We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Ranked #27 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Three words to start...."Don't go there". My friend and I made our booking in good faith through an online company for a nights stays and a weeks patking.. Arrived at the hotel to be told less than sympathetically that we had booked a night in the hotel only and no parking for the week. It is only recently rhat I have founf the written confirmation of this. We were hungry and tired and had little energy to argue the toss. We ended up paying an extra £40.00 to park for the week ( a total of £100.00) in total. The Manager was unprofessional and arrogant - no compassion whatsoever.....we were so disappointed. The room was just ok and I came downstairs to reception to ask for a fresh glass of tap water. The night porter was really rude and unhelpful. He said the water in the room was just as good. I was shocked, even horrified at the way we were treated. I wasn't expecting the earth from a budget one night stay, but basic human kindness and professionalism costs nothing. Never never again. The only thing on the minds of the staff was taking our money! I make no apologies for this review.

Room Tip: One tip.....book somewhere else where the staff treat you with kindness and respect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    257
    254
    138
    222
See reviews for
220
489
53
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, with parking included. It was ok for one night, but nothing special. The hotel states it has free wifi throughout, but they don't give you the code you have to ask for it. And we couldn't get it to work anywhere.
Our room was a twin room, and it was clean and spacious. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. You could feel springs digging in your back all night. They were also really low to the floor.
We used the restaurant, which is predominately an Indian restaurant. One of us ordered off the Indian menu and I ordered off of the other menu. I had the salmon dish, but it was very dry and only had a splash of sauce.
When we got back to Gatwick after our holiday, they had told us to go to bus stop 8 and call them, which we did. However we then waited over half an hour for them to arrive and the hotel is only 10 minutes away! When we picked up the car it was really dirty, which was fine because there had been lots of storms and floods while we had been away. However, the inside of the car was filthy! There was thick mud all over the driver's mat and also covering the pedals. They hadn't even attempted to clean it!
Some of the staff don't speak very good English either, so it's difficult to understand them.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gardenwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

OK for a night. The room was clean and had a 'newish' smell about it which was good as the last time we stayed here it was the pits, maybe we were one of the lucky guests to get a refurbed room. The transfers were easy to and from the North Terminal.

Breakfast was mediocre and spoilt by the overwhelming smell of curry, the restaurant doubles up as a Curry House.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutterathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having pre booked for a double room,on arrival we were given a twin room.having reported back to the duty manager to say that we had booked a double room ,we were given a double room on the fourth floor and found it was freezing cold and the bed was only about 30cms high.
Having spoken to the duty manager again we were allocated to another double room and found the bathroom freezing cold.it had a heated towel rail which was not working,so we tried to call reception from the room ,which did not and went back to the reception and once again saw the same duty manager to be told the room telephone was only for an early morning alarm call and that heated towel rail does not work and told us it would be best to leave the bathroom door open so that the heat from the bedroom would warm it up. It was not appropriate to be left open due to the toilet being opposite the door. We would not recommend this hotel.The lift lobby areas carpets were badly stained and not hoovered around the edges.

Room Tip: The room that had the very low bed was room No68 and the bathroom with no heating was room No54. Sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 226Stephen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We had stayed at this hotel previously when it was called the skylane, but this time we thought that the room that we were in was tired, I closed the curtains and the rail fell off, it was hanging on, but the room was clean and the hotel was good value for what we needed, an overnight stay and car parking for the duration of the holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel fitted the bill for us. Gatwick is too far from where we live to be certain of being able to arrive on time for an early morning flight, so we checked out hotels in the area that offered transfers to the airport and chose the Days Hotel. The room was spacious and well appointed with all the facilities one would expect. We did not eat there (some reviews suggested the dining experience would not be memorable and we left early before breakfast was available). The shuttle minibus outward and inward worked very efficiently. No complaints, good value for money.

Room Tip: Take your wellies if the weather is as rainy as this Jan/Feb - the carpark can get somewhat flooded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hello.
I stayed at this hotel only one night, because I was putting at the airport some my wife and daughter that would leave UK in next morning. On the booking, I inform that I would have a child with 3 years old. At arrival, the room given was to smell a lot to tobacco. Someone before was been smoking in that room.
Immediately, I went down the stairs at told the manager that the room had that small and I did not wanted that my child would sleep breeding that. The manager did gave me another room wihtout any fuss, and I moved my family to the new room.
Apart of that, the room was quiet, very comfy, good beds and good shower.
If that situtation of the smelly room would not happend, and I would be given the rating of very good.

With my regards...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbpaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reigate Manor Hotel
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airlink Hotel London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Address: 34 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel, the shortest of short-hauls away from London Gatwick Airport, is ideal for overnight stays en route to foreign destinations and just the ticket for short breaks close to London too. The hotel is as affordable as it is affable, combining great value with friendly service and warm Best Western personality. And as you would expect from a conveniently located London Gatwick Airport hotel, we offer parking and transfers to make your journeys a joy. Situated in the south east of England, the BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel also puts you within touching distance of Central London, with a 45 minute train ride making departures to London Gatwick Airport equally hassle free. From our bar to our breakout areas and our restaurant to our rooms, the hotel has everything you might need for functions, conferences, meetings, weddings, private parties and great nights sleeps! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing