We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early morning call booked for two rooms, neither call made.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is modern and clean. But the most important thing for us was the early morning call so that we didn't miss our flight and lose the holiday.
We booked a call for 05.15am to catch the 06.00am transfer to Gatwick. Our friends in another room also booked the same call time.
Neither of us received a call, and when we complained to the desk that we had never stayed in a hotel where the the morning call had not been made, we did not even receive an apology.

Room Tip: Take an alarm clock....DON'T rely on room-service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was clean and front desk staff were helpful and friendly. Room size was good for 3 people. The restaurant food was good as was the service. There is nothing to do nearby that is within walking distance, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you do not have a vehicle. Walls are paper-thin -- we could clearly hear the conversations that were happening in the room next door. All in all, it was a good hotel for an overnight before heading out to a vacation via Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As we were flying out of Gatwick we stayed overnight and parked up free 1 week the Hotel is a standard Hotel the staff were pleasant and the room was clean tidy and the bed was comfortable there is 2 restaurants on site and looking at the prices were good value we had already booked at an Italian further down the road but would have gone to one of the restaurants otherwise would use this Hotel again as I said for an overnight stay good. The only criticism was the transfer bus does not operate after 12 midnight but fair play to the reception gave us a taxi cab tel number who don't charge over the odds quick pick up from the airport and only paid £6 the other airport taxis £11

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Myself and two children stayed here for a night before a holiday, reception staff rude, internet you have to pay for, drinks expensive in a empty bar food expensive and from what I heard people saying it wasnt that nice, we couldnt use the shuttle bus as our flight was early and landed back after midnight, taxi can be ordered by phone in receltion for six pounds to gatwick. Got back just after 1am to be kept waiting for mycar keys as they had lost them.i have stayed in other hotels in this chain and never experienced anything like this, stay well away!

Room Tip: I would go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thecleaner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a terrible place bar ignored us when we called to order drinks at the bar . food was horrible . over fill the carpark with cars when you leave your keys at reception we had to hunt for our car in the dark to put our overnight bag in it before we flew out to our holiday early next morning. Transfers to airport was in a dirty clapped out mini bus and the same coming back .when we called to come back after the holiday we waited 40 minutes in the cold no coats coming from mexico while the driver had a cup of tea. Never again will stay there £20 more we could of stayed at a decent hotel we live and learn I think plus it from the outside it looks like an converted nursing home.

Room Tip: If you want a good room go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

One night stay before flight to Spain. At £51.50 incl breakfast for 2 this was excellent value for which we did not expect five star quality. Have stayed here and in several Days Inns / Hotels elsewhere - this time we were not impressed with the bed, which was just old and very uncomfortable. In other respects the standards were perfectly acceptable. The standard of cleanliness of the hotel and the quality of service were both high; breakfast was prepared to order and was adequate if rather 'plastic' in appearance. In contrast the hotel's Indian restaurant offered a good range of curries and other dishes - our evening meal was modestly priced and most enjoyable. We'd stay again - hopefully the bed we had is on the shortlist for early replacement!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jandabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend staying here at all, and will never return.
I stayed here one night with my 2 daughters. I slipped in the bathroom because the curtain didn't cover the whole bath and water leaked out onto floor. The mat covered 2 ft sq. I reported it to the unsympathetic manager who just said, no one has reported this before. He basically didn't even believe me, although my toes were now swollen from the slip. I asked him to check for himself. He was rude and uncaring. Our room smelt damp and didn't sleep well because of this. I would rather sleep in my car next time than be subject to that. Steer clear...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susanna0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
1.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Address: 34 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £43 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel, the shortest of short-hauls away from London Gatwick Airport, is ideal for overnight stays en route to foreign destinations and just the ticket for short breaks close to London too. The hotel is as affordable as it is affable, combining great value with friendly service and warm Best Western personality. And as you would expect from a conveniently located London Gatwick Airport hotel, we offer parking and transfers to make your journeys a joy. Situated in the south east of England, the BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel also puts you within touching distance of Central London, with a 45 minute train ride making departures to London Gatwick Airport equally hassle free. From our bar to our breakout areas and our restaurant to our rooms, the hotel has everything you might need for functions, conferences, meetings, weddings, private parties and great nights sleeps! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing