We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel and great early check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vulcan Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have stayed in many of the hotels / b&Bs on Massets Road and around Gatwick and must admit this is probably the best one. We stayed the night before we flew and the day we returned. With an early check-in on our return at 8:30am we were able to get our heads down after a long haul flight back from Vietnam and then leave the next day after almost a full days sleep. It's worth paying the extra for the cooked breakfast in the morning - which was fantastic. Really friendly owners who are really welcoming. Will definately be staying again when flying from Gatwick and would defo recommend !

Room Tip: We stayed in the large double room overlooking the front - can't remember which number it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you too for your kind review. It is really rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your before and after stays with us.
We look forward to seeing you when you embark upon your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We and two friends stayed here for the first time in March, prior to a flight to Vietnam. It is a lovely property and Karen is excellent and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast good. Parking was very reasonable. We will definitely stay next time we fly from Gatwick

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank areanynamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write such a nice review. We love having such nice, interesting, eclectic groups of people such as yourselves.

We do hope that we will see you again, when next you decide to adventure forth from Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at Vulcan Lodge on 03/02/13. Karen's communications via email were prompt and she organised our taxi for 0630hrs the next morning. It is situated very close (easy walking distance) to main Horley town and the pubs and restaurants. The parking was very cheap compared to other B&Bs in the same street. Taxis are only £5 to the airport so they do not inflate their costs by putting on 'free' transport. The room was spotless and nicely appointed with a comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Colin made a point of seeing us off in the early morning, and meeting us when we came back at a similar time this morning. We hope to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Admiral_Forest3416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you so much, Andrew, for your extremely kind and generous words.

We do try to make our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as we possibly can…although I do think that Colin gets the rough end of the stick sometimes, when bidding farewell, and welcoming returning guests during the early hours!

We look forward to seeing you both again next year, prior to you embarking on your next travel adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When returning from abroad, I always try to stay at Vulcan Lodge before driving home. Karen and Colin always ensure that I can check-in as early as possible, so that I can overcome the stress of the 'red-eye.' And, being set back off the main road, their guest house is always quiet and tranquil, which is remarkable considering it is located in the centre of Horley.
Best of all, the kind hospitality of the Owners is warm and friendly, while the welcome from Oscar and Sakie their two Border Collies is just incredible.
I am not sure that I should not be keeping this secret to myself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chasbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thanks again for staying at Vulcan Lodge. It is always a pleasure to see you again and hear about your latest international adventures.
Colin sends his for the recommendations you have made to your colleagues regarding the purchase of house insulation.
Looking forward to seeing you again next month.
Kindest regards,
Colin & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

After traveling all the way from Australia, this is an, 'exceptional accommodation,' with excellent hospitality and genuinely friendly owner / operators, who 'go the extra mile' to ensure clients. have a comfortable and memorable stay. Absolutely, 'NOTHING LIKE 'FAWLTY 'TOWERS', and there is no, 'MANUEL' waiters there either. Excellent 'tucker' too ! Definately staying there every visit to the UK and highly recommend it to EVERYONE !!!
Graf Alexander von Lubanski. JP

Room Tip: All rooms are 'exceptionally well appointed to suit travellers. Lovely garden area and close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to write to Trip Advisor, Alexander.

We are so pleased that you have put your earlier experience of that other guest house behind you, and have found a 'Home' when 'Away.' Please remember us at Vulcan Lodge when you eventually get back to the heart of Australia's cattle country.

It was really entertaining having your company for three days. Hopefully, next time you will make arrangements to stay rather longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have stopped here for several months now and I could not fault the rooms or Karen and Colin. They are so welcoming and friendly that it does feel like a home from home. The rooms are immaculate and Karen is so attentive to detail. The welcome you get when you enter is friendly but not intrusive and you even get a good welcome from the dogs Sake and Oscar. I would stop here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rew_dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Richard, thank you for taking the trouble to write to Trip Advisor, and for making such nice comments. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond. Actually, I have only just found out that there is such a facility.

It is always such a pleasure to have nice warm, gentle, and humorous personalities such as yours gracing our humble guest house. I do hope that your company will find you more work closer to your home in future, though.

As we have said, you are always welcome to stay if you are flying out of Gatwick. I am sure Colin would be happy to create another Pure Malt tasting session.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed here three times now and I always have a great experience. Karen and Colin
Cater to your every need. The food is great, the setting is comfortable, the location is a few minutes walk from the train station, and the water pressure is perfect! Love staying here every time I come.

-Lucas, Virginia, USA

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmeletis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you so much for your sparing your valuable time to submit your review of our guest house.

Sorry that it has taken us so long to respond. Unfortunately, we had not noticed the facility to respond to guest critique, at the time your feedback was published. So we belatedly offer our thanks.

We trust all is well with you and yours,

Karen & Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Lodge Guest House

Address: 27 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vulcan Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for airport access, while within very easy walking distance (200 yards) of the town centre. The Lodge itself, is a charming period house that sits within one third of an acre of typically quaint English gardens, and gives the impression of being amidst the beautiful Surrey countryside. Established as a guest house for some twenty-five years, it is regarded as one of the premier establishments in the vicinity of Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vulcan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Lodge Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing