We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Good value for an early or late flight. Room was 30GBP which was ideal for a late night flight getting in and then an early start the next day so only needed for a few hours.
Clean and tidy and comfortable
Airport shuttle stops here also

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank ClareB77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,147 - 3,153 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here either side of a long weekend in Tenerife and had no complaints. Used the self check-in system and was in the room within minutes of our arrival. The room was very spacious as there were no wardrobes/drawers etc - this wasn't a problem as we weren't unpacking anyway. Toiletries consisted of a small bar of soap, again, not a problem as we had our own. Tea/coffee making facilities were provided and there is also a vending machine in the lobby.
The bar area is huge (probably too big for the amount of guests) and lighting is excessive. We didn't eat in there but the menu had plenty of typical pub-grub options and was reasonably priced
The bed was large, clean and comfortable - we slept well and weren't disturbed by aircraft or other guests.
The £3 shuttle bus to LGW took longer than expected (30mins) as it stopped at 2 other hotels en-route and waited for 5-10 mins at both. It was a lot quicker on the return, probably because it was after 10pm.
Paid £7.50/day for the car park - all was well when we returned.
Couldn't fault the place for £22.50 per night - for such a short stay I would happily return here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We arrived to dirty sheets. A ripped duvet cover and a bathroom that hadn't been cleaned. I asked for some clean sheets and remaid the bed myself. Woke in the morning to bites around my ankles that are still iching 4 days later. Definitely wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Picked this place for an overnight stop before a flight, solely on the great price compared with all the other hotels locally. At first look the place is quite imposing compared to most others in the chain, and check in was swift and courteous.

PRO's:
Decent on site bar/cafe with loads of seating.
Good access to all floors via lifts opposite reception
Comfy large bed with extra pillows
CON's:
Limited parking on site with a £7.50 per day charge
Limited menu in the cafe and the food was poor and luke warm
Rooms windows were non opening and the air-con only blew hot air which meant it was stifling so we could not sleep.
Bathroom fittings old and in serious need of updating.
Water pressure for the shower was only a trickle from a mixer tap which made it virtually un-useable.

In hindsight should have paid more for a better experience.

Cannot seriously recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plateglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A really relaxing stay after a long day & flight, the room was clean,fresh,the bed was comfortable, there were tea/coffee making facitilites, the staff were friendly, the food was really good. we would definately use them again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Not used to staying in budget hotels but didn't see point of paying over odds for what was essentially head down before flight next day. Room very clean with tv and tea/coffee making facilities. Eating area a bit like a large canteen but do allow you to take food to room. Plenty of menu choice including vegetarian. Pick up bus services to airport £3 each so all in all I would say good value for money for basic airport hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Like most had a pre night stay before flying off the next morning. Due to last minute rush we made it just in time for pre booked dinner (9-45pm we arrived). Food was piping hot and ready in 15mins as the restaurant shut at 10pm, Followed by a few drinks at the bar then bed. Absolutely cream crackered so was looking forward to a good sleep....Room was clean and comfortable and had also be newly refurbished, BED was amazing...had the best sleep in years, the new bed was so big, comfy and warm ...only problem is we didn't get enough sleep as had to get up early for our flight. Would definately recommend this hotel. Only down fall was the restaurant closing at 10pm, but overall good value for money as we booked a few months in advance so money well spent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kizzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing