We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay close to the airport due to an early flight next morning. This hotel is just off the airport perimeter so priced lower than this on the airport itself. Public bus service stops outside which takes you direct to the Terminals within minutes. Rooms are typical Travelodge rooms. Good family friendly restaurant on site. Loads of room and food was good. If you are driving, then note that car parking is not free.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,604 - 2,610 of 3,533 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend arrived to Gatwick by train, then caught a £3 shuttle bus to the Travelodge, a very easy service and very cheap! The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfy! We then got some food and drink which is available 24hours a day! Which was perfect as we arrived late. Staff were lovely! Very friendly and polite. Will definitely be staying here again next time we fly. Thank you :D

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank staroftheseax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel was clean and efficient as on two previous stays with pleasant interaction with staff. Check in was untypicably lengthy due to some complications with the booking of the customer in front. There was apparently only one member of staff on duty at desk which didn't help matters.

Breakfast offering foodwise was quite good with indifferent quality of sausages being only critiscism on this first time use of service. The front of house team in the cafe were exceptionally brisk and efficient but were able to be welcoming and courteous under pressure. With a less professional team on duty the dining experience would have been slow and erratic in surroundings which would have started to look scrappy with uncleared tables etc., rather like the chaotic breakfast service endured at Docklands Travelodge many years ago.

It being the first time that a relative wasn't able to drop me off at terminal in morning I made use of shuttle bus. A display in the hotel lobby giving info on frequency, cost and typical travel times to terminals would be reassuring and helpful in planning departure. The driver did the best he could with a normal bus that had been adapted as far as practicably possible for carrying passengers with family holiday luggage including baby buggies and child car seats. It did the job. A purpose made vehicle with extra doors, better luggage racking and a satisfactory climate control system would have improved the experience considerably. The standard of this service is obviously outside Travelodge's control.

Overall the Travelodge Airport Central gave the exceptionally good value and efficient service that has become the norm for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Janks57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked this for one night before an early flight, thinking we would get more sleep!
When we first arrived it was very quiet, good double glazing, so no aeroplane noise or noise from outside.
However, as soon as we went to bed the noise began inside the hotel. The shower rooms have no soundproofing and it appears that the water system runs through lots of rooms.
With people obviously leaving at various times throughout the night, the constant noise from showers and toilets flushing made it impossible to sleep.
We decided to eat in the evening rather than drive to a local pub. What a mistake!
The "restaurant" was like a school canteen. Harsh strip lights, utilitarian tables and chairs and the air conditioning made it freezing. Most people were hugging their shoulders and shivering.
There was little choice of drinks and the prices were high. The food was also canteen like and very poor value.
Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teachersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Everything is good, but the bed is wonderful. Excellent value for money and I'll use this hotel again. The only thing that was not clear (to me, anyway) was that the 'courtesy coach' is a public bus and costs £3 each way...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you need a hotel prior to a flight from Gatwick then this is the hotel for you! Great position, rooms are well maintained and clean. Food though is not so good, best bet is to go out of the hotel for a decent meal (come out of the hotel and turn LEFT, follow road until you get to a small roundabout and go right follow this road and you get to a lovely country pub).
All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kirkpwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here like most people before a flight. Arrived and found the car park was quite small and very busy. I am glad a didn't arrive any later otherwise parking would have been a problem. I noticed a whole line if work vans arrive and builders who where working locally get out. No problem with this except they all gathered outside the front smoking. They jabbered away and I thought I was visiting the kremlin. Car parking cost £7.50 and the machine in the car park to pay was quite complicated to use. Dinner in the dining room was ok room is vast and a bit lifeless. Long wait for food but good quality when it arrived. I did notice a number of other people sending food back but mine was ok except waitress asked if I was ready off desert before my main course had arrived. Room was basic and clean but had no phone in it. The lack of phone would not normally concern me but at midnight a huge row broke out in the room next door. After 20 minutes when female was in the corridor I called the police as I could not call reception.
Ok for one night stay but must be better around

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £46 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Southall Travel and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing