We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well positioned place to stay overnight when travelling to and from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A well positioned place to stay overnight when travelling to and from the airport”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This Travelodge is certainly one of their best. it is nicely positioned so it doesnt take too long to travel to either north or south terminal. There is is more than one bus which is available to/from both terminals . Taxi fares are only £6 for a standard car which can accomodate 3 people and their luggage. The staff have been veryhelfull and polite on every occation I have stayed here. Meals when booked on line at the time of booking are reduced, and are the best way as you get more variety for your money. the whole place has been recently refurbished and i would recoment it highly.What with the inexpensive rooms and meals available in a dedicated restaurant. The disabled rooms are very nice and have a wet room, not just a shower, which are large and well equipped. Overall A1....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    1,039
    627
    294
    328
See reviews for
858
1,208
447
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
868 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this well in advance as we were flying to our beloved Turkey the next day.
A great location, a few minutes on the transfer bus to Gatwick Airport.
We had stayed in Horley once before and had discovered YE OLDE SIX BELLS, which was only a few minutes walk away, so try that if your stay allows for it.
There is a large car park, which at price, you could leave your car at while you are abroad.
The Travelodge was at one time a Ramada Hotel, there are 6 floors a huge bar, restaurant area. It is the size of a Ballroom and probably was once upon a time.
The room was spacious, very comfortable, clean and we have already booked for a similar stay next year.
The breakfast was the normal buffet style, no complaints at all.
The reception staff were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOBSTER64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I recently stayed at the "Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central", The exact date for the trip was the 15th October 2013 for 1 night. To begin when you pull up in the car park the hotel looks a little shabby, but never judge a book by it's cover. Once we found a parking space we proceeded to the lobby in which it was empty. I and the people which where travelling with me used the Hotel's self service check-in kiosks, but as usual I had a problem sadly the key card got stuck in the machine so I had to proceed to the Reception. The staff at reception where very helpful with my issue and quickly issued me my key card. This then leads onto room placement my friend and his family got a room on the 6th floor due to having a family room, but as I was travelling alone I was but on the ground floor in room 41. Before I continue and talk about the room the security within the hotel is amazing with every door that leads to the rooms having a key card reader which makes you feel safe. My room 41, sadly was next to what I would call a service road this did sadly effect my nights sleep with vehicles moving around, the room it's self was very impressive for the price of £29, it had a modern TV and looked like it had recently been modernized although the lingering smell made it feel like no one had been in it for weeks. This seemed to be true when looking around to begin the room looked very clean but on further inspection there seemed to be a layer of dust everywhere including the Wardrobe and there was plenty of dust on the A/C machine. The bathroom was basic and small but perfect for £29. I meet up with my friend and his family for dinner, the restaurant was empty so we did not struggle to find a seat. We all ordered our food and there was quick service so could not go wrong and the food is what is expected in a restaurant like it simple and easy. To sum my stay up I would stay again for £29 but anymore I would look elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronanbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review ronanbarton. We do expect our rooms to be clean and fresh so we are really sorry to learn that the standards fell below our expectations on this occasion. Our housekeeping team follow a strict routine on a daily basis and your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed overnight prior to an early flight. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. Huge bed which was very comfy - had a really good nights sleep. Good hot shower and plenty of towels. Shuttle bus very good. Had dinner which was slightly run of the mill but adequate. Restaurant is over lighted and nothing special but as it was only one evening ok

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Booked this way in advance, a double room for £17!!

Stayed here the night before an early flight to Cuba. No complaints, Travelodge are basic hotels and this one ticks all the boxes. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, food good, bar staff friendly, overall very pleased. Only downside is it's very close to the train station yet £10 in a taxi due to minimum fares that apply!!

Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed on the night of 13th October 2013 for one night for a visit in the area the next day. Would like to thank all the staff in - reception, bar and restaurant they were great. The hotel has recently been refurbished. All areas very clean. The bed was very comfortable and as I am a light sleeper the room was very quiet. Had an evening meal in the Bar / restaurant. Food very reasonably priced - I had the 'specials meal" on offer that night. My only comment to improve on the restaurant ambience is to perhaps divide off some areas to make it feel a little relaxed. There is free wifi in the reception area. If you need wifi in your room there is a charge.
Would absolutely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend, we had a double room on the 1st floor.
Large room with a Huge double bed ,& paid for a buffet full English Breakfast. The curtains did a great job of blocking the morning light out , the shower was fab, as too the breakfast

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raze1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing