We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Travelodge”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Would recommend this to anyone - can find no fault whatsoever, great staff, clean, roomy and comfortable hotel, great service in all sections and great food at excellent value - great for anyone, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lululoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    1,039
    627
    294
    328
See reviews for
858
1,208
447
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It seems the hotel rooms have been revamped and they are superb, all brand new and shiny, spotlessly clean and crisp.

2 little gripes, one is the car park charge of £7.50 for 24 hours, I was only there overnight but it still cost the same. However the car park does not belong to Travelodge and is operated by a different company so they have no control over this.

Secondly, they charge for wifi, everyone else these days provides it for free so they are a bit behind the times with this one.

Overall though, an excellent overnight stay in a lovely room and well situated, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank MartF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I chose this hotel as it was by the airport and I had an early morning flight. The price was good, but bring your own food. The cafe is over priced and utterly foul, I spent the whole night sick and the staff didn't show any compassion towards my situation. When I went to register a complaint the reception staff simply refused to make any note or respond to it.
Simple tip.... bring your own food and drink, because what they offer is over-priced and its not worth spending a 4 hour flight vomiting because of some half-warmed burger and stale chips.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Does the job - clean rooms, comfortable bed..but don't expect a warm welcome or anybody to go the extra mile. Last time I was here I asked for a tiny bit of fresh milk for my tea (I despise the UHT milk in plastic jiggers) and was told I would have to pay bar price for a full glass of milk. Needless to say I told them not to bother - so that one gesture that I estimate would have cost the hotel about 4p...caused me to be a disgruntled customer. Sadly the staff just don't get it, or don't care. If you are just after clean and good value (if you book in advance ) its fine. One benefit is that it is next door to Best Western and you can take either Travelodge central bus or BW bus from airport giving you a greater frequency of shuttle from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here in June, before flying off to santorini, Greece, the next day. Room was excellent, clean tidy and very roomy. Bed was very comfortable, shower and bathroom excellent. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant area was also nice and meals and drinks very reasonably priced. Plenty of parking available and in a good location for the airport. I will use this travelodge again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mordygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Down Under, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I'll admit, the first time we stayed we were less than impressed (rude service, dirty linen and terrible food)and didn't bother with keeping our booking during our return trip.
Having already booked for further travel and meeting friends there we thought we would just have to 'endure' our next booking. I have to admit, it was a completely different experience.
The staff were welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable and the food was lovely.
If you book in advance you certainly get a great rate.
We'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

As the title says, you get what you pay for I suppose.

Stayed for 2 nights, 1 before departure from Gatwick and 1 after arrival.

Luckily we weren't too close to the stairs and lifts on our floor as we probably would have disturbed throughout the night, even where we were, whenever the odd person or two walked by talking, it was like they were in the room. Could also pretty much hear everything the couple in the room next to us were saying -shame they weren't having a more interesting conversion!

Found the food we had for dinner pretty poor, I had a soggy burger which I guzzled down just to have it over and done with. However breakfast was a different story, had a decent choice and the quality was pretty decent.

Room was as we expected really, enable us to get a decent nights sleep, was clean and decent size for us two.

Found the staff to be polite when being served.

Oh and would have been nice if there was more notice of a bus shuttle service! Was told by someone at the airport that it's not running anymore, got a local bus - which probably was better as it was cheaper - only to find a shuttle service was running?

All in all probably would have given an extra star if it weren't for the woeful dinner we had!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocklobster90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We would like to apologise for the concerns you have raised over the dinner you had in our restaurant. Customer feedback is invaluable to us and I thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please be assured that they will be shared with the hotel to allow them continually improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing