that appeared safe and there were plenty of spaces, despite the fact I arrived late.

The room was a little old fashioned but think that was because of the decor rather than actual age. The bed was comfy, the room was very quiet for an airport hotel and amenities were as expected.

I ate a snack in the bar and the staff were friendly enough and the menu quick sufficient.

When I arrived for check-in there was a huge queue but the staff dealt with it quickly and I actually did not have to wait long.

Overall I would stay here again if I needed a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aks120LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Aks120LasVegas,

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the car parking facilities, the friendliness of the staff and that your overall experience was a success.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We were sharing a family room and one bed was a sofa bed - now, I've slept on a few before and they are usually OK but unfortunately the same could not be said for this one. The metal frame was uneven such that your head was lower than your feet causing severe uncomfort. We were so displeased we went to reception and they sent up some more pillows and an extra duvet. We then created our own make shift bed which was slightly more bearable. The bed was so uncomfortable that after 5 minutes of attempting to sleep my brother took his pillow and slept on the floor. It was the better option. In the morning I woke with an aching neck.

Despite this, the staff at reception dealt with the situation well and refunded us with some of the money. It was a shame we had a disappointing night because the food we ate in the restaurant (fish & chips, crispy duck and a burger) was of very good quality, as was the warm chocolate brownie and toffee apple crumble.

If you're booking a normal room without a sofa bed, it would be probably quite a simple but pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TheLatteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear TheLatteGirl,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick and positive comments regarding the food quality & staff.
We are very sorry to read of the problem that you encountered during your stay but we were pleased to see that you were refunded some money as a gesture of good will.
We really hope this doesn't affect you staying with us in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel in June 2014 prior to flying out of Heathrow Airport for a short holiday. We have stayed here many times before on their Park, Stay & Go scheme which gives you car parking and rewards you with price reductions on the cost of the room and some extras the more times you stay at this hotel. I think we are now at the maximum which is 20% off, free breakfast and often a room upgrade. We had 8-days parking included this time around. The airport shuttle busses stop at this hotel and you can purchase tickets from reception.
As always at this hotel, the check-in staff made you very welcome and are friendly and very professional. This time we stayed in Room 246 which had ample space for a short stay, large TV, desk area, sitting area, enough space to set down your cases, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press, room safe, mini fridge, iron and ironing board and ample room to hang your clothes. It was light and airy.
The bathroom was modern with shower over the bath, dressing gowns, thick large towels and a few complimentary toiletries. There was also a heated towel rail, hairdryer and a magnifying mirror as well as a wall mirror. Both the bedroom and bathroom had good lighting. There were also two complimentary bottles of mineral water and a bar of chocolate in the room.
Breakfast offered a good selection of hot and cold buffet.
We shall be staying here again in September for our next holiday abroad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Annathetraveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time in filling out a fantastic review following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our facilities and staff a success.
We do look forward to seeing you here again in September.

Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a typical, old Holiday Inn, but it's had a makeover and I can't find anything serious to find fault with. The location is brilliant, 5 minutes South Terminal with buses every ten minutes. Huge car park behind with direct access to hotel. Reception friendly and efficient. Nice bar. Good sized rooms with all life's little necessities. Very comfy beds. Good bathroom with full sized bath. Strong air cond. that dripped all night. I would use this hotel again, for price and convenience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pedroofpobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Pedroofpobla,
Thank you for taking time to fill out a positive review for The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are glad that you found the overall experience a success and we hope you welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Used some avios points for 4 days parking and an overnight stay before flying out at 6am the next morning. This was my first stay at this holiday inn as I normally stay at the one at Worth or at the Hilton at the airport but this seemed good value with the parking.

We arrived at 10.30pm ready for bed. Reception had three staff working but I unfortunately picked the trainee so check in was slow but we all have to learn and she was very pleasant. What disappointed me about reception was the nice touch of fruit juice on arrival served from the table beside reception. However despite the number of reception staff available, the table had not been cleared of dirty glasses and the fruit juice was all gone. The table looked an eyesore and was a poor first impression.

The executive room was uninspiring yet functional. Standard for this type of hotel.

We checked out at 4am, the norm for a 6am flight of course. However despite my rate being a bed and breakfast, and this being a hotel at an airport, it being one of the most busiest holiday airport in the world at this time of year, there was no provision for coffee, tea or any form of breakfast.

I found this very disappointing. Holiday Inn you can do much better, I would have expected more.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dwain_Pipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Dwain_Pipe,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with the low cost parking facilities and pleasantness of the staff. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with you first impression, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will make sure it doesn't happen again.
We do hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now and like it because it is very convenient for Gatwick. It is up to the Holiday Inn bran standards and we found the food exceptionally good. The room given to us was roomy and clean, with the bed being very comfortable. I would not judge this hotel on the views as you wouldn't stay there for the views! But the hotel does a great parking deal and the shuttles to Gatwick airport are reliable and reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MPB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear MPB999,
Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at The Holiday Inn London Gatwick. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the food, cleanliness and felt comfortable during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Lauren Slade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £66 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing