We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
London
2 reviews
“Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are looking for a stopover and you have booked well in advanced, then I would recommend the Travelodge for its price value. This is not luxury accommodation and don't expect every corner of your room to be dust/dirt free. Out of all the Travelodge I have stayed todate the Gatwick Central has been outstanding for comfort, spacious room, great breakfast, value for money and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    986
    554
    259
    271
See reviews for
776
1,115
414
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This travelodge is ideally placed for those flying out of Gatwick and has recently been refurbished throughout with the nice fresh looking rooms.
There is great car parking onsite but this is paid for separately.
It's very easy to find and access.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Room quite basic especially for a Travelodge.
Waited for ages to be served food in the bar after having placed an order. On arrival it was mediocre and I wished I had eaten elsewhere. I did not bother going for breakfast for that
reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We would like to apologise for the wait you experienced in our hotel restaurant Hird1 and the concerns you have raised over the restaurant. We’re always looking to ways to improve and we will share your feedback with the hotel staff in order to ensure they are able to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Cannot fault our stay, just what we needed after a long flight home, a clean, comfy bed and hot shower. Yes it is basic and simple but what else did we need? We just needed somewhere to crash and this hotel was perfect. Would use again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richyvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Pre booked and pre paid for this hotel on one of their deals. Flight got in at 1am, was at hotel by 2am. Got in a hastily made up room at 4 am because they had sold the room to someone else. they keep selling rooms until they have all been filled and if you arrive after this time - tough!

At first they LIED! They said there was a maintenance issue that took out 6-7 rooms. When I asked to see one of these rooms there weren't any to see obviously, so you got the rabbit caught in headlights look. The girl in the bar then told us that they just keep selling rooms IN CASE you don't turn up.

There should be a law against this. They are just a bunch of money grabbing b*****ds who don't give a crap about their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Lesley W we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had at our Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central. We would like to discuss with you what happened in more detail and try to rectify the handling of the situation which has fallen below our expectations. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Another great stay at Gatwick Central. I stay once a month on business and even though I see different staff, they are all welcoming and helpful. Nick was realyy helpful and seemed to be everywhere just at the right time. In recepcion, behind the bar and by the computers to assist. Rooms crisp and clean and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We used the Travelodge at Gatwick Central as an overnight stop before and after flights whilst on our way abroad. On both occasions, the food in the bar was not very nice, it was dry, not particularly hot and certainly not good value for money. We were plagued by unruly screaming kids in the bar that parents had no control over as well which didn't help.
During our first check in (on the way out of the country), a receptionist during check in was willing to book us a taxi to the airport, but on returning on the way back, the receptionist told me to "do it myself" and then tried to push breakfast on me when we weren't sure if we would need it as we were leaving very early the following morning.
When we went up to our room, we discovered the shower was awful as it wouldn't remain the right temperature and kept going cold, the bathroom was filthy, the toilet wouldn't even flush and the sheets had stains on them. I brought this up with reception who told me they had nowhere else to put us so it was tough.
We booked for a contintental breakfast in the end, which was even more appaulling than the evening meal the previous night. Firstly there was not a single member of staff in the café to assist us, so I told reception who appeared uninterested and we then tucked in anyway as we had paid for two breakfasts. There was hardly any selection of anything and the toasters wouldn't work properly, we had to switch them off ourselves as our bread had got stuck in them and there was of course no member of staff around to sort it out so rather than cause a fire we switched them off and fished the bread out ourselves.
I am completely disappointed with our stay and think that it was unacceptable that the basic things we expected like polite service, a clean but basic room and basic breakfast and meal were just not provided properly. I would NOT recommend this particular Travelodge to anyone - don't waste your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
We’re really sorry to hear about the service you had in our hotel Donna J, which fell well below the standards we would expect. We would like to be able to resolve these issues for you, please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have followed this link from Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing