We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay for Gatwick with parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vulcan Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We usually stay at a hotel or B&B prior to holiday flights. This year our flight left from Gatwick. We found Vulcan Lodge on the Internet. What a fortunate choice it turned out to be; the owners, Karen & Colin Moon, are lovely, friendly people and made us feel welcome, via email, even before we arrived. Their B&B has a well deserved AA 4* rating and they also provided safe parking for our car. The whole experience was delightful, a lovely house, sheltered from the road and secluded. The continental breakfast was very good with the option of full English breakfast, if required.
We highly recommend Vulcan Lodge and will certainly return when flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonPurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Greetings Leon

Thank you so much for your very welcoming review. Both Colin and I enjoyed hearing about your flying travels, and look forward to hearing more the next time you and Marlene find yourselves in this neck of the woods.

Look forward to, hopefully, cooking you a full English next time!

Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have stayed five times now at Vulcan Lodge and look forward to it almost as much as our holiday! Karen and Colin are perfect hosts who make us feel very welcome every time we stay. The rooms are lovely, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Only a five minute taxi ride to Gatwick airport and local pubs are within walking distance. We are booked to stay again in September 2014. Thank you Karen and Colin!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Tonia & Darren what can I say, just like Auntie Susie and the 'plastic plant', it'll be visit number seven in September!!

Joking aside, thank you for such a glowing report, it's always a pleasure to flip the diary pages to see your names, and to look forward to that big hug on when your arrive.

Take care and see you in September with the kids!!

Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Perfect for anyone wishing to stay overnight before a morning flight from Gatwick.
Very welcoming owners, cosy and spotless accommodation ad a very wide range to choose from for breakfast. Will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Greetings Steve
Many thanks for taking the time to write a wee message on TA, and such a fab one at that. It's always nice to know that we manage to tick the correct boxes, and look forward to welcoming you and Nina the next time you find yourselves flying in/out of LGW.

Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is my second time at the Vulcan Lodge and it was perfect again, Karen and Colin made my stay just wonderful. I love the rooms and the location. Karen helps whenever she can, she is always there for you. The breakfast is all you are looking for. The Lodge is close to the airport, the train station (35 minutes to Victoria) and to the local pubs. It is quiet although so close to the airport. Everything is clean and spotless. For me it was like seeing friends again.
Hope to be back soon. Thank you for everything

Room Tip: I had a look at all rooms and they are all alike. 4 rooms available, single, double, family , en-sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsche24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Kirsten, thank you so very much for your glowing report, and for the flowers, chocolates, and the soap is fab!!

I'll keep a look out for Eileen in the town, and if I do bump into her, perhaps she'll have a tea/coffee with me.

Take care and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest thoughts
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

1) Great location - Close to shops, restaurants, pubs, the train station and a 5 minute taxi ride to Gatwick Airport. Yet it is quiet in the rooms and easy to sleep.
2) Exceptionally friendly welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely hosts.
3) Food - Breakfast was of a high standard and plentiful.
4) Comfort - The rooms are very clean and in good order. A good sized TV, kettle and nice touches of bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits available in the rooms. Free wifi is available throughout the lodge, and is fast & secure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJB26210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Greetings Alan

Once again Colin and I say a big thank you for your kind and generous review, and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Take care, and enjoy this wonderful sunny weather we are experiencing.

Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My Experience do date staying @ the Vulcan lodge Guest house has exceeded my expectations with the friendliness shown by both Karen & Colin & the room I have had on my stay's with the bathroom attached has been very comfortable.Karens hospitality is superb,& the Breakfast I have had each morning has been a great start to the day.I have no hesitation & can highly recommend staying @ this Superb,B&B..Kindest regards to Karen & Colin...

Room Tip: My Room was @ the front of the house with a Bathroom attached very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarryCh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for your most complementary review of Vulcan Lodge.

We always enjoy hosting our Antipodean guests, with their sunny outlook on life. We were just sorry that you have had to endure a storm-embattled England over the first part of your visit. However, the weather is on the mend and looks much improved for the rest of your stay.

We look forward to catching up with your latest adventures prior to your departure for Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed with Karen and Colin over Christmas, leaving our car. The place is extremely comfortable, warm and friendly, as are the hosts. Good eating nearby. While we were away the Great Floods came. Karen kept us fully in touch, even offering to move the car to higher ground if necessary, and giving it a run now and then. This was above the call of duty and much appreciated. We have stayed at several Gatwick B&Bs, and this is definitely the Best, most comfortable and best value too! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeNewport_Pembs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candkmoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Hi Mike & Sandy

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Vulcan Lodge. As for looking after your car, and keeping you up to date with the flood situation, it was a pleasure, and just thankful that we only suffered surface water in the back garden, sadly, there were some who were not so lucky!!

Enjoy Vietnam, and look forward to looking after you and the car again at some point this year.

Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.9 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Lodge Guest House

Address: 27 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vulcan Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for airport access, while within very easy walking distance (200 yards) of the town centre. The Lodge itself, is a charming period house that sits within one third of an acre of typically quaint English gardens, and gives the impression of being amidst the beautiful Surrey countryside. Established as a guest house for some twenty-five years, it is regarded as one of the premier establishments in the vicinity of Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vulcan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Lodge Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing