We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at the quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I had a modern and well furnished room with a flat screen TV. The parking at £7.50 should be in the price as it feels like an extra tax. Particularly as I wasn't using it as a holidaymaker leaving their car behind. The service was good. If anything the only downside was the mean spirited supply if toiletries. One small bottle that was expected to be face hand hair and body wash tarnished what was a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,816 - 2,822 of 3,676 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed for just one night due to an early flight out of Gatwick airport. I booked months in advance, and my room was £26 for the night. As the cost was so good, I booked a second room for my friend who was travelling with me, rather than sharing. The room was quite plain, but absolutely huge.You could have got 4 beds into it easily. Unfortunately, the two beds that were in the room were ridiculously narrow - not what you could call a single - more a bunk. The bathroom was wet-room style, but because it was designed for disabled access, the sink was very low on the wall. Also, being a Travelodge, there was not even the tiniest bit of soap provided. On the plus side, the air conditioning was very good indeed.
On arrival, the reception is quite spacious, but was quite warm. There was a table holding plastic cups and chilled water which was a bonus. There was the customary vending machines. The bar/dining area was well air conditioned, and again, very large. Food was run of the mill, and a little pricey. Drinks on the other hand, were very reasonable. (£3.30 for a pint of Stella Artois.) The bar staff were polite and friendly, and I enjoyed a few hours in there.
The frequent bus to the airport was £3pp, but stops a fair way from the Northe terminal entrance, so if you are travelling in a group, a taxi may be better and a similar price for 4 people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having stayed at Gatwick Central on a number of occasions since refurbishment, I knew what to expect. Comfortable, airy, and clean rooms. Staff very helpful and cheerful. Good value for money. It didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Good points

Room very clean and had recently been re decorated However was much smaller than a premier inn room.Very good bar area and evening food was very quick and tasty.


Bad Points

As I had booked on price alone I was not please to find out that parking at the travel lodge was extra and security card to open doors was a bit hit and miss

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Check-in at this hotel was a nightmare! I had to wait more than 10 minutes before getting a room. Unfortunately someone was sleeping in that room! After another wait they gave me a room where I could not open the door with my card. All in all it took more than half an hour till having access to an empty room. In more than 30 years of travelling to the UK I never made such a bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Jochen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

booked months in advance and got very good rate. Stayed here before early morning flight and late flight after holiday.Also parked here for duration, very easy check in and parking. Only down side, Why do people let their doors bang when arriving/leaving in the middle of the night? Staff very nice and efficient, will use again on our next holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Got this hotel for a really good price, to stay overnight before our early morning flight. Parking is £7.50 for the 24hrs. We left the car in an off airport carpark for the week and it was only a 10min drive to get there from the Travelodge, so all in all was exactly what we where looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Astle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Southall Travel and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing