We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 of 3 Hotels near Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel is a 3 pound (each) shuttle ride from the airport. I observed 2 other hotels nearby (via shuttle).
Holiday Inn Pros: clean, extra pillows, free water, and helpful staff.
Cons: no A/C (room was stuffy, left room door open to hall for fresh air), room small, Priority Club Membership provided no extra value, internet cost was outrageous (compared to a month of traveling and hotels in London, Scotland, France, Belgium, and The Netherlands). Why? Also, food prices seems higher than Best Western and Mecure. We eat and drank at the Mecure. If price and availability were about the same I would stay at the other two named.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isle 'n Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed one night in June in an unmodernised room. It was an Hotwire booking, so I assume you don't get allocated the best rooms. However, it was clean; bed was fine and beakfast was "full English" of a pretty good freshly cooked quality, plus apart from a very small amount of noise from other guests in the corridor, which was to be expected, it was exceptionally quiet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

My family and I (wife, 7 y.o and 11 y.o. boys) spend the night before our flight at this hotel. It was easy to find, on the shuttle line for the terminals and rental car drop off - so the convenience was great.

It's a Holiday Inn, not a Four Seasons, so don;t expect white glove treatment and you won't be disappointed. The room was very clean and comfortable, even at four of us. The price was great.

The restaurant was a nice surprise, if not a bit out of place with more than just your basic choices. It had some very interesting plates and the staff did their best to make you feel you were in an upscale establishment.

I would've liked free Wifi rather than having to purchase 1 hr. or 24 hr. plans. Otherwise, no complaints at all - I would stay there again before a morning flight in Gatwick.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveloveseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Stayed for one night this week with wife and teen daughter before flight home to USA.
Room is OK...but not on par with other holiday inns in UK.
The bar charges £ 6.5 for a single glass of wine while the restaurant charges £13 for a chicken sandwich. Internet cost is £3 for 15 mins with no wireless service.
With exchange rate near $1.7 to 1£ this is most expensive and not worth it. Restaurant selection is very limited. Stay here followed stays in many other hotels and B&Bs across UK and France. I ranked this hotel at the bottom of my experiences

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engineeringeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

we always stay overnight when we come back off holiday in and around the airport area and this is the worse one we have stayed in, the room was shabby and dated with stained carpets and the bath itself looked was worn and dirty looking ok we only stayed for 1 night but we could have stayed at much better places for the money i paid if you do stay and there are 4 of you get a cab from the airport it is cheaper than the hotels shuttle service

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We stayed at the end of May, our hotel room was just fine, and certainly did not smell. We had a fairly pricey drink in the bar next to the restaurant on the ground floor, but the best part for me was the delicious meal we had in the restaurant which set the tone for the rest of our holiday, and could not be faulted by either of us, including the service. We needed the 4.30 am transfer bus which was fairly packed by the time it reached Mecure, the next hotel and then the driver crammed us all in. Luckily our flight was departing from Gatwick North and the hotel shuttle stopped at Gatwick South first as we would have needed a can opener to get us out. It took about half an hour in total and the transfer tickets are £3.00 each one way, so next time we will take a taxi as it will be quicker and more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel but it is definately THE LAST.

The parking package is a good deal but the room was horrible and depressing - not the ideal way to start your holiday.

The room was smelly, small and delapidated. NEVER AGAIN. Trravel inns are superior to this by miles!

The only good point was the breakfast - pricey but very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £66 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing