We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“give it a miss!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Inn Gatwick
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
brightlingsea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“give it a miss!”
Reviewed 22 May 2008

stayed here overnight after a twilight check-in, thinking we would arrive at gatwick for our flight, not so fraught! and relaxed.

Everything was okay until our evening meal in their restaurant.
My caesar salad was quite nice, no problem there, or so I thought! My other half had sirloin steak, well he couldn't cut through it, and you could see it wasn't sirloin steak, by the shape and cut of it. he sent it back to the kitchen, where 10 mins later they brought out another one, same thing unedible. H e didn't bother complaining again, we just went to bed, looking forward to our holiday, the next day. The night was very hot, air conditioning did not work, windows wouldn't open. And i spent most of the night in the bathroom, thanks to the caesar salad.

And also. the night was very noisy, people going to and fro, so we didn't get much sleep.

i shall research airport hotels, next time I book one.If anyone has a good one to recommend near to Heathrow, I would like to know of it please.

  • Liked — Reception
  • Disliked — food, airconditioning not working properly, noisy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank aruba43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    442
    308
    111
    102
See reviews for
192
524
117
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

I stayed here for one night before an early flight the next morning. I found the hotel to be functional and adequate for an overnight stay. The room was clean, the staff fine, and the food was okay; just another budget chain hotel. All that can be said is that it is an airport hotel, nothing more - a ‘non-place’ with no warmth or atmosphere, but it is what you come to expect with these places.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Hubby had been working away and was staying here, he found the staff friendly and helpful. I went down to spend a weekend with him and found the place clean, it has everything you could need for a short stay. Ideal for just somewhere to lay your head.
If you don’t want a big meal the bar food is very good and the breakfast are well cooked with a wide verity to choose from

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing, it did what it said on the tin.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LOMWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Having been to many 3 star Best Western properties perhaps I was hoping too much for this to be the same. From the rather uninterested check in staff through to the rather disappointing rooms this was the worst BW chained hotel I have stayed in.

So we were on the 15 day parking package and to be fair I have no complaints over the car parking or the ease of getting in or out.

The check in staff were uninterested in the customer in general and found it all a bit of a chore to sort you out. However we got a key and headed upstairs to the room which absolutely stunk of fresh smoke. A trip downstairs again and I was rather embarrassed by the tone of the staff upon requesting a change of room. It was I was assured "Bad guests" that left the room this way (not spotted by the cleaning staff? Or was it them that were smoking?). So eventually another room was found and key proffered without so much as an apology.

Was this room ok? It was dated and had fully non-functioning air conditioning (a fault raised on the fault card which had been replaced in the folder from the previous occupants). How hot could it get in March (outside temp 4-6 degrees)? I'll tell you - enough to warrant a fully functioning air conditioning unit! By 3am and with only 1 1/2hr until it was time to get up I gave up and watched TV.

Feeling unrefreshed and praying for gravity to assist the downward fall of the ill performing shower I wondered whether my trust of Best Western was misguided. This was certainly not the experiences at BW I had come across elsewhere.

The restaurant and bar area had the look of a modern hotel with the room some 10-15yrs behind. Though the food was more than palatable.

Would I stay at the hotel again? Its a simple no. I don't believe this to be representative of the BW chain and although I'd continue with them I will be looking elsewhere at Gatwick.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gav678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

stayed here for one night as i had training in the Crawley area early the next morning.
we arrived quite late, after 10pm as we got quite lost! the hotel wasnt signposted at all.
the car park was multi storey and was extremly busy. there was probably 2 or 3 spaces free,so we were quite lucky to eventually find one.
there was a door which led you into the reception area. the receptionist wasnt overlly friendly, not sure if she knew alot of english to be honest.
our room was on the 3rd floor and we were unfortunatly stuck inbetween a very hyper school party! we didnt bother asking to be moved,as we were quite tired. we just wanted to go to bed!!
the room was basic but clean.
still very noisy from kids outside who were obviously excited to be flying somewhere the next morning (as we found out by being woken at 6am!)
the lift could also be heard going up and down all night, even though we werent next to it.
we didnt have breakfast at the hotel but i think u can have it delivered to your room.

so, all together, rooms are basic, staff ok- a satisfactory budget hotel...

  • Liked — Receptionist giving us free parking!!!
  • Disliked — unhappy staff, awful car park
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dimplechops88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

I stayed here in January and February this year whilst attending a course.
I did eat lunch in the restaurant, which was always hot and nicely cooked.
The room was always with immaculately white fresh crisp bedlinen and i had excellent nights sleep.
Tea and coffee were left in the room and small bottles of shampoo and showergel were handy in case you had left yours behind!
Extra pillows, towels, and quilts were also in room, presumably if there were additional people as the bed had a pull out part to the bottom.
i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, especially if catching a late/early flight.
(£6 per night car parking charge was also added)
The only negative point was that some selfish person had been smoking in a non-smoking room! When will they realise that no smoking, means no smoking!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireHolidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Feb 2008. Location is good and easy to find.

Check in was simple and finding my room easy.

My room was an ok size but it was freezing. I hate cold rooms, its winter and cold outside, my room should be warm or at least able to be made warm with the air con/heating. It continually blowed out cold air making the room colder.

I went to reception and was advised someone would come up. 2 hours later someone comes and tells me they will make too much mess fixing it so gave me a radiator. It did the trick and I was happy!

Food in restaurant very nice. Everyday they have a special which they write on the board. There was mixed grill and beef something one the days I went. My colleague had the mixed grill and said it was lovely. I had pasta and steak on alternative nights and both were very nice.

The breakfast was beautiful, lots of choice of hot and cold food and even though we went to breakfast late 9.30am (breakfast closes at 10am) the food wasnt dry etc.

For any business people choosing to have a conference here,

The rooms we were given were all close to each other (we had 8 rooms in total, 1 presentation room and 7 interview rooms) all were set up accordingly and had water and glasses in them. The conference worker was prompt and had our day planned for us e.g. lunch and drinks etc.

The rooms come with a fridge full of water and cans of pop, not many hotels provide more than water in their conference rooms so thought this was a nice touch.

We had tea, coffee and cookies (still warm) provided in the morning, a hot lunch which consisted of noodles, potatoes, chilli con carne, lasagne and much more.

overall a nice hotel to stay in and to have a conference in.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank makeshya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmgat, Manager at Airport Inn Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 March 2008
I would just like to thank you for your kind comments about my hotel and the team here.

We work hard to look after all our guests and as a Conference delegate you will have seen more of the hotel than most.

The team have worked hard to provide excellent Conference Standards and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed them.

Many thanks also for letting me know about your problem with the heating. Although this has not been a common experience in the hotel I have responded by initiating a thorough check of all in room heating systems to ensure there are no further inconveniences of this nature.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.1 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Inn Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn Gatwick

Property: Airport Inn Gatwick
Address: Longbridge Roundabout | Gatwick, Horley RH6 0AB, England (Formerly Gatwick Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Inn Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile from Gatwick Airport and train station, the hotel has had a complete refurbishment and transformation in 2006 and in 2013 the public area was refurbished. Offering 125 non-smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, all with wireless internet access. The hotel also benefits from having a new range of family bedrooms sleeping between two and seven guests. A shuttle service to the airport is available 24-hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Inn Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Moat House Hotel Horley
Best Western Horley
Horley Best Western
Airport Inn Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing