We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price was good but dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
1 review
“Price was good but dirty room”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed one night when we returned from holiday as we couldn't get a train until the next day. Choose Travelodge as it was only £40.00 which was half the price of the other hotels in the area. I wish I had paid a bit extra to enjoy my stay more. What really let this hotel down was the cleanliness, There were still the past guests hair in the bath, the bath looked like it hadn't had a decent scrub in years. There were also pubic hair on the bathroom floor. Room had been recently decorated and new curtains but was not to a great standard. The old stained carpet had not been replaced which still made the room feel shabby. For £40.00 I shouldn't really grumble but I do expect a place to be cleaner when your paying to stay somewhere. My tip would be if you have a bit more money to spend choose somewhere else, I will next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Senlacguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    1,038
    624
    292
    324
See reviews for
855
1,204
446
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This Travelodge is ideally situated for Gatwick and especially for those who have late or early flights. Rooms are spacious and have all you need for a good sleep before jetting off somewhere. We arrived at midnight from a flight and needed to get a train early in the morning to go to work in central London - so it was perfect and saved on the trek across London in the small hours.

The bus transport was also very convenient £3 and every 10/15 minutes.

Would stay there again if i needed to get off early in the morning for a flight.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank woolleytracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

this place is really well situated for gatwick, Airparks and general access for the airport.
Staff are excellent and anxious to please, really polite and pleasant.
rooms are basic, clean and well maintained. My only gripe was no shower gel, necessitating using a 2"x1" wafer of soap.
we took the special offer of a 2 course meal and a drink for £10, which would have been excellent had the main course been more edible.
Chips are rubbery, the fish has artificial batter. I cannot comment on other aspects of the menu. Bar and waiter service were excellent.
I was disappointed having to pay £7 for the privilege of parking at the hotel, I feel that guests at any hotel (not just this one) should be allocated free parking every time, should they wish, providing, of course, they are not using stay and fly facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The 'free; WiFi is only available in one small area of the hotel - not in the rooms. We had a family room had a queen bed (not king as stated), and the additional beds were most uncomfortable. The worst thing was the mould all around the bathtub and shower. The whole room smelled nasty and there was no fan to take away the humidity. The windowsill was covered in water drops when we woke up in the morning. The food was actually very good - both the dinner and the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fourth stay at this hotel, ideal for me as a single traveller with little luggage. It is only 15 minutes walk from the north terminal with access via a straightforward and safe walk alongside the A23 and a little footbridge and gate at the rear of the car park. The hotel would only be a short taxi ride from either terminal and is also served by quite regular shuttle bus to and from the airport. I still like to walk though !
Check in was straightforward and the updated rooms are exactly as required for a short stay. Tea, coffee and a kettle, good quality tv, perfectly adequate and clean bathroom and comfy bed and pillows.As is usually the case for myself, it was a late arrival and early departure so I did not have chance to try the food or bar services.I did have a look in the area and it seemed quite smart and spacious.There doesn't appear to be any wifi at the hotel but there are terminals near reception, I think it is £1.00 for 20 minutes.
If you book and pay well in advance, the room prices are very reasonable and while it may not be right on the terminal,the Travelodge is for me, very convenient.Already booked again for next june !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank richard130558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had booked into this hotel many weeks beforehand, hence a small £26 for a night.
The hotel is very spacious and welcoming. Our room was basic but very clean and tidy. We had a drink at the large bar area which was also very welcoming. We could have had food if we had wanted it and it was past midnight. We had a very comfortable nights sleep, the bed was so comfy I think I could have stayed all day. Nice comfy pillows too which was good because you don't always get good pillows.
Overall, a really good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIOLADY59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at Travelodge on both outward and inward journey.
Excellent on both occasions and would recommend my family and friends to consider using this Travelodge.
As a solo traveller I felt safe and secure.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing