We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lawn Guest House
Ranked #19 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Scotland
1 review
“Excellent, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at the lawn prior to an early flight from Gatwick. We arrived around 6pm by car and was welcomed by the owner Quasim who was very charming and welcoming. He showed us to our room and even offered to carry our bags up for us which was very kind of him. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We was in one of the newly decorated rooms at the top of the house which look absolutely fantastic. Quasim surly has spent a lot of time and effort on these newly decorated rooms. Everything you need is there even a hot water bottle is supplied which you won't even find in the premier inn. Breakfast in the morning was cooked and served by Quasim himself which was lovely and crispy and we was also offered a free shuttle ride to the airport by Quasim's mum who was very bubbly and friendly. I strongly recommend this place if you guys are traveling from Gatwick, I definitely will be returning again next year :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-S786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    84
    42
    29
    21
See reviews for
75
121
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked this for an overnight stay as we were working in the area and it was the only one available. (Now I know why)
I booked directly with the Guest House online and got my confirmation by email.
Upon arrival we could park the Van in the car park as there was plenty of space and this was the only reason for the one star.
Approaching the Front door it was 'locked' so had to ring the intercom to which i got the reply 'yes? from the lady on the other end.
I replied 'I have a reservation'
She replied Come in push door,
Upon entering the reception ( a small room with a sofa and desk with a computer on which was the guest internet computer.) and smelling really musty and stale an asian lady appeared with a baby on the hip and a typists pad, she showed me the pad which had a list of names on it and said which one is you ?
My name was not on it,
Wait here she replied and disappeared..
With that this guy came in the front door with some other guests which i assume he had just collected from the airport and said to them wait here !
There was now 5 of us in this tiny room and 4-5 suitcases.
He asked me, Have you booked ?
Yes I replied,
He said Show me your confirmation !
He looked at it and replied wait here and also dissappeared.
After about 15 mins he returned and gave me a key to room 12 and said its upstairs.
He then asked, Do you want breakfast ?
I replied, well yes its inclusive !,
He replied, Only continental, if you want cooked its £5,
So i said continental will do.
We made our way to our room No 11 on the top floor.
When we got in the room and had a normal inspection for clean sheets and towels we found the beds were old and the linen was a bit worn but it was clean.
So firstly we wanted a brew but this was not possible as the cups werent washed properly so decided to give it a miss.
I looked through the information folder for details on what was available locally but this was 3 years out of date so i decided to have a look online on my tablet as there was free wifi but this was pointless as the signal kept dropping off.
We walked about 4-5 mins and found a couple of pubs.
Next morning we went to the breakfast room for a fresh coffee and some toast.
There was a welsh dresser with containers of cereal which were really dirty so you wouldnt want that, The coffee was llike vending machine cups and was awful.
We had a couple of rounds of toast and decided enough was enough and we will go to mcdonalds for a coffee.
There was nobody around during breakfast or for check out so we just left the key and drove off.
Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else !!!

Room Tip: The room you want is in another establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hello,
Your reservation came in through Laterooms half hour prior to your arrival, car park was empty as you arrived at 5pm, but had you noticed again it was full by 8pm and although i wasnt fully booked that night I only had the one room left. So your perception of not being busy because the car park isnt full is rather amusing. And we are rated 4 star establishment not a 1 star!
I was collecting guests from the airport, my wife was manning the fort whilst I was away which is when you came in.

Regards
Quasim Suhail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our stay was October 27 2014. We were a party of 4 adults.The house is quaint and room is clean. We arrived the day of the reported severe storm so asked the owner if we could walk to the airport from there to check on flight delays. His response was "if you are suicidal"! No further elaboration until we asked what he meant by that which was very busy highway and no walkways. We asked for an 8am shuttle but as they don't start until 9am from the house we would have to take a Taxi for 7 pounds. We asked that he order us one for the morning. We asked for a map of the area and were told they ran out of them. We asked what there was to do in this area and were told go out the house and turn left. No further info than that was given so we asked again and he said go out and turn left. We found the owner to be abrupt with his answers and was either distracted or too busy doing other things to deal with us. The continental breakfast was a selection of dry cereal and toast. We have stayed at several B&B's in North America and found this to be less than adequate. When 8am arrived we asked about our taxi and were told the shuttle was waiting for us. Happily we hopped in for the 1.6 km ride to the airport and as we were unloading our luggage were told that the trip cost us 10 pounds. This caught us unaware as it is advertised as free shuttle. Our plane was delayed 2 hours because of the storm.
Would I recommend this B&B? Only if you are not expecting much. There were several B&B's along that street so other options for that location are available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had stayed here about 3 years ago and we were very impressed as it was so close to Gatwick.We booked online as we were leaving from Gatwick for our holiday but as the B&b was full we were put in a room with a small and narrow double bed and the owner admitted the next morning she only uses the room for singles.We left feeling rather tired as we wernt very comfortable . The breakfast was very basic and we were left on our own to find things, It would be nice if nice fresh friut of the season was available and yoghurt as we dont like eggs but love a banana and a nice cup of fresh filter coffee from a machine, it sets you up for the day. it would be nice if the owners were around in case you need anything as i had to ask for milk for the coffee , it should be checked by the owners.

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet , on the small side , the beds are VERY BASIC, it would be nice to have nice du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLawnGuestHouse, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review, a refreshing change of style and a constructive criticism written with care and feeling.
Room 4 is a small Double en suite room but fine for a convenient stop over, still with enough space for large cases also.
Double bed is the standard 5' 4'' UK size bed, if you felt that this would have been uncomfortable then a Twin room may have been a better option with 2 single beds. Most of our rooms are not large enough for a King size bed but I am looking into having a couple of rooms with a king size bed.
In terms of breakfast, buffet is set out for helping yourself and I do normally say to help yourself but will ensure my wife also mentions this in future.

Room 4's bathroom is being refitted next Monday 4th November, please see my facebook page for updates.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future and will be pleased to show you some of the improvements being done this winter.

With best intentions,

Quasim Suhail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had stayed here quite a few years ago. The Lawn is under new management,but we had an excellent night and very good breakfast before we left for Gatwick. The other advantage is you can park your car there whilst you are away. Everyone very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AA-PWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Sox Nation
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just completed our third stay at The Lawn. This is a great bargain when flying to/from Gatwick. They will transport you to and from Gatwick (except when they are serving breakfast) for no added cost. It gives you a chance to get in and not worry about adjusting to the time change when you hop into a rental car. Our cost was only £60 per night for two people. Continental breakfast is included, and a full English breakfast is available for only £5 more. If you don't want a full breakfast, you don't pay for it.

It is less than a 10 minute walk to the rail station for an easy day trip to London, Brighton, or elsewhere.

The Suhail family is very helpful throughout your stay.

It may not be the fanciest B&B, but it makes for a great stay! We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed overnight and had a good evening as well as a good morning stroll in Horley. The hotel is close to Gatwick AP. It took us only some 8 mins and 9 pounds by taxi. We had already told the manager about our late arrival. We were greeted very well and got a nice and clean room. The short distance to the "old six bells" allegedly Englands oldest pub made an extra plus for that evening. After a good nights sleep we had a fairly good continental breakfast and a short days stroll in Horley only 2 minutes away and with plenty of pubs and restaurants. I could see several alternatives around but this was our choice and I really don't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oddgeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Property: The Lawn Guest House
Address: 30 Massetts Road | Horley Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Hotel Horley
The Lawn Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing