We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rounded up to 4 stars because it is better than average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gatwick White House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rounded up to 4 stars because it is better than average”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed here three times all together. I have never felt it was dirty but I'm a man...Because of the bad reviews on TA I was more on the lookout this time. I found no hygene problems at all in the admittedly dated hotel. The shower room seemed spotless to me. The transfer to the airport was bang on time as usual despite it being 0330 in the morning. My only gripe really is that the bus is always slow picking you up - it was a half hour this time. It does have to service two hotels and it could do with a visit to the body shop and valet. Apart from that, very good value all round package and will use again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeWalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    78
    82
    55
    185
See reviews for
82
147
73
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel in March 2014.

The hotel offers free transport to and from the airport which saves a few pounds compared to some of their competitors. Something that's worth considering if you are looking for a place to stay near Gatwick airport.

Despite my arrival being after the cut off point for dinner, the staff were brilliant in offering me a bacon sandwich and chips. After a long journey the effort was most appreciated.

The room was perfectly efficient and clean. Tea and coffee facilities were available and the ensuite shower worked as it should. The bed was also comfortable. The heating however was a little too hot for me so I did have to keep the window open, but not a major issue.

Breakfast was provided in the room rate and featured a full English (bacon, egg, sausage, beans and toast) and also available was fruit and cereals as well as tea and coffee.

I was a little sceptical prior to my visit based on some of the other reviews posted here, but based on my experience I would certainly consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed there in January between two flights. The place is just dirty and uncomfortable. It was not possible to close window properly in our room. It was also freezing in the room because there was no heating turned on. I would advise to pay some extra 5-10 pounds and stay in another hotel in Horley.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Licka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Me and my partner booked this hotel for the night before we departed for a week in the sun. When we arrived the hotel did look a little dated, the the 2 gents who booked us in made our little stay fantastic. The staff were so attentive, made us laugh and cooked one of the best curries we have ever had, and even at 5am when they transferd us to the airport were still happy and bubbly. Fantastic! Only damper, the fish tank looked a little green!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Obviously I cannot vouch for all rooms but I am a long haul van driver, arrived here about 1230 am and had booked the hour before on route. The bad reviews I read we're recent but I took a gamble. Either the previous reviewers got put in slums or they expected the hilton! £51 for a twin large room (29) which was clean tidy, quite modern and for those flying, 5 minutes from the airport. I stay all over the country in hotels and I am happy to give this 5 out of 5, my big van was not a problem to park either And what ever wage the night porter is on needs to be increased, ( long haired older chap ). He has got to be the most helpful NP I have ever come across, he made it the 5 out of 5, cheers to that man, I will happily use this again if I am near Gatwick ( 5 minutes drive away and not loud at all )
If there was one thing I would point out on, get some slightly softer mattresses, but hey, that's a personal preference I guess. Cheers folks, I look forward to coming back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Care H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A handy hotel a taxi ride away from Gatwick airport, it has car parking which you have to pay for I was lucky enough to find a free parking space in a road nearby. The man at reception was very helpful as I did not arrive until late; the room was a single one and was roomy with a shower toilet room and a sink in the bedroom. Tea and coffee was in ample supply, and there was a flat screen TV with free view channels. Bed was comfortable, but would have been better with a duvet. Breakfast was a tasty full English with cereal, tea and coffee on self service and eggs and beacon cooked fresh and served to the table, for the price and location it is a useful stop over point and even handy for visits to London via the Gatwick express train. Also a plus point was it was quiet, and I had a good night’s sleep will use this hotel again when visiting London.

Room Tip: As I only had a single room cannot say for doubles, but my room was in the back of the hotel and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Ok read the other reviews at kittilia airport and then very worried. Actually flight very late getting in. Rang 11.30 and they picked us up in 10 minutes. Ok guy on desk not very chatty but not rude either. Hotel looked fine. We were offered a choice of room. Beds clean!! And bathroom!! Ok it wasn't the Ritz but what do you expect? Slept well. Accommodated our request to change transport time the next morning without any problem. I've stayed in much worse places and for the price it was fine. Didn't hv breakfast so can't comment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gainsborough Lodge
Gainsborough Lodge
#9 of 11 in Horley
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick White House Hotel

Property: Gatwick White House Hotel
Address: 50-52 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gatwick White House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gatwick White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick White Hotel
Hotel Gatwick White
Gatwick White House Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing