We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I'd call a hotel but a good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not what I'd call a hotel but a good B&B”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked this hotel before taking our daughter to Gatwick early the following morning.
Check-in was confused and took far longer than was necessary as the person completing our check-in was also trying to help other members of staff deal with other clients and telephone enquiries.
The room was very small and I do not consider an en-suite to consist of a cupboard with a very small shower and loo in it with the sink outside in the bedroom, this is old fashioned B&B fare and should really be marketed as such so customers can make a more informed decision about whether it is for them. My daughter's single room was exactly that, extremely small but with a large shower room, ironically.
Having said that everything was extremely clean and the bed very comfortable. No air conditioning meant it was difficult to sleep in the muggy conditions and noise was a factor with the window open.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    161
    55
    26
    20
See reviews for
95
220
49
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jersey channel island
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our stay was very nice.the room was lovely and clean the staff were really friendly.the breakfast was really good it was like home to home.would definally recommend this hotel.will use again.Thank you

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and the beds comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishface003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great hotel for staying prior to a flight from Gatwick. The rooms were a good size, comfy beds, great shower and the staff were lovely. For £5 we got a private lift to the airport in the morning which was less than 10mins away. They have a good restaurant too with typical British fare, also a short walk away there is a little high street where you can get some last minute bits and bobs before your flight. All this for such a good price. I really have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emiushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

i told the owners i was bringing my big dog, and three kids and they had a cot set up ready for me, the room was very difficult to move around given the cot, and all my bags but the beds were clean and comfy, the bathroom was spotless and the tea and coffee making was generous ( not 1 tea 1 coffee one milk, like you get in some places) downside, i was in a room with a 2yo, (and my two other kids) next to a room with a young baby ( from the sound of it) and s/he kept waking us all up which was not great when you have an early flight next day - but i understand thats not the hotels fault ( or infact the other guest, babies cry!) location, great - literally 5 mins from gatwick, not "5 minutes" like some other hotels i have used which turns out to be half an hour!. price - totally bargain! hotels.com did it again. amenities, there was a bar in the hotel which looked welcoming, but alas with three kids i didnt venture in! staff - awesome. truly could not do enough for you. highly reccomend (unless maybe if you are emigrating like me when you packed everything you possibly could, then space might be a bit tight ;) )

Room Tip: if you have a dog they will put you in the annex which has a driveway right next to it so you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

A modest but friendly family run hotel. We stayed at the hotel the night before our holiday and enjoyed a pleasant meal from a fairly unambitious menu. We left our car at the hotel for the duration of our holiday at a fraction of the cost of parking at the airport. Our 7.00am flight meant that we had to leave before their shuttle service started at 6.00am, but on our return a call to them from the baggage reclaim hall meant that their minibus was waiting for us outside the door of the terminal - very efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Old_Acc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed one night between flights. Booked direct with the hotel and got a family room for 5, 1 double, 1 single and a set of bunks with ensuite. These rooms were in a small annex in the carpark, so no noise or comings and goings. The courtesy minibus picked us up within 5 minutes of phoning and it took exactly 3 minutes from the North terminal to the hotel. Was up too early for the cooked breakfast, but was able to take some continental, cereal, breads and coffee. Nice lounge bar to relax before bed. Good find and good value for an overnight stay at Gatwick.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sof82Newtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaghy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here on way to Egypt and coming back. The hotel rearranged our booking at very short notice on the way back and I applaud them for that as there were no extra charges. Service in terms of pick-up and drop-off is excellent, location is great, breakfast is spot on only gripe I had was the chalet room we got on the way back home. It was very small and slightly damp and dated it was around a double room size with a set of bunks squeezed in. I would use again but only if I was alone or with my wife. I would give this a 3.5 if I could as 3 is slightly unfair but 4 is too much.

Room Tip: Stick to the main building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJackPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.3 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Corner House Hotel

Property: Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Address: 72 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatwick Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel offering quality accommodation with bar and restaurant. Holiday parking and transfers to and from Gatwick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatwick Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Horley
Gatwick Corner House Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing