We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Nothing is ever stand out about a travel lodge. it did what i needed, offered a comfortable bed for the night before a early morning flight. transfers were easy and was very close to airport. Noise from airport not really a factor.

Good for the small price tag

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 3,530 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had an early hours of the morning return flight so decided to stay overnight at Gatwick rather than make the 2 hour drive to our destination [or longer depending on traffic conditions] . Chose this TL as very near arrivals N terminal. Pre-booked room cost £35. & overnight parking £7.50 . It was a very good choice. The staff were friendly & helpful, the bar was open 24hrs if you wanted a drink, the room was spacious & clean, the bed comfortable - everything you could need after a tiring day's travel. Breakfast @ £7.65 for all you can eat/ drink was excellent. Highly recommended, would book it again be it before or after flight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Travelodge are cheap - the room cost in the region of £45 a night, and I stayed for 4 nights. With this price in mind, you cannot expect it to rival a room at the Hilton. What you can expect is good basic accommodation, and the hotel delivers this. The rooms appear to have been refurbished not to long ago, they are clean, fresh and spacious. In fact I was quite surprised at the generous room size.

The bed was good, a decent mattress provided a comfortable nights sleep and despite being close to an airport and with people coming and going the rooms were reasonably sound proofed. The housekeeping team did a good job every day and the standards here were very high.

The bathroom was clean and modern with a liquid soap dispenser by the sink and a shower gel dispenser in the bath/ shower.

The TV was badly tuned - several channels having the exact same content and a host of freeview channels not appearing at all. The lack of a guide or logical numbering for the tv stations made it hard to work out what channel you were watching and whether or not you had access to a channel you was hoping to watch. This was a bit frustrating - I gave up trying to use the TV after my first night.

Staff were friendly and tried to help as much as possible - high customer service standards generally with regard to staff professionalism etc.

The biggest drawback at Travelodge is the food. The menu is very basic and provides little choice, which became an issue for me seeing as I was staying for 4 nights. For someone passing through with a single nights stay it would probably serve the purpose. The food was not great value for money - mediocre quality, small portion sizes and overpriced for what you get. Furthermore the service was always somewhat slow - with meals taking approximately 45 minutes from order to the food being served. My advice - eat out - you can get better quality food for the money they charge.

The breakfasts were awful. Hot breakfasts were about £7 and the choice was limited to bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and toast. Common breakfast items like hash browns, beans, fried bread to name but a few were all omitted from the menu. The bacon was wafer thin and flavourless. The sausages were low quality and the scrambled egg very dry. So again a huge let down.

Wifi cost £3 a day. Reasonable speeds, no problems with it. Would have been better if it were free - but like I say its a no frills brand, so you expect to pay for all the extras.

Bus service to the airport leaves from right outside the front door. £3 each way - which isn't the best value but is very convenient. Easy to find the bus back, bay 8 for both north and south terminal. Some have moaned - but I found it easy enough to find the buses! Fast and frequent.

So essentially - room was good, staff were excellent but food is awful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethVarndell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first visit to Travelodge and we chose it due to the convenient location to Gatwick airport at a good price. I had previously heard poor reviews but thought we would give it a go after the campaign describing the refurbishment of the hotels. My overall impression was that it was good value for money and very convenient for our early flight. Slight negatives however were that it wasn't signposted particularly well from the main road and there was a charge of £7.50 to park the car, I know it's London but I didn't expect that! Also the single bed was small and hard and my strapping teenage son found it very uncomfortable, our double bed, however, was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank EmmaJ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a £3 bus journey away from the airport and it is very difficult to find the bus. The name Gatwick Airport Central is misleading. The hotel itself is very big so the service for the bland food is extremely slow. The reception staff who checked us in was extremely rude. The room itself was like the rest of the hotel, dated. If you want a hassle free airport hotel there are several closer that undoubtedly offer better service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Gatwick Airport Central Travelodge is great value for a stay before or after a flight.
The rooms have been made more comfortable with superb new beds & bedding. There are good options for families with children, especially at breakfast time.
All the facilities such as shower, towels, TV, tea/coffee maker, work well, and the rooms are well insulated. Staff always cheerful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank GeoffCosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I arrived at Gatwick Airport Central hassled after a long journey from the Midlands. I received a smile and my room key, and I sank on to the bed to relax in front of the TV. No coffee machine in reception for me when I left at 4.30 am but value for money cant be beaten!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central

Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BE, England (Formerly Mercure London Gatwick Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £46 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Hotel Horley
Mercure Hotel Horley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Renaissance Horley
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing