We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vulcan Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cant fault it”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stay here every time we fly from Gatwick and it is always the same. Treated like family, immaculately clean nothing to much trouble and the family (including the animals) are gems

the pub close by Ye Olde 6 Bells is good for a quick pub supper but do book (can be done on line) as they are always busy

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks for telling the world about our little hostelry. It is always a pleasant to receive such pleasant, yet unsolicited comments, from our regular customers.

We were glad to hear upon your return that you had once again thoroughly enjoyed your pilgrimage to the Caribbean, and that we will most likely see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
56
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have stayed in many of the hotels / b&Bs on Massets Road and around Gatwick and must admit this is probably the best one. We stayed the night before we flew and the day we returned. With an early check-in on our return at 8:30am we were able to get our heads down after a long haul flight back from Vietnam and then leave the next day after almost a full days sleep. It's worth paying the extra for the cooked breakfast in the morning - which was fantastic. Really friendly owners who are really welcoming. Will definately be staying again when flying from Gatwick and would defo recommend !

Room Tip: We stayed in the large double room overlooking the front - can't remember which number it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you too for your kind review. It is really rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your before and after stays with us.
We look forward to seeing you when you embark upon your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We and two friends stayed here for the first time in March, prior to a flight to Vietnam. It is a lovely property and Karen is excellent and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast good. Parking was very reasonable. We will definitely stay next time we fly from Gatwick

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank areanynamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write such a nice review. We love having such nice, interesting, eclectic groups of people such as yourselves.

We do hope that we will see you again, when next you decide to adventure forth from Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at Vulcan Lodge on 03/02/13. Karen's communications via email were prompt and she organised our taxi for 0630hrs the next morning. It is situated very close (easy walking distance) to main Horley town and the pubs and restaurants. The parking was very cheap compared to other B&Bs in the same street. Taxis are only £5 to the airport so they do not inflate their costs by putting on 'free' transport. The room was spotless and nicely appointed with a comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was more than sufficient. Colin made a point of seeing us off in the early morning, and meeting us when we came back at a similar time this morning. We hope to stay again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Admiral_Forest3416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you so much, Andrew, for your extremely kind and generous words.

We do try to make our guests’ stay as comfortable and memorable as we possibly can…although I do think that Colin gets the rough end of the stick sometimes, when bidding farewell, and welcoming returning guests during the early hours!

We look forward to seeing you both again next year, prior to you embarking on your next travel adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When returning from abroad, I always try to stay at Vulcan Lodge before driving home. Karen and Colin always ensure that I can check-in as early as possible, so that I can overcome the stress of the 'red-eye.' And, being set back off the main road, their guest house is always quiet and tranquil, which is remarkable considering it is located in the centre of Horley.
Best of all, the kind hospitality of the Owners is warm and friendly, while the welcome from Oscar and Sakie their two Border Collies is just incredible.
I am not sure that I should not be keeping this secret to myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chasbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 19 October 2016
Thanks again for staying at Vulcan Lodge. It is always a pleasure to see you again and hear about your latest international adventures.
Colin sends his for the recommendations you have made to your colleagues regarding the purchase of house insulation.
Looking forward to seeing you again next month.
Kindest regards,
Colin & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casino, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

After traveling all the way from Australia, this is an, 'exceptional accommodation,' with excellent hospitality and genuinely friendly owner / operators, who 'go the extra mile' to ensure clients. have a comfortable and memorable stay. Absolutely, 'NOTHING LIKE 'FAWLTY 'TOWERS', and there is no, 'MANUEL' waiters there either. Excellent 'tucker' too ! Definately staying there every visit to the UK and highly recommend it to EVERYONE !!!
Graf Alexander von Lubanski. JP

Room Tip: All rooms are 'exceptionally well appointed to suit travellers. Lovely garden area and close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write to Trip Advisor, Alexander.

We are so pleased that you have put your earlier experience of that other guest house behind you, and have found a 'Home' when 'Away.' Please remember us at Vulcan Lodge when you eventually get back to the heart of Australia's cattle country.

It was really entertaining having your company for three days. Hopefully, next time you will make arrangements to stay rather longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have stopped here for several months now and I could not fault the rooms or Karen and Colin. They are so welcoming and friendly that it does feel like a home from home. The rooms are immaculate and Karen is so attentive to detail. The welcome you get when you enter is friendly but not intrusive and you even get a good welcome from the dogs Sake and Oscar. I would stop here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rew_dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Richard, thank you for taking the trouble to write to Trip Advisor, and for making such nice comments. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond. Actually, I have only just found out that there is such a facility.

It is always such a pleasure to have nice warm, gentle, and humorous personalities such as yours gracing our humble guest house. I do hope that your company will find you more work closer to your home in future, though.

As we have said, you are always welcome to stay if you are flying out of Gatwick. I am sure Colin would be happy to create another Pure Malt tasting session.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Southbourne Guest House
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Lodge Guest House

Property: Vulcan Lodge Guest House
Address: 27 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vulcan Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for airport access, while within very easy walking distance (200 yards) of the town centre. The Lodge itself, is a charming period house that sits within one third of an acre of typically quaint English gardens, and gives the impression of being amidst the beautiful Surrey countryside. Established as a guest house for some twenty-five years, it is regarded as one of the premier establishments in the vicinity of Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vulcan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Lodge Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing