We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong for £17 !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
FRESTER
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong for £17 !”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at this hotel before our flight tomorrow and paid £17 per room.
The hotel and rooms are spotless and beds comfy.
We used the restaurant and found the good to be a reasonable price for a hotel and better quality than one would expect from a Travelodge.
We checked in using the check in kiosk in reception so had no dealing with the front desk but they seemed friendly and efficient.
For £17 you won't find better and most importantly the beds are comfy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    1,004
    569
    261
    281
See reviews for
797
1,129
424
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It's a handily located airport Travelodge. Its really cheap. Is it going to be the best hotel you've ever stayed in? No. Is it a clean, warm, surprisingly quiet and cheap place to stay while you wait for a morning flight connection? Yes, yes it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank jarethshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Decided to try a hotel near Gatwick for a 6:55am flight to Barcelona instead of the usual 3am taxi. After checking various options at exorbitant prices, I found a £32 deal at Travelodge. We arrived at 6:30pm and checked in using the machine - very easy. Room was one of the newly refurbished ones, with comfy bed, blackout curtains and tv - great We tried the onsite restaurant for dinner and took dessert and a bottle of wine back to the room - good.

Sleep was good, until people started leaving around 3am and the corridor lights filtered under the door. Not sure why this design is an issue, as many other hotels I've stayed in don't have this issue.
Also, the only free wifi was in the restaurant area, in your room you would have to pay to access. Seems weird in 2013.

Overall a good choice at a good price for what we got, and if we had a early flight I would use this hotel again. Easy to get to and from via shuttle-bus from both terminals @ £3 per person each way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michelle074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This Travelodge hotel is great!, you can get the shuttle bus from the Airport (both terminals) for only £3.00 each, they drop you right by the door. The hotel is one Travelodge has taken over so the room sizes are really generous and comfortable, the lounge and bar area are Hugh!!, more could have been done to make it more intermit, however the bar prices are really reasonable and the food on offer looked really nice, plus for the seasoned traveller the bar is open 24 hours ...... Hic!!. would we stay here again?....YES we would.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingswoodkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed the night before our early morning flight and deceided to try this Travelodge as we stayed at Lowfield Heath last year. Much improved from their other hotel, but it's still quite souless and the staff, although friendly enough, don't go out of their way to provide great customer service. There wern't many parking spaces left when we arrived which was about 9pm and then we had trouble getting the parking ticket out the machine. One of the receptionists had to hoist it out with her fingers. Nice!
Room was fine and it did the trick for one nights stay. Didn't have dinner or breakfast, so can't comment im afraid. Would I stay here again? At those prices, yes of course!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

location is good for both Gatwick terminals. BUT Travelodge say that they do not own or control the car park for which there is a £7-50p charge for 12 hours this is more expensive than the airport itself. So pay up or risk being clamped by a very keen parking crew. Only found out about the charges after I had arrived ( A rip off).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank agadir-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review agadir-44. We are sorry to learn you were unhappy with the car park charges at this hotel. We can confirm that this car park is operated by a 3rd party, APCOA, and you can prepay for this service by following the link on your confirmation email or a link on our website once you have booked your room. Customer may also pay on arrival. Car parking charges are £7.50 per 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Not normally a hotel chain I would consider due to previous bad experiences but arriving at gatwick after midnight with all hotels full to the brim,gave it a shot and surprisingly better than expected.Allocated a newly refurbished bedroom,basic but practical with a large bed and plump pillows Quiet accommodation allowing for restful sleep.Got a few funny looks arriving in a suit and tie but staff attentive.Instructed to go back outside and feed a parking machine at £7.50 for 5 hours parking a bit steep especially when the machine didn't produce a ticket and the night porter then provided me with a scribbled note for my windscreen. Not my first choice when visiting Gatwick but the experience hasn't put me off from going again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing