We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great service, great people, great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lawn Guest House
Ranked #19 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2011

From the very start, give them a call when you arrive at Gatwick airport (there is a bus from Heathrow to Gatwick). They are very friendly and will personally pick you up. They are very friendly.

The place is cute and quaint. While I traveled with family, it would be a perfect place for couples. The rooms have everything you need: a nice bed, a TV, water boiler with instant tea and coffee, a nice bathroom, etc. Breakfast is big and delicious. They also offer wifi! The rooms come with a great (home-made) guide for exploring the area and restaurants---this thing is actually very well done and includes hours of operation, menus, directions, and more.

I can not stress how great the family is that runs The Lawn Guest House. They gave us any information we needed and were available any time we needed them.

Horely is a cute town itself and has plenty of little restaurants to go to at the end of a day. It is about a 40 minute ride to Victoria Station and the Traveler's Cards are not cheap. I found that it was still well worth it price-wise to stay at the hotel. Plus, the train ride is always a fun way to see and meet people.

I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for The Lawn Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

We often stay in B&B's and The Lawn Guest House is one we'll gladly stay in again. The room was comfortable and well appointed; the shower good and we slept well on good mattress. The owners take pride honouring the history of the house and its former occupants which added to our stay. Service was excellent. We needed to adjust our leaving time and this was accommodated with ease and without fuss, which was very much appreciated. Evidently The Lawn provides car parking for those patrons travelling from/to Gatwick which is a bonus & something to remember. The centre of Horley with its range of restuarants, supermarket etc is an easy & pleasant walk .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here three times during a 3 week trip around Europe due to its proximity to Gatwick airport. We are lucky, then, to have found such a warm, welcoming place. The family that owns and operates the Lawn are lovely people and manage a largish guest house extremely well. The family room is large. The prices are competitive. The location is very convenient for a number of sites of interest in southern England, and the breakfasts are great. Additionally, the Lawn provides a number of convenient services such as storage for luggage and autos for periods of time and will have a decent self-serve breakfast ready for you if you need to leave at an ungodly hour as we did. They also provide some car-for-hire services as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabbyjoe667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed at the Lawn for the night before flying out of Gatwick. The room was spacious with private bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities and WiFi - which worked well. We had breakfast prior to leaving in the morning - plenty of choice including juice, cereal and full english. Left our car for the week, so made use of the airport transfer - on our return we were met within 10mins of calling for pick-up. All in all very good value and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We've spent at The Lawn our one-week family holiday in a triple room No12. This cosy hotel with its british spirit is situated not far from the centre of tranquil town, close to the railway station. All the personnel were helpful and generally we had no problem staying there with the exeption of wifi internet connection which was out of order from time to time in our room. While looking for another accommodation to stay in I found that The Lawn prices were quite fair.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gennadiy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Service was average. We were in room one. The room was clean and nicely decorated, but the toilet did not flush very well. There was some noise in early to mid-evening. There were extra charges for any personal care products and for transportation to the airport. Breakfast was a bit below average. Wifi reception was poor. There was a guide to restaurants, shops, airlines and car rentals in the room but the phone numbers were completely outdated. There was confusing information in the guide, as to whether one was supposed to consume takeaway in the room or in the breakfast room which was locked.
The location is excellent for walking to restaurants, pubs and shops as well as the railway station for a trip into London. Very close to the airport but there was not any noise from planes overhead. We would choose one of the other lodgings located on the street before returning here.

Room Tip: The turret room is bright and pleasant.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawnGuestHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for writing a review following your stay here at The Lawn Guest House. I have taken the time to look at the toilet flush but all seems well. Wifi reception depends on the wifi card you have in your laptop, if you have the latest N type wireless card the signal will be better and obviously for older machines the signal may not be so great. I have the latest Draytek N type wireless router here which generally provides good reception throughout the house.
I am also going to take the time to relook at the information folder we have in the rooms and update anything that is out of date.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review because it will help me improve my service to you for next time and as this is my livelihood I take every review/comment seriously.
Regards
Quasim Suhail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The Lawn is good value for the money and conveniently located for Gatwick and the train into London. Along with many other guest houses in Horley, it seems mostly used for one night stays by air travelers. The rooms are a little small for long stays such as ours but it is doubtful you will get much better with such a convenient location. The Lawn website uses words like elegant, wonderful, intriguing, sparkling bathrooms and more which are gross exaggerations. Though generally clean (I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on that count), the bathroom did have unavoidable mold in places (including black mold on the upper level toilet tank), there was a heavy coating of dust and fuzz on the fan grating, and a thick layer of dust covered the top of the heater located above the bathroom door. In other words, not sparkling as the website suggests. Television and wi-fi service was very good. Breakfast was good though basic. Although the website says that courtesy transfers are only available after 9:00 AM (ostensibly because the owner is busy serving breakfast), it suddenly becomes available at extra cost when you request that a taxi be booked. The owner was certainly friendly and cordial but was always so busy that there was no opportunity for a good host / guest relationship which we have come to expect in other B&Bs that we have stayed in. Ditto for guests who are not encouraged to interact in the breakfast room. Some people have complained about noise. We stayed right next to the main stairs and only experienced that problem a couple of nights when inconsiderate guests talked loudly or allowed their children to run wild in the hall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley
The Lawn Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing