We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Ranked #28 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bad room”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We always stay here when we go on holiday we book two nights one the night before and one on our return also to include parking we have never had a problem we like the hotel and have even recommended it to family and friends but on our return this time we were shocked at the room we were given the bed was so low the height if it reminded us of our grandchildrens beds it was very low and when you got in it was so soft that you sank in the middle we both found it difficult to sleep as it was to soft to get comfortable when we did manage to sleep it was for a short period of time as it was so uncomfortable that it gave you back ache. Bathroom had cracked tiles and the toilet was wedged in the corner right next to the hand basin which ment you could not sit on it properly because the sink was in the way we are normal sized people I don't know how a taller person would have managed, the bath was not cleaned properly we arrived there in the early hours of the morning and although we were up early because we couldn't sleep because of the bed I don't think it's right the cleaners are knocking on doors to see if they can clean the room if we had been asleep we would not have been pleased there must be a list of late arrivals so they need not disturb people. We decided to leave we told the man on reception of our concerns to be told he will pass the complaint on but didn't take any details then to top it off when we went to our car it was absolutely filthy we can understand it will not be spotless but it looked like someone had been rally driving in it the wheels were covered in mud and mud was splattered all up the sides the front and over the wing mirrors it certainly was not in that condition when we left it it was disgraceful we are very disappointed with Days Inn .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank mcjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    270
    266
    142
    235
See reviews for
230
513
59
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Pagnell, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night before we flew to the Caribean for two weeks. Friendly staff and nice clean beds. Looked after the car well whilat we were away. Staff ran us to the airport in plenty of time for our flight and picked us up promtly on the way home. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed one night with 2 weeks parking. Room (no. 36) was slightly under Travelodge standards but very clean and bed was comfy. It did have a damp smell but we weren't bothered for one night. We had a room at the back and heard no noise at all. Transfers were excellent, outward and returning. Staff also were very efficient and helpful. Book the transfer before you travel though, as the times we wanted were fully booked by the time we arrived and we ended up having to go earlier than needed! The car was as we left it, yes a bit muddy but it had rained. And if you'd seen how tightly the cars were packed in, you'd want to alter the mirrors. I say well done to the precision parking and the drivers! We'd definitely use Days Hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 36 at the back was extremely quiet and next to the huge tightly packed car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissClumsy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benitachell
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Like others we used the hotel for an overnighter, their car parking for 15days whilst going on holiday from Gatwick airport (an early morning flight). Savvy shopping (topcashback) and you can get the overnight accommodation for a tenner over the top of airport parking and another tenner for the 2 of us to and from the airport; so relatively good value for money. No problem with the airport pickup - used the Gatwick coach bay freefone and we were picked up in about 10 minutes.
Evening meal - we went for the Indian and very pleased with the food; not too happy with the auto~added 10% service charge but that's the tip we would have left anyway.
Another reason for choosing Days (over Menzies Chequers) was the free wifi - but it didn't work in our room (too weak) but was OK in the bar; so that was disappointing (and I've a high gain alfa antenna).
Room was comfy enough, the usual tv, hairdryer, coffee. The bathroom was a bit tired - no plug in the sink and the odd bits of mould on the bath sealant.
It was noisy for us - we could hear others in their rooms going to the bathroom and with their morning showers; well, we didn't need an alarm clock!!
We don't think our car was stored within the hotel premises - wheel sprayed sandy coloured mud up both sides of the car which wasn't there when we left it; looked like the car had been driven at maybe 15-20mph over a muddy field.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seraphsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel was comfortable and the restaurant very good, however please read below

We stayed there from July3rd to 6th with onsite parking. When picking up my car, all the driver seat settings and the driving mirror positions had been changed. This would not have been necessary if the car was parked on site.
I would think twice about staying again with parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We only stayed the one night so we could get our plane the next morning from Gatwick. Even though we didn't have any food it was a good stay. The beds were comfy and we got a decent nights sleep. Really nice stay and the car was well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzielou190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a great value for money deal for overnight stay and parking up to 15 days, the rooms were fresh and clean with all the facilities needed for an over night the hotel has a restaurant too which we did not use ...transfers both to and from Gatwick were efficient and on time and reasonably priced at £5 per person

We would recommend this hotel for those wanting a good value overnight and parking! Just 10 minutes or so from South terminal.

If you want luxury this is not for you, but it's a well organised set up which utilises all it's space efficiently and by doing this is able to keep it's cost down by getting a volume of parked cars in and giving you an efficient transfer service

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penwyllt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
4.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Property: Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel
Address: 34 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel, the shortest of short-hauls away from London Gatwick Airport, is ideal for overnight stays en route to foreign destinations and just the ticket for short breaks close to London too. The hotel is as affordable as it is affable, combining great value with friendly service and warm Best Western personality. And as you would expect from a conveniently located London Gatwick Airport hotel, we offer parking and transfers to make your journeys a joy. Situated in the south east of England, the BEST WESTERN Gatwick Skylane Hotel also puts you within touching distance of Central London, with a 45 minute train ride making departures to London Gatwick Airport equally hassle free. From our bar to our breakout areas and our restaurant to our rooms, the hotel has everything you might need for functions, conferences, meetings, weddings, private parties and great nights sleeps! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Skylane Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing