We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel, very convenient for the airport & M25 break, is undergoing upgrading. Travelodge advertise this to the effect that you might think that the work is complete. Unfortunately this is not complete from our recent experience when it was obvious that the bathroom & bedroom upgrading was in process plus the public area toilets were also in the midst of an upgrade. Nevertheless the bed & bedding were excellent, the aircon in the room,the lifts & self service check in facilities were clearly new.

Travelodge should make it obvious to intending guests that the uprade is on going & incomplete.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JohnF40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    1,072
    660
    325
    356
See reviews for
926
1,257
466
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here 22nd -25th June 2014. The female reception staff were good more than could be said for the sullen male staff, I was in room 54 sandwiched between 52 &56 whose occupants deemed it feasible to party most of the night and early hours of the morning without any consideration for anyone else who may have been trying to sleep before they caught there flight or continuing there trip home.
No phones in the rooms to report noise to reception so did so early hours in the morning when checking out.
There is a great deal of construction works going on and around the Gatwick area at present, as such their are a large number of workers staying at this hotel and each morning I had to struggle to get access to my car because their vans had parked tight against my car.
Will not return to this hotel for a while.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duck186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review duck186338. We are very sorry to learn that your stay with us was disrupted by noise from other guests. At all our hotels we request that all customers respect reasonable noise levels with consideration to our other guests. We will also have a night porter patrolling the hotel at night to ensure the safety of others and in order to prevent any disruptions to your stay. The hotel will be made aware of the feedback that you have left which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This place is near the hotel and cheap, therefore it prob gets a 3 out of 5 over all..
But if this is 2nd out of 11 then the rest must be shocking.
Staff aren't brilliant, 2 out of 3 lifts didn't work, and it was a busy Wednesday eve..
I've only ever stayed in 2 travel lodges prior to this, and this time I promise it's my last..
Everything about it is poor, cheap and just rubbish..

Pay an extra 10 an go the ibis up the road or the premier inn..

I travel a lot across Europe, prob away 100 nights a year so I do to expect much but thank god it's a stop gap quick stop over...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are very sorry to learn that your stay did not meet with your expectations Ravingeddie. We fully require our staff members to be polite and maintain a high level of professionalism at all times and to be of assistance. Furthermore, our lifts should be in full working order during your stay however, in the event that a lift should break down, we would also expect the issue to be resolved in a timely manner so we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here night before I flew on holiday. Basic room which was quite big. Bed was comfy. Usual tea and coffee facilities. Had a lot of inconsiderate people slamming doors late at night and first thing in the morning. Parking at the hotel should be included in the room price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived after midnight, from airport, and although very busy , we were seen quickly by very cheerful guy and easily helped through room location, as daughter has mobility problems. Rooms were large , very clean and welcoming
Bed was a dream and all facilities tea/ bathroom were great. Breakfast was good next morning as well. Very happy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A pleasant stay with a value for money evening meal, even if the 'restaurant/bar was a bit like a Army cookhouse used to be like!
However the breakfast was very poor quality and if Travelodge do not do something about it then they will not see me again. The baked beans were lukewarm, watery and tasteless, the scrambled egg was tasteless the the variety, only 5 items to choose from, was poor. I then stayed at a premier Inn 2 days later and their breakfast was miles better. They have a choice of 8 items including hash browns and mushrooms, much better value for money at £8.95 compared to the extortionate £7.95 Travelodge charge for a very poor imitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I often stay at this hotel when in Sussex, It is convenient for the M23 and despite being so close to Gatwick Airport it is very quiet. The rooms have all had a re-vamp and are clean and tidy. The only unfortunate thing about my stay:, only one lift operating in such a busy hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Colin_Emsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing