We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Want Accomodation Near Gatwick Look No Further”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vulcan Lodge Guest House
Ranked #9 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed the night before flying from Gatwick. Karen and her husband were both very welcoming. The room was comfy and there were nice touches, like bottled water and biscuits with the tea. We had a full English breakfast before leaving, which was also excellent. Whilst we were away we left our car there and the price was very reasonable. Karen also arranged a taxi to and from the airport and this service was also very efficient. I would not hesitate to return, I would not waste my time looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shropshirenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you so much for your very positive review, which is most welcome from one of TripAdvisor's 'Top Reviews.’ We do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again, when next you are staying in the vicinity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent a long time looking for an overnight stay at hotels near to Gatwick airport then came across Vulcan Lodge, what a find! Beautiful accommodation, we were
warmly greeted by Karen, Colin, their two dogs and cat. Our room was lovely and equipped to an exceptional standard and so quiet.We asked Karen if we could book a breakfast on our return and despite being almost 3 hours late, we were provided with a beautifully cooked breakfast which was so welcome after our long journey home. Thank you very much Karen for your hospitatlity.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you, Lynda, for your glowing review of your stay with us. I am glad that you liked our facilities, and that you enjoyed your Full English Breakfast, albeit belatedly. It is always easy for us to go that extra mile for caring and considerate guests such as you and David. Hopefully we will see you again, when next you fly from Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our 1st stay at Vulcan Lodge and what a pleasure. Could not fault a thing. Karen was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble. We just wish we had found Vulcan Lodge before. My wife and I will certainly be staying here again and will be recommending it to all our friends. Lovely House and Lovely Hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Having guests staying before and after their holiday is always nice, as we get hear about their entire holiday experience. We were delighted that you enjoyed your vacation and your stays with us, and are most grateful to you for sparing your valuable time to provide feed-back via Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you once again later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Great hosts, great accommodation and lovely animals. Customer service far exceeds what could be expected. No airport noise at all. Perfect for Gatwick. Highly recommended - thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

It is great fun to have such an eclectic mix of guests. We really enjoyed the variety of topics such as Scarecrows, Alpha Dogs, and F1 Marshalling. Thanks so much for the over generous comments. Hopefully, we will see you again, when next the racing circuit calls, Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What an absolute pleasure to stay somewhere that on the first occasion feels like your second home. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners went above and beyond. All I can say is a big thankyou and I will definitely be back for another dose of excellent service x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Jules, what can we say, but thank you! It was a pleasure to meet, welcome and chat with you, and we look forward to doing so again upon your return from your holiday!


Kind regards
Karen & Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Vulcan Lodge and once again we received excellent service and a friendly and warm welcome. We felt like we were part of the familiy and would not hesitate in recommending the place to friends and familiy. We will definitely stay again the next time we visit the UK and look forward to spending time again with Karen and Colin and of course their lovely pets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Greetings Both
Once again, we say thank you very much for giving us such a glowing report on TA, and we look forward to next year when hopefully you will be visiting Blighty again from Down Under!!

Thank you, warmest wishes frae all at VLGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Needing to book an overnight stay & a weeks parking near to Gatwick Airport , I was struck by the fabulous reviews of Vulcan Lodge Guest House .

Having stayed in numerous Airport Hotels over the years our main priority now when booking is to ensure our car is parked in the Hotel by us & not moved .

I don`t feel that to be an unreasonable request , especially having previously experienced on seperate occasions our car being driven / damaged & items stolen from the glove compartment whilst in the care of so called reputable establishments .

I rang the Vulcan & asked the question , could we stay & park without having to leave our car keys with the hotel .

The reply I received was (verbatim) ` With that level of trust I suggest you look for another Hotel to stay in `.

What a shame , I was not judging this mans Hotel or it`s practices , I was simply asking a straightforward question which deserved a straightforward reply but sadly I was met with plain rudeness .

Perhaps the owner has never heard the saying , it costs nothing to be polite .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank suejimandjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenMoon, Owner at Vulcan Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I was very sorry to read your review. I do not disagree with the your ‘verbatim’ quote, however, my response was given in a sympathetic voice as it was clear that you were embarrassed to make the request on behalf of your partner, whom you stated "Does not trust people with his car keys."

Vulcan Lodge is a small, happy, friendly, guest house that relies upon contented guests returning time and time again. Our holiday parking space is limited to just ten cars and, unlike some guest houses, we never take cars off the premises. Occasionally, we do have to move vehicles to allow access, and for this reason, and that of security (in case of fire, for example) we do ask that guests leaving their vehicles in our care, also to leave their car keys.

I do apologise for you finding my response to be unpalatable, but to be advised that you required us to be responsible for your car whilst you are away, but not your car keys, seems to me to be slightly out of balance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Cumberland House Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Villa Verde Gatwick
Villa Verde Gatwick
#8 of 30 in Horley
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Gatwick House
Gatwick House
#10 of 30 in Horley
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulcan Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Lodge Guest House

Address: 27 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vulcan Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for airport access, while within very easy walking distance (200 yards) of the town centre. The Lodge itself, is a charming period house that sits within one third of an acre of typically quaint English gardens, and gives the impression of being amidst the beautiful Surrey countryside. Established as a guest house for some twenty-five years, it is regarded as one of the premier establishments in the vicinity of Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vulcan Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Lodge Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing