We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Gatwick overnight stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gatwick Corner House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for Gatwick overnight stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel overnight as there were no direct flights from Aberdeen to Malta and no same day connections. We were picked up from the airport and dropped off the next day with no problems. The room was comfortable and we had a good continental breakfast in the morning with friendly staff on hand, the only slightly down side was that our room was in an annex which was across the road from the main building meaning we had to cross a fairly busy road in the morning. However being convenient for Gatwick and very well priced made up for this slight inconvenience.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander201369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    158
    55
    26
    20
See reviews for
93
218
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I used the Corner House on a recent early departure from Gatwick. I've stayed at a couple of other places nearby, and found this to be more homey, more friendly, and a little less organised. Still, they picked me up from the Gatwick Express, and dropped me at the terminal the next morning. In the meantime, I had a decent meal, a clean (but tiny) room, and a pretty small bill. Just what I asked for, really.

I see that others have had problems with the staff and with the systems, but I can honestly say that they were polite and helpful, and my stay went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stopped in at this Hotel as I was staying at the Travelodge locally and wanted to find a place to eat with a little more charm. I had planned to walk to the town of Horley itself but as the outside of the Hotel looked welcoming and they advertised a bar and restaurant , I decided to give it a go. The menu is posted outside and it looked fairly reasonably priced. The bar was just to the right of the entrance but after waiting a minute or two with no one around I went to reception. I ordered a drink and some food and asked if I could eat in the bar, which was accommodated.
It is quite a nice looking hotel and I found it quite charming. There are some updated touches such as a sun room off the bar with casual wicker furniture and overall it was very pleasant to sit and have a drink. Unfortunately the arrival of my food changed a little bit of that for me.

I had ordered the sausage and mash at 7.75 pounds. It took a while to come and when it did it was very poorly presented.Served in a too small bowl stuffed with mash, three over cooked sausages and swimming in onion gravy with large pieces of fried onions. The taste was o.k but as I was hungry, I was going to eat it regardless. There were no vegetables and no condiments were offered. On asking if it was supposed to come with veg I was told no but was offered some which I declined. I thought the menu had said all mains came with veg or extras etc but I didn't argue the point.

I didn't stay for another drink and the bill was 11.55 pounds for one drink and the meal. Left feeling a little ripped off and disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel looks the business when you first pull up outside, however on our arrival which was fairly late at night the woman on reception was less than helpful.. She tried to charge me too much and then looked annoyed when i asked for a receipt as we still had some balance to pay a few days later when we stayed at the same hotel on the return of our holiday.

I was told that taxi from the hotel to Gatwick were £5.00 and they were £5.50.

Also were not told that late at night after a full days work and a long drive to reach them, and a more than complicated unfriendly check in we would have to lug all of our things across a main road to find the area we were staying in for the night. We were told to make sure we keep the noise down like we were teenagers who would have no respect.

on the return stay after our hotel i was given instruction as to how/when to call them for our airport pick up.. there was a big group of us and they have an 8 seater.. i was told to call them at baggage re claim which i did, to be told to walk to a bus stop in the freezing cold wait there and call again.. which i did, and then had t stand in the cold and dark at 11pm at night waiting for the taxi, which we didnt all fit into so therefore some of our group had to stand and wait longer n the cold.

The same complicated check in process happened when we arrived, the same lady didnt seem to have a clue, it was an effort for her to let me pay on arrival, and she seemed stressed about giving me my car keys back before the morning, even though i explained that we might want to leave very early in order to just get home the next morning.

the bill finally got settled, but was just hassle.

in the morning there was not enough staff on shift, i asked for a coffee in the bar whilst i was waiting for some of the group to finish getting ready and i was told i had to wait for the man to go to the airport first and then when he came back he would make it.. at which point everyone in my group was ready to go and i had to leave most of my coffee.
when i asked the staff ''excuse me, do you know how much the breakfast is?'' my reply was ''yes'' and i had to stare at the man in shock before he finally replied with the price.
i found it a real pain that i couldnt pay for my coffee on my card as they have an ''over £10.00'' policy.. most places dont just refuse you to pay by card, they may just say they have to add 50p to the bill... i had to borrow a couple of pound to pay for it.

over all the hotel rooms and bathrooms were perfectly adequate and twice before the holiday i had spoken to someone on the phone and she was very very helpful so i guess its a hit and miss on which staff you get on that day?!

location was fine also, just a 5 min drive to gatwick airport but for the price and ease id rather stay at the travel lodge if i need to stay over again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed before and after a holiday and both nights the staff were next to useless. Check in took forever (3/4 hr ) and then there was a problem with the amount we had already paid and what was remaining. This morning we couldn't 'to pay because the owner had to go and collect people from the airport so our departure was delayed until he came back. He was also very rude about it. We ordered a coffee while we waited, 25 mins later it arrived.
On a plus note the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingPomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this 'hotel'. Under staffed, inefficient and rude. If you want an easy and efficient service and check in, and a pleasant stay, this is not the place. Making them aware that we are travelling with a very unwell person they still took no less than half an hour at 10.30 at night to even provide us with a room key. Awful experience, NEVER AGAIN. Couldn't be more displeased with the staff, hotel and service!!!!!!!! If only there was a 0 star rating!
Thanks for nothing corner house hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have stayed here twice now and can't imagine we'd stay anywhere else. The hotel is very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the bar feels like a 'local' and the transfers to the airport quick and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sripev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Corner House Hotel

Property: Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Address: 72 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatwick Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel offering quality accommodation with bar and restaurant. Holiday parking and transfers to and from Gatwick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gatwick Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Horley
Gatwick Corner House Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing