We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best porridge I have EVER eaten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armadillo Cafe and Grill

Armadillo Cafe and Grill
Ranked #15 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best porridge I have EVER eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My title says it all absolutely delish with fresh fruit on top it was outstanding and perfect for my journey ahead. Everyone enjoyed their choice of breakfast. Service excellent and with a smile

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    110
    59
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I had a quick bite to eat here with my boyfriend before going abroad.
Every restaurant was full, but this one appealed more than the others so we waited for about 5 mins for a table.

We gathered that we'd be waiting for while for food anywhere we went, so we kept it safe by having a couple of bits from the snack menu and we drank cocktail/beer. They were reasonably priced.

We used the quick payment which is a good idea and I would recommend.

The staff were rushed off their feet but still very friendly.The only thing I didn't like was the supervisor, she was extremely rude to the host and looked very grubby (her stomach poking out her unwashed non-uniform shirt) she made us and the surrounding customers feel very uncomfortable after shouting at the host who was clearly busy. Other than that it was a good visit...

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen030692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Average, that's the best I can do.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ate in here for some lunch as I had a LONG wait and wanted to go to Jamie's Italian for dinner.

I got seated without any issues and when I saw the menu I thought 'So far so good' - unfortunately the food just...wasn't great.

I had the chicken and chorizo quesadilla, the chorizo didn't taste like chorizo and I'm not a fan of mystery meat so I had to pick it all out.

Maybe I just got a bad choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ISawAnAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid - take any alternatives including staying hungry ....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Ordered a burger, more than 10 pound so was looking forward.
The bun was taste less, the meet was overcooked and the french fries was so undercooked that it called be called raw.

The 4 waiters was to busy talking bad about customers not giving them tips, that I gave up trying to tell them what was on my plate versus what should have been there. Shortly before I left, one waiter was trying to trick a non english speaking guest to add a service tip while paying with his credit card - it failed which caused more bad wording about foreign customers in the waiter group afterwards. The location is nice, but that was not the goal of the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TorbenSauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A great wee place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This place is a welcome addition to the restaurants at Gatwick North. Nice food and a fun atmosphere gets you right in the holiday mood - and made me think about going on holiday to Santa Fe one day!

Helpful?
1 Thank w62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armadillo Cafe and Grill also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Armadillo Cafe and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing