We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best travelodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
essex
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best travelodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed for one night before early flight. Arrived 8pm - long queue at check in desk, but used self service kiosk and had key in hand within one minute. Room on first floor at back - was very quiet, but not accessible by lift - so if you have mobility problems or a lot of luggage, best to ask for a room with lift access. The room was clean and modern, bed comfortable, flat screen television with lots of channels. Our only compliant was the smokers gathered around the main entrance - not nice. No problem parking - plenty of spaces available on a friday night. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    986
    556
    260
    272
See reviews for
777
1,115
414
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Millom Cumbria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hotel very near to the airport. Booked in advance and got a good deal. Rooms are very clean and beds comfortable. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful and very polite. The breakfast buffet was well cooked and had a good choice of food. Would stay here again and would recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenhawd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel is very convenient for the long stay car park at Gatwick. It is clean and well run and the staff were excellent.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family. Very good value for money. No frills but a good standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank busymakingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Reasonably priced, you can get good offers if booked well in advance.
spotlessly clean throughout,
beds comfortable,
air con v good,
tea/coffee facility,
on site cafe/bar reasonably priced, breakfast excellent value, you may take your meal to your room if you wish, think there was even room service, not sure on that one,
Good bathroom/shower, with freebies!!
No fridge, not a problem, good on site bar!!
V friendly efficient, polite and smart staff, No trouble booking in.
Excellent bus service to from Airport £6 per couple each way, every 15 mins.
Rotten view, but who cares!!
Except for bar/ cafe. we didn't need to spend another penny after booking in.
Recommend to anyone for a cheap and cheerful stay before or after a flight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Staying here for one night as I had an early flight the following morning, didn't have high expectations as the outside looks like council flats.
However how wrong was I! Modern decor, clean, simple and cheap. Can't open windows but had good air con/heating.
Rooms had tea/coffee and hangers etc, not much else but it is only a travel lodge!
Only one point to consider, we stayed in room 501 which is next to lifts so there was some distant noise, not much though.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Surrey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

£40 +£2 Credit card charge seemed great price until we discovered on arrival that this must be the motel equivalent of Ryan Air – they charge extra for just about everything!
24 hr Parking £7.50 – we only wanted overnight but no reduction or facility to do that.
24 hrs Wi-fi £10 – non-existent signal. When we complained they said they knew as they also were having problems! They did refund the money but it didn’t get us Wi-fi!
Room 302 – large but pretty bare, the door lock did not work, a pathetic dribble of a shower, the soap provided was so tiny it was barely enough for two of us to use for a one night stay, constant noise from double doorways into lift lobby. Don’t get a room on any floor beside the lift lobby to avoid the problem.
Shuttle bus dropped us in early hours to North Terminal about 5 min walk to entrance then drove straight past the doors! Obviously, airport regulations but really! The cold morning air soon woke us up!
Good points; kettle for early morning tea, shuttle to airport good value & cheerful driver £5 for two people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 271blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Steve from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment 271blah. The car parks at this hotel is operated by a third party but we will pass your feedback on charges to them. Our standard is not to provide toiletries in our rooms although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines. We are sorry to learn about the issues with your room and will let our hotel staff know so they are able to make repairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The Room was very worth it price with no faults. The place is very clean and tidy and looks very trendy. The only faults I would like to point out is that the staff are very laid back. I went to bar on Monday night there was no order to queue and one member off staff for over ten minutes, when another member of staff finally arrived he served the nearest person to him when we had been waiting for nearly 20 mins. This was the only let down to the hotel. Front of house very helpful and I would like to say a big thankyou to Luke, who was very helpful on booking.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing