We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and ideal for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gatwick White House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed there because we had an early flight.. Very basic but was clean and there was a double bed plus a single.. Tea coffee plus a flat screen tv.. There is a restuarant but we didn't use also there's a bar too.. Very cheap at only £40 a night plus for only an extra £6 there's a mini bus that takes you right to the airport which runs every 30 mins..The staff very polite.. Lovely couple of pubs
about 5 minute walk which do cheap meals and a pint.. Will defiantly use again..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked a superior twin room and got what appeared to be a store room for old beds out the back of the 'hotel'. The room was damp, curtains hanging off, holes in carpet. There was 3 mis-matched single beds and another single mattress (shoved down the side of one of the beds) in the room, all beds looked like they came from the tip and felt like it too!! Breakfast was supposed to be a full English but consisted of 1 slice of bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg and some beans, all of which were obviously the cheapest any supermarket would sell. Then top off our stay we've now been charged twice for the room!! Avoid this place at all costs, I wish I'd read the reviews on here before booking!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank col12342001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Old, poorly maintained rooms but if you are here for a short time between flights then you will be hard pressed to find anywhere cheaper or closer to the airport. For anything longer than a few hours I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Ledoge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Checked in with a friendly reception person. Got to room, telephone line was dead, and alarm clock radio was not working. Layed on the bed and about 10 min later noticed a bed bug on my shirt. Checked the pillow and there were many more. Avoid this place as the risk for infestation is too high!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel was booked simply because we had a stupid o'clock flight from Gatwick airport. You really do get what you pay for here, its basic and quite rundown. The restaurant and bar look really unappealing so we gave them a miss (we actually discovered a lovely Thai restarant a short walk away which I would recommend for dinner). The transfer offered was on time and £6 p/person. All in all, I would only ever book this if you needed a really cheap place to stay ahead of a flight...personally I think I'll try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had an early flight from Gatwick, so I booked this through Holiday Extras. The bathroom and bedding were clean, and the taxi was prompt taking me to the hotel in the evening and to the airport at 4:30am. For £40 it was better than a pricey taxi ride and less sleep. The drive is 10mins to the airport.

Do be aware not all bookings include the 'free' shuttle before 10pm as advertised on the website, my Holiday Extras one apparently did not. But I was happy to pay £6 for the trip.

The rooms are dingy and small, the staff are a bit disorganised and the place is in dire need of an injection of some sort of colour and style, but if you're looking for a cheap bed it is just fine. If you book it for Valentines Day or an anniversary, well, you're probably asking for trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It was cheap...less than £40 booked on the web. Unfortunately there was a £6 extra parking charge, so read the small print! You know that its not going to be the best of hotels when the receptionist smells like he has just come back from a weeks drinking binge. Maybe the drink softens the pain of having to work there! The first room didn't have working lights in the toilet so we changed rooms. According to the receptionist the builders were in that day....I think maybe one had slept there but there didn't seem much sign of any building work being carried out. The second room was better than the 1st..as long as you don't mind damp spots on the roof, no lampshades and a noisy main road outside. The furniture looked like it had been rejected by the local students in the 70's and we decided not to use the shower in case we left dirtier than when we tuned up!

Next time I will check the trip advisor rating before booking! Avoid this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gainsborough Lodge
Gainsborough Lodge
#9 of 11 in Horley
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick White House Hotel

Address: 50-52 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £41 - £1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gatwick White House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gatwick White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick White Hotel
Hotel Gatwick White
Gatwick White House Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing