We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first visit to Travelodge and we chose it due to the convenient location to Gatwick airport at a good price. I had previously heard poor reviews but thought we would give it a go after the campaign describing the refurbishment of the hotels. My overall impression was that it was good value for money and very convenient for our early flight. Slight negatives however were that it wasn't signposted particularly well from the main road and there was a charge of £7.50 to park the car, I know it's London but I didn't expect that! Also the single bed was small and hard and my strapping teenage son found it very uncomfortable, our double bed, however, was fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaJ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    1,007
    575
    262
    285
See reviews for
802
1,137
426
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Traveller
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a £3 bus journey away from the airport and it is very difficult to find the bus. The name Gatwick Airport Central is misleading. The hotel itself is very big so the service for the bland food is extremely slow. The reception staff who checked us in was extremely rude. The room itself was like the rest of the hotel, dated. If you want a hassle free airport hotel there are several closer that undoubtedly offer better service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Gatwick Airport Central Travelodge is great value for a stay before or after a flight.
The rooms have been made more comfortable with superb new beds & bedding. There are good options for families with children, especially at breakfast time.
All the facilities such as shower, towels, TV, tea/coffee maker, work well, and the rooms are well insulated. Staff always cheerful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffCosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I arrived at Gatwick Airport Central hassled after a long journey from the Midlands. I received a smile and my room key, and I sank on to the bed to relax in front of the TV. No coffee machine in reception for me when I left at 4.30 am but value for money cant be beaten!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Overnighted in a Family room which was spacious but very basic - Double bed and 2 fold up type single beds. Kettle and Tv in room -WHat more can you expect for GBP24 a night.
Clean and tidy room but have a damp smell to it-probably due to high turnover in hotel I guess.
Fine for our needs.
Bus takes 5-10 minutes depending on traffic and is GBP3 per person-gree for children under 5.
It is cheaper to take a taxi back to the airport- GBP6 This can be called for recpetions free phone. They are local and took just a few minutes to reach us.
Larger vehicles available too.
Check-in was slow due to the self-service check in machines being out of order. Staff were helpful.
The restaurant was absolutley heaving, with queues out the door. Penty of fast food to choose from though.
Would stay here again as just for 1 night. No frills, but to be honest what more do you need for a few hours sleep before early morning flight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my other half and daughter. sharp and speedy check in room was lovely spacious but yes basic but I didnt expect it to be so nice as it was for the £22 I paid. I am due to stay here again b4 hols again in a couple of weeks great way to start the holiday ff stress free!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaylacummingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
470 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay close to the airport due to an early flight next morning. This hotel is just off the airport perimeter so priced lower than this on the airport itself. Public bus service stops outside which takes you direct to the Terminals within minutes. Rooms are typical Travelodge rooms. Good family friendly restaurant on site. Loads of room and food was good. If you are driving, then note that car parking is not free.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Property: Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing