We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for airport stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Inn Gatwick
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok for airport stopover”
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed for a few hours (shorter than expected due to flight disruption!) in transit before an early flight out of Gatwick.

the room was clean and functional, a bit too warm for my liking, and air con did not seem to work, windows could not be opened. However the beds were comfortable, and room was quiet, and we had a good, if short, sleep!

On arrival (at 11pm) there was a queue of a couple of people waiting to check in, and only one girl on reception, trying to deal with check ins, an awkward guest and answer the phone, which was slightly exasperating as the wait encroached on our valuable sleeping time, but other than this, for an airport stopover it served its purpose.

we left too early for breakfast, andarrived too late for dinner, so can't comment on that, but room service for much needed glass of wine, and milk for my daughter was quick, if a little pricey, but no more so than other hotels of similar standard

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    451
    330
    130
    120
See reviews for
215
552
125
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as we were doing a daytrip to Lapland and we would be coming back late so we didn’t want to travel as we would be tired.

This hotel was a average hotel, out stay was good apart from some drunk people making noise but security came to keep them quiet. The location is great only a few minuets away from the airport via the shuttle bus which went to both terminals, we ordered room service which arrived fairly quickly and the food was ok, as we were a family of three we got a room with three single beds, the room also had a TV, kettle and a trouser press and a bathroom with sink, toilet and a bath with a shower.

If you are going to the airport this hotel will be great choice for your basic needs.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coasterioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel a few years ago when it was a "MOAT HOUSE" so, it was with trepidation that I went back with my family in April of this year. However I was very pleasantly surprised at how much the standard had inporved. We has a family room, which consisted of two rooms which has been knocked together just above the recption in the mezanine area. The main area had a large double bed, and th second room had 2 sets of bunks. This was great for our family of 5 just before flying off to Florida. The room was comfortable and Airconditioned. Something which was much needed in my last review of this Hotel. Best Western seem to have really turned this place around. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martmcgrgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

hotel very good,and we enjoyed our stay,shuttle to airport costs £3.00 not free
as somebody said it was free.
Full mark good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The Best Western Moat House, Gatwick, Horley, England was a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Wireless internet access is free (ask the front desk for a userid and password). The only meal I had in the restaurant was breakfast. For breakfast they offer the option of a continental or a full breakfast buffett. I had the buffett and it was excellent.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank TPChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Partner and I visited the Sussex area, the hotel was so cheap and reviews so good we stayed here and saved a fortune compared to the Sussex coast (one nights saving paid for a weeks petrol). The rooms were a good size and very clean, with Tea/Coffee and shower bits. Check-in and out was very quick and friendly, this was an excellent hotel for the money. Would be great for those travellers lucky enough to be using the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenttravel2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The hotel is a nice and affordable option if you are in search of a hotel close to Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.1 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Inn Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn Gatwick

Property: Airport Inn Gatwick
Address: Longbridge Roundabout | Gatwick, Horley RH6 0AB, England (Formerly Gatwick Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Inn Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile from Gatwick Airport and train station, the hotel has had a complete refurbishment and transformation in 2006 and in 2013 the public area was refurbished. Offering 125 non-smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, all with wireless internet access. The hotel also benefits from having a new range of family bedrooms sleeping between two and seven guests. A shuttle service to the airport is available 24-hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Inn Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Moat House Hotel Horley
Best Western Horley
Horley Best Western
Airport Inn Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing