We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Very basic and also very grubby the communal areas are filthy with thick dust on the carpets. From some previous pictures some of the rooms look refurbished however ours was very sparce on furniture (looked like someone had nicked a bed?) And the bathroom was awful, chipped marble everywhere very bad shower pressure and a blocked bath! I know this is a budget hotel but travelodge need to spend some money bringing this place up to scratch. We also paid for a full English breakfast 7 pounds and all that was on offer was bacon sausage beans and scrambled eggs for 7 pounds I would at least expect a FULL English. Lastly we didn't pay for parking at the hotel during our holiday but I would strongly suggest you think twice about parking here. The surrounding area is extremely run down and I have only seen one security camera outside of the hotel I personally would not be happy to leave my car here for any period of time.

We stayed at the premier Inn before we travelled and would definitely stick to them in the future we paid 5 pound more but it was worth every penny! Stretch a little further and chose premier Inn people

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,856 - 2,862 of 3,622 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here once again, easy access to Gatwick by bus or taxi. Happy helpful staff . The bar is well stocked, there is a wide choice on the menu. The social area is large and the breakfast very good for the price. We had a good night's sleep and were fresh for our onward journey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABEONAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was very clean, quick check in and room had everything we needed for an overnight stay. Only problem being a smoker was had to go outside to smoke which is not ideal feel they could offer some smoking rooms. Would not stop me returning as is mostly the norm these days, only tip can give you is bus cost more for 2 than taxi so would book taxi to airport and when we arrived in Gatwick it was quite a long walk to bus stance, so would google local taxis and call them next time, but in all a nice clean hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is on the outskirts of Gatwick Airport, there is a large car park outside the hotel for parking, there is a airport shuttle from the South and North terminal to the hotel. Hotel is basic no thrills basic bed but comfortable as the hotel has been decorated, bathroom, tv with what I would call a poor choice of channels, there is somewhere to have a drink and something eat, a large supermarket is around 5 - 10 minutes in the car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Eeyore1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed my 2 overnight stays in the Travelodge Central which was recently refurbished to a high standard.The staff were welcoming and friendly and the meals were plentyful.A most relaxing stay
Highly recommend..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkeyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I used the Travelodge the night before an early flight. Staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Brilliant deal where the kids ate free and the food on offer was hot, tasty and freshly made. Bit of a wait for someone to allow us to go through and have breakfast but they did apologise and it would not put me off staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Gatwick central is ideally located for those of us with early flights and a lengthy journey to Gatwick, We booked roughly 3 months in advance and got an amazing price (£19 per family room!).
Parking was easy about £7 for the night, although some folk were parking on the road outside the hotel, I didnt fancy carting my luggage up the driveway (next time I might organise myself a little better and pack seperately for the 1 evening). Check in was a doddle using the e-check in but a member of staff was available to deal with any problems.
It was a lovely evening so we decided to walk into the village and use the Olde 6 bells pub, food was nice but it was really REALLY busy, and we flew very early so I cant review the hotel food.
The room was as expected from Travelodge, very clean, very comfortable with a great view of the runway for those of you with a penchant for aircraft.
Although it is listed as North terminal, it is almost as close to South, I would choose this hotel above the other "south terminal" travelodge. It is newer cleaner and has more facilities in and around it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £45 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing