We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great value for your money hotel. Basic rooms but very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was as good if not better as most other 4* hotels I have stayed in. Airport shuttle bus every 15 mins although too expensive if having to use it everyday but still cheaper than a taxi and only a little more expensive than the local bus service.
I would reccomend this hotel if you are staying for a couple of days only either as a stop over or a weekend trip to London.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,087 - 3,093 of 3,599 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight before flying to Gran Canaria. Paid £10 for taxi from Gatwick and we know you can get a bus for £ 3 each but hey, who wants to lug suitcases on and off buses when you can travel in style forthe sake of an extra £2 each, you go on holiday to relax, yes? The hotel was clean and staff polite. Evening meal, I had 1/2 chicken piri piri and my partner had lamb shank for £20 total, which was tasty. We drank our own drinks in our room which we bought duty free at the airport and slept well. We prepaid for an all you can eat breakfast which for £7 each was good value when you consider airport charges. Checked out before 1200 and headed for the aiport by taxi,refreshed and chilled out ready for 2 weeks in Gran Canaria. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheikmilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed overnight for an early flight. Friendly efficient reception staff, A recently renovated, clean room with everything you need for a short stay, a comfy bed with fresh clean crisp linen. Plenty of on site parking, reasonably priced for leaving the car for 2 nights and quick efficient airport transfers both ways.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for the night before an early start. It was not the easiest place to find but there was plenty of parking. Check in was very polite and efficient. We were on the 6th floor. The room was large enough for a double bed and 2 "put you ups". The bathroom was tired. There was someone else's hair around the sink and the toilet seat wobbled. It needed to be serviced. There was no airport noise but you could hear voices from other rooms. We slept well though. We had a prepaid evening meal. The dining area is large and well lit and once you have ordered (you need to order your pudding at the same time as your main course) the service is speedy however the quality is poor and portions are small. I really wouldn't bother.

The hotel feels safe and functional. I would stay here again but I would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review DrMo. We’re sorry to learn of the issues you have raised regarding our bathroom. We do expect our bathrooms to be cleaned to a high standard and the facilities should also be in good working order. Furthermore, we want our customers to enjoy the food we offer so we’d like to apologise for your disappointment on this occasion. We will make sure our Hotel Manager is made aware of the comments you have made so these issues can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before a flight.We had three family rooms which were spotless and a good size.
We checked in using the check in machines so had no human contact but did use the bar for dinner and breakfast which we found to be well priced and good quality food for the money.
The hotel is modern and clean and for £17 per room is amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A good choice if arriving on a late flight as you can still get reasonably regular shuttle buses to this hotel and checkin is prompt. Breakfast was ok but I would have expected a slightly bigger choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before our flight...I remember the hotel being an office block so was good to see the transformation had been well thought out..parking is easy even at 7.50 a night which is compatible with all hotels in the area..check in was high speed and staff were efficient and very friendly..the rooms are sufficient for what you require..it's all logic to the price you pay especially if you book in advance..from my own personal take u would suggest perhaps a two tier structure..have some rooms at a higher level of furnishing comfort etc, eg bigger TV, toiletry's sofa in room etc etc..the huge lobby could be partly taken up with a coffee shop and the old works canteen needs to have a false ceiling put in to lower room size, later the room add depth and get away from the service station style at present..we had drinks in the bar and staff were again very good and prices were good for the area..my wife has hated the travelodge brand in the past but she was impressed by the standard offered...so remember for the price you pay for the location etc it's very good value...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glassmen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing