We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be better options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“There must be better options”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The staff were helpful but otherwise the hotel is a disgrace. It looks like it is being run with no money to spend on repairs or decoration. We changed rooms from a smelly one to a slightly less smelly one but the bedding still seemed oddly musty. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom is small and horrible. The restaurant is best avoided-the food we ordered was barely edible.
The parking and hotel packagge looks like reasonable value until you actually get to the hotel. Next time we will spend a little bit more money to get our holiday off to a better start.

Room Tip: It is probably better to be as far away from reception as possible as there are guests coming and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travellers35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    265
    261
    139
    232
See reviews for
226
509
56
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Was not looking forward to our stay here after reading some bad reviews.Stayed here before an early flight from Gatwick.Was pleased with the room, not massive but fine for one night stay.The biggest problem with the room was that it was located next door to the reception and you could hear people coming and going all night.Didn't eat at hotel as we went to the Harvester down the road which suited us better.Shuttle to and from the hotel was fine,our biggest problem was on collecting our car.We had to leave keys in case they needed to move the car which was fine, but when we picked the car up it was filthy and someone had obviously been through it as things that had been covered over on the back floor had been uncovered and moved and the radio had been re - tuned! Went to see the manager but she was not interested! So would advise anyone stopping here to note their mileage before leaving their car. We certainly will not stop here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EMMA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times. The rooms have been updated, but they are basic, and refurbishments to the hotel seem to have been done on a shoe-string - look DIY at best.

When we got to the room the bathroom was still dirty - blood stained tissues in the bin which hadn't been emptied, mirror covered in marks, basin dirty. On speaking to the person on the desk we were told housekeeping had gone so they just gave us a towel to clean the basin ourselves!! NOT ACCEPTABLE!

Staff generally very unfriendly and on our last visit, when we had a problem with our car returning covered in dirt, bird mess and leaves, they merely shrugged their shoulders and said there was nobody to deal with the problem. They kept us waiting for 40 minutes for our car to be returned, despite repeated enquiries about where it was. Requests to talk to a manager about the state of the car were fobbed off, manager not there, wouldn't be back until much later, etc. etc.and we were told to take our car to the local garage and put it through a car wash if we wanted it to be cleaned! We couldn't even see out of the rear window it was so filthy, and we had had it valeted before we left it! After a transatlantic overnight flight the last thing we wanted to do was waste over an hour standing in the car park waiting for the car.

The guy who returned the car said they had a power washer which wasn't working so that was why it was so dirty. He even suggested we use the power washer ourselves if we weren't happy with the car. Customer service is very low on this hotel's list of priorities. We doubt we will be back as it is now pricing itself out of the market.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel is classed as a budget hotel, so I suppose I shouldn't have expected to much, but for what it is, it is very expensive, they do not have enough room for the number of cars and they will move your vehicle, I was under the impression when booking this didn't happen. The room had a double and two singles, which mean't you couldn't get into bed on the one side as the single bed was to close, as a couple we didn't need these extra beds, but they probably didn't have any doubles left. The matteress was soft, the room had a dusty unaired feel. The shuttle bus was old and worn and only accomodated about 9 people. For the amount of money paid this was just not good enough. Directions on the booking confirmation were very poor, we ended up going round in circles and took us about 30 minutes longer than it should to find the place. Wouldn't stay there again..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkat01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked this as an overnight stay before a morning flight, breakfast wasnt open, you'd think being a shuttle hotel it would be 24hours. TV was good. Our double room had 2 sinking floor beds and one double in middle. It was full of holes and the sheets were dirty. The walls were covered in marks and it was really shabby. We didnt even take off our clothes for fear we'd catch something from the beds. Bathroom was nice, been updated.
Listed as being 250 yards from shell garage but was a nightmare to find as there are 2 shell garages. Directions are not good.
Shuttle in morning to hotel was okay, but on the way back was further from airport doors than expected and hard to find, and you have to phone for it so wait in cold.
Overall a budget hotel trading as an expensive one. It was appalling value for money, as it was very expensive, I would have been happier with a travel lodge. Price needs to come down to relfect condition and facilities.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffycloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Harvester - as mentioned being nearby by other residents, is NOT as close as they make out! Out of their car park, turn right, and if you walk and walk and walk for about one and a half miles, you will come to it! Not good if you have children in tow! Left too early for their shuttle, so they called a taxi - cost £6 for the two of us. When we came back couldn't be bothered to phone and wait 20 minutes for their shuttle, so got a taxi direct from the airport (£10 to go back!). Car was o.k., not been moved much, mileage still the same as we noted before we left it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciaberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The room was a bit grubby. I had to move the bed to get something I had dropped and it was very dirty under the bed. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast was very poor. Scrambled egg was more like egg soup! For £66, this was not a bargain. Bed was uncomfortable - mattress could do with being replaced. I won't be using any Days Inn in a hurry if this is typical. Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UlstermaninNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
4.1 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Property: Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Address: 34 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel, the shortest of short-hauls away from London Gatwick Airport, is ideal for overnight stays en route to foreign destinations and just the ticket for short breaks close to London too. The hotel is as affordable as it is affable, combining great value with friendly service and warm Best Western personality. And as you would expect from a conveniently located London Gatwick Airport hotel, we offer parking and transfers to make your journeys a joy. Situated in the south east of England, the BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel also puts you within touching distance of Central London, with a 45 minute train ride making departures to London Gatwick Airport equally hassle free. From our bar to our breakout areas and our restaurant to our rooms, the hotel has everything you might need for functions, conferences, meetings, weddings, private parties and great nights sleeps! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing