We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lawn Guest House
Ranked #19 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had stayed here about 3 years ago and we were very impressed as it was so close to Gatwick.We booked online as we were leaving from Gatwick for our holiday but as the B&b was full we were put in a room with a small and narrow double bed and the owner admitted the next morning she only uses the room for singles.We left feeling rather tired as we wernt very comfortable . The breakfast was very basic and we were left on our own to find things, It would be nice if nice fresh friut of the season was available and yoghurt as we dont like eggs but love a banana and a nice cup of fresh filter coffee from a machine, it sets you up for the day. it would be nice if the owners were around in case you need anything as i had to ask for milk for the coffee , it should be checked by the owners.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet , on the small side , the beds are VERY BASIC, it would be nice to have nice du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review, a refreshing change of style and a constructive criticism written with care and feeling.
Room 4 is a small Double en suite room but fine for a convenient stop over, still with enough space for large cases also.
Double bed is the standard 5' 4'' UK size bed, if you felt that this would have been uncomfortable then a Twin room may have been a better option with 2 single beds. Most of our rooms are not large enough for a King size bed but I am looking into having a couple of rooms with a king size bed.
In terms of breakfast, buffet is set out for helping yourself and I do normally say to help yourself but will ensure my wife also mentions this in future.

Room 4's bathroom is being refitted next Monday 4th November, please see my facebook page for updates.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future and will be pleased to show you some of the improvements being done this winter.

With best intentions,

Quasim Suhail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had stayed here quite a few years ago. The Lawn is under new management,but we had an excellent night and very good breakfast before we left for Gatwick. The other advantage is you can park your car there whilst you are away. Everyone very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA-PWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just completed our third stay at The Lawn. This is a great bargain when flying to/from Gatwick. They will transport you to and from Gatwick (except when they are serving breakfast) for no added cost. It gives you a chance to get in and not worry about adjusting to the time change when you hop into a rental car. Our cost was only £60 per night for two people. Continental breakfast is included, and a full English breakfast is available for only £5 more. If you don't want a full breakfast, you don't pay for it.

It is less than a 10 minute walk to the rail station for an easy day trip to London, Brighton, or elsewhere.

The Suhail family is very helpful throughout your stay.

It may not be the fanciest B&B, but it makes for a great stay! We will be back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed overnight and had a good evening as well as a good morning stroll in Horley. The hotel is close to Gatwick AP. It took us only some 8 mins and 9 pounds by taxi. We had already told the manager about our late arrival. We were greeted very well and got a nice and clean room. The short distance to the "old six bells" allegedly Englands oldest pub made an extra plus for that evening. After a good nights sleep we had a fairly good continental breakfast and a short days stroll in Horley only 2 minutes away and with plenty of pubs and restaurants. I could see several alternatives around but this was our choice and I really don't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddgeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed overnight before an early flight out of LGW airport. Room very nice and clean - but no door on shower and washbasin part of bathroom - no privacy. NO HEATING on at all - hence extremely cold - did not thaw out until arrived in Rome! When queried whether heating had broken down was told should have asked for a heater - no one around when we arrived back at 10.30.p.m. Breakfast very medeocre - cheap cereals and bread - no butter (had run out) Full English extra £5.00 Felt very sorry for an American couple who had stayed all week and lost their luggage - they had to go to some local charity shops and buy coat and jumpers to wear to try and keep warm.
Overall there is room for improvement - great location, lovely house but need to improve breakfast and provide heating, (agree with another guest who could hear child crying - but as a parent myself understand they cannot be angels all the time!)

Room Tip: If cold - ask for a warm room and a door on the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pensioners2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We have been travelling UK and Europe and this was the only place we stayed that we did not like.. Had to carry all of our luggage, and there was alot, up to the attic room, no help from owners.. Breakfast was within a one hour timeframe, think breakfast should be available for a couple of hours to suit guests, not the owners.. Needed to leave to airport at 8.30 am , no shuttle available until 9.00..
Rooms were very small but clean. Wouldnt be on my top list of recommendations for anyone..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent one night here enroute to Italy. The guesthouse is 5 mins by taxi from Gatwick (about GPB7 - 9) and 2 mins walk to Horley town centre where there are plenty of restaurants and a couple of pubs.

We had a couple of hours to kill on the afternoon of our arrival so after a walk around the town, we jumped on a local bus and went for a "tour" of the surrounding area.

When we arrived we were met by an older gentleman (who turned out to be the proprietor's grandfather) who gave us our key and directed us to our upstairs room. We certainly didn't expect him to help us with our luggage.

The ensuite room was fine with everything you would expect - including free WiFi.

When we later met the couple who run the place they were both very pleasant and happily booked a taxi for us for our departure the next morning.

Breakfast was fine - we knew our rate (through WOTIF) included Continental breakfast and were happy serving ourselves the next morning.

We cannot fault the Lawn Guesthouse it was exactly what we expected for the rate we paid and suited us perfectly as a convenient place to drop off our rental car at Gatwick before flying out the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiesLuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,285 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Verde Gatwick
Villa Verde Gatwick
#9 of 30 in Horley
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.4 mi away
Flexistay Ambers Gatwick Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley
The Lawn Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing