We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe just a bad day”
Review of Greyhound

Greyhound
Ranked #91 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Maybe just a bad day”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went on a Sunday night had a big plate meal with 14 chips on the plate asked waitress if that is a full portion she said it was spoke to the landlady that was not on duty and she arranged for more chips for our table service was poor tables dirty and good not at all good.. Been a lot of times before snd it's been ok good value for money, but won't be going back anytime soon

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    22
    14
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“do not go here!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

pub is very run down and dirty, staff are rude and basically finish there conversation before serving you. tables dirty and most had dirty plates and glasses on but all staff stood at bar talking not doing there jobs. food came out was basically cold and tasteless. manager Maria was very unhelpful about it but apologized however offered no compensation. We thought we would have a drink so sat at bar with locals who had very bad things to say about the staff and the way its been run since management changing. also when the manager maria went upstairs which she seemed to do alot the bar staff then slagged her off to the locals at the bar.... what is that all about..? she then popped out for a while and brang 2 boys back which must be her children who then ran around pub behind the bar and sat at bar followed by more kids which made it so noisy and like a kids creche that we decided to leave. CRAP FOOD, CRAP SERVICE, CRAP MANAGER JUST AVOID!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Waited at bar for 5 minutes for drinks. Two ladies stood by the till having a social chat. No acknowledgement made of our arrival despite seeing us stood at the bar waiting. Very large menu offering, food was basic and not particularly tasty. Wouldn't consider returning or recommending.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLYON10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Terrible service. Three strikes, you're out im afraid!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Have been here quite a few times & keep striking it off our list of places to visit, leaving it 6 months & then going back hoping for some improvement. Food reasonable, but we were served up our sharing starter (some of which was covered in dressing & had a chilli sauce on it) without any cutlery, plates or napkins. When we asked for napkins we were told they didn't have any but we could have some loo roll. My youngest daughters kids meal was left over turkey from Christmas & not the Chicken as advertised & she didn't eat anything much. We weren't even given basics such as steak knives with steak dinners or tartare sauce with fish & our peas were nasty cheap tinned ones which were cold but overcooked. This place has the makings of a little goldmine, all it needs is a lot more attention to detail. Pity!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsnfirestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good quality and value”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We visited the Greyhound on a Sunday whilst staying at a hotel close to Gatwick Airport prior to our holiday flight.
The staff, service,and food were very good and so conveniently placed for the Gatwick Airport hotel, just a 5 minute drive.
Just what you need to start off your holiday with no stress.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsmith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyhound also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing