We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Gatwick Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We find Travelodge to be great value for money. Travelodge Central has everything for our needs. Our room was huge, larger than other other Travelodge we have stayed in. If travelling to the airport there is a bus service every 15 minutes at a cost of £3 per person. There aren't many cafés or restaurants near the hotel so I suggest you take up the meal offer when making your reservation. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,254 - 3,260 of 3,732 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

we were staying at the hotel as we were down for a funeral, on entering the room the main bed was made nicely and that's as far as I can go with good points.

The room was meant to be for a family to sleep in, well having a mattress on the floor that looked very saggy and older than the 7 year old child that was meant to sleep on it.

Then on going into the bathroom, baring in mind the hotel is meant to have just had millions of pounds spent on it for a refurbishment, there was mould all round the edge of the bath where the sealant was. along with this there was about 50 dead files between the light fitting.

The staff at reception didn't want to know and all night all I could hear was doors slamming all along the corridor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We do expect our rooms to be cleaned to a specific high standard so we are really sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion Tom B. Our staff should also provide a great service at all times. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate that you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our 2nd visit to this hotel, it is only a few mins by hoppa bus. I have read that it is within walking distance this is true, but definitely NOT with luggage, and I would not advise anyone to even think about it.
Very speedy check in very comfortable rooms, but please note no hair driers or toiletries.

The restaurant is canteenish but very clean and a very reasonably priced menu, drinks also a reasonable, There is a small bar a lounge area.

I would certainly recommend this convenient hotel, for its price, friendly staff, and location for the airport terminals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tirol94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are really pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay us and found our rooms to be comfortable tirol94. Unfortunately we do not provide hair dryers or toiletries in the rooms as part of our brand standard however our customers may borrow a hair dryer from reception. These are available anytime, on a first come first serve basis. Toiletries can be purchased from the vending machines in reception, this helps us to maintain low prices for our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Normally I approach a Travelodge with a mixture of apprehension and depression. This one was no exception. The bus stop for the shuttle bus at North terminal is about as far from the terminal as a bus stop can get. The building is as charming as a French lavatory and the cafe/bar inside is providing the Samaritans with regular phone calls.

Nonetheless it is exactly what you expect and great value, I had a good night of sleep despite being next to the runway!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leesons2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed the night previous to an early morning flight. Large clean room, helpful staff at reception. All for £24 per night!
Do not use the bar/restaurant, it is a soulless, neon lit warehouse, selling lots of lager but no real beer. Instead go to Ye Olde Six Belles, where you will find a good selection of ales, and excellent food. It is about five minutes walk. At a push the reception staff will give you directions!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed one night in October before an early morning flight the following day, book as early as you can, I got a family room for £24. The hotel is newly refurbished, standard blue Travelodge decor. Room was very clean. beds very comfortable.
Fairly quiet for an airport hotel, although I am a very light sleeper, so wore earplugs to block out any noise from the corridors as I had read previous tripadiser reports.
very close to the north Terminal and only 5 minutes drive to the South Terminal parking. There is also a shuttle bus to both terminals
We ate in the dining room in the evening, it was OK for the money we paid, did not stay for breakfast, but wish we had as the Travelodge would have been much cheaper.
The reception staff were efficient and helpful and the bar staff friendly.
Book a parking place online before you arrive, its a bit cheaper (£7.50) and you are assured of a space

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Have stayed here twice now and each time I am happy with my stay. Firstly you can't expect 5* accommodation and service when you stay because it is a budget hotel. Nevertheless you get what you pay for and in some respects more! By that I mean the bar and snack service is 24 hrs and not many that can say they provide that. It's very convenient to get to with the bus service, and just overall comfortable and value for money. If popping through Gatwick again I may just stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,307 reviews
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £42 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Gatwick Airport Central hotel sits in a prime location just a mile from Gatwick airport. Rest your head here, then catch your flight feeling rested, refreshed and ready for your trip. There's also plenty to see in the surrounding area, including Hever Castle, once home to Anne Boleyn, and Chartwell House. And why not take advantage of the 24-hour shuttle to both the North and South terminals? Our exciting multi-million pound refurbishment programme brings you newly designed standard rooms with our comfy king size Travelodge Dreamer™ bed, four plump pillows and a cosy duvet. Plus our new SuperRoom option for added comforts. Our newly designed Bar Café serves breakfast and tasty evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing