We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always worth a visit”
Review of New China - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New China
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 September 2012

we have been using this restaurant for years, whenever we are flying from Gatwick a meal here is a must. We have always had excelent meals and the sweet and sour dishes are really lovely served in half a pineapple. We have visited with many differant friends and they have always been impressed as well.

1  Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were introduced the the New China by friends who live in Horley. It is a 5 minute drive from Gatwick and whlist we love the Oriental restaurant at the Sofitel we find the food at the New China to be excellent and a much better price - even considering a taxi fare - Road Runners of Horley are our choice, they are very efficient and not over priced - 01293 821100.
We last visited this restaurant on June 2nd 2012

New China is consistently good, we never have a problem booking or even just turning up.
You can park outside with no problem - coming from Wolverhampton we find this amazing!

We look forward to our next visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaryBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had eaten here before and it was very good value. But when we went to book a table we discovered it had closed 23rd June. We don't know why or for how long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have used this restaurant in June 2011 and June 2012 whilst staying in Horley at a B and B pre flight from Gatwick.

Excellent food, freshly cooked with service with a smile. Prices reasonable for the location, given it is Surrey.

One tip though, when we visited on 07 June 2012, the restaurant was closing for a refit so it might be worth checking it is open pre visit this summer (2012).

Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a very strange restaurant .... we've visited a few times and it's always been empty (the busiest I've seen is us and one other table taken).

The food is acceptable, but nothing special.

The service is terrible. The waiters generally ignore you and chat to each other or sit in the corner using a laptop. They are always very keen to get you to leave so they can close up the restaurant.

We don't go here anymore .... if you want a chinese meal in Horley, go to the Blue Lake on Station Road which is lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeowMeowMeowMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New China also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing