We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Travelodge experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This Travelodge provided just what we needed, a comfortable convenient hotel close to the north terminal at Gatwick.
It comfortably provided all we needed for our stay, as travelling up from Devon prior to a flight is not to be recommended! We took the package for parking at AirParks, and staying at the hotel both before and after the holiday. Travelodge provided all we sought. Room and bed was satisfactory.We found the restaurant meals acceptable, and about par for cost close to an airport in the southeast of England.
Breakfast was buffet style, with the items topped up frequently from the kitchen.
Bus travel to/from the north terminal can take a while as both terminals are visited by the bus. The hotel have arranged a direct taxi service which costs £6 (same as bus charge for 2 passengers) and means handling the luggage is helped by the taxi driver, and transit is rapid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,153 - 3,159 of 3,680 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Don't forget the shampoo - not provided.

Absolutely functional - but that is all we required before an early flight.

Watch out for the parking - we arrived in dark, with lashing rain. I looked round car park for evidence of charges (quickly) but saw none. There was one A4 sign on check in desk - hidden behind queue of people. As I used the self-check-in machines, I didn't get to read it until the morning - no excuse for not having a sign on wall by the machines, really!

Could have done without the obvious white stain on colourful counterpane, however...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your review Sam N. As a brand standard we do not provide toiletries such as shampoo, however we do provide vending machines at reception should you need to purchase any forgotten items. Regarding the parking, we do try to provide all relevant parking information on our website however we also expect vital information to be sufficiently sign posted. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel manager so that they are able to make the required improvements. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night to catch and early morning flight. Easy access to the airport, comfortable room for a brief stay. We did not stay long enough for me to be able to give a complete overview of all the facilities.
In terms of our needs for that night, it was convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kym13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

In the past I have always found staying at Travelodges a rather soulless experience. This one was so much better. Very decent and quiet room, friendly staff and remarkable value. So handy for catching a flight the next day. I do wish they did not charge guests extra for parking though, unless you intend leaving the car there when on your trip.
Breakfast on site was perfectly good and not too expensive given the options

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was the first time we had booked a hotel at Gatwick for the night prior to a flight but we would certainly do it again. Although still an early start, the prospect of getting up in the middle of the night and chancing traffic on the M25 (which, let's face it can be disrupted at any time of the day or night) made this a no-brainer.

So, to the hotel itself - it's a Travelodge, and quite honestly if you've stayed in one before then you know precisely what you're going to get. This one differs slightly in the fact that it is a fairly substantial property and has a 24 hour bar, although it is a fairly bright and plastic chair establishment, and you wouldn't choose it as a go-to venue. The food was fairly poor for the price, though.

Bed and facilities were up to the usual efficient Travelodge standard (the hotel has recently undergone a refurb so is not tatty) and we had a restful sleep before catching the shuttle bus to the North Terminal. This leaves frequently, even at the crack of dawn and takes less than fifteen minutes to either terminal from right outside the hotel door for around three pounds.

So, for convenience and value for money you couldn't get better. You wouldn't book it for a romantic weekend break but that's obviously not the target market and the hotel makes no attempt to be anything other than an airport hotel that carries out the desired function without fuss.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonjolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Considering I've stayed in other travelodge, my experience at this hotel wasn't too great. The best way to describe everything was a "cold" atmosphere. Very basic room amenities, the shower pole not ideal if you're over 5"11.......too low and when you remove the head the hose is too short. I find myself crouching to have a bath. No tea/coffee but the hotel fixed a bottle opener to the desk?!!!.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Biggy122. We feel we provide all that is needed for a comfortable nights sleep which will include a clean room and a comfortable bed with tea and coffee making facilities so we are sorry to learn that your room was not set up with the correct facilities on this occasion. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they can look into the improvements which need to be made. We apologise for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

After the disaster I experienced at the alternate Gatwick Travelodge last year, ( Travelodge were quick to provide a full refund), I opted to stay here this year, in the knowledge that it has been fully renovated in the past year or so. I had previously stayed here some years ago when it was the Mercure but it now bears no resemblance.

As I had travelled to Gatwick by train, and had taken advantage of an early check in leaving my case, for some exercise I thought I would walk from the South Terminal to the hotel. This was a big mistake as this mainly involves walking the other side of a crash barrier along the dual carriageway on a muddy path. On my return the following morning, I took the hotel bus costing £3 and running every 10 minutes.

As there was a queue at the check in desk, for the first time, I used the booth which on entering my booking reference dispensed the key card. This hotel is huge but my room was on the ground floor and my room was unrecognisable from any Travelodge at which I had previously stayed and presumably reflects the styling of the company's new makeover. I dined in the restaurant in the evening and this represented good value. The bed was firm but fine for me but would not suit everyone of course.

I booked a little in advance with the room costing £22, the most I have paid for a Travelodge but this was really good for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing