We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch with reservations. Other reviewers warned of this”
Review of Gainsborough Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainsborough Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bait and switch with reservations. Other reviewers warned of this”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Reservations were made months in advance, but were informed on our way from the airport in the shuttle that their boiler was broken and we had to stay at the proprieter's brother's B&B, The Gatwick White House Inn. What a disappointment! There were earlier Trip Advisor reviews that shared similar stories. Who knows if their accomodations are that unreliable, or if they habitually over-book and send the late arrivals to the brother's place?

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank TosaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    63
    19
    58
See reviews for
28
71
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel was clean and tidy the food very good real fruit juce for breakfast...
not greasy Shower very good,room are very good. staff very good Helpful.
very close to areport ....and parking is free value for price ..
and im goin to stay there again.......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macin2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Under no circumstances stay here.

It's dirty, smelly, owners are rude and the food is disgusting.

There are lots of other places to stay in the area, just look at the list for Horley. This is at the bottom of about 14 and for a good reason - it's dire!

I wanted to give it 0 out of 5 but Trip Avisor doens't give you that option. 1 out of 5 is over-rating it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hazycosmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Found Gainsborough Lodge in the late 1990's, and stayed there our last nights in the UK on SIX previous holidays, when Graham and Rosina were the innkeepers. Back then, the place was always very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, well organized. ALL THAT HAS CHANGED! Graham and Rosina have apparently sold out and moved on, and the new owners are TERRIBLE! En-suite room was filthy. Bed linens disgusting, holes in the ceiling, grimy curtains. At breakfast the milk was sour, and staff acted like it was the guests' fault that the milk had turned, and we should just tough it out. Had to pay for a shuttle ride to the airport, since we needed to check in at Gatwick 30 minutes before the start of the free shuttle runs. NEVER AGAIN. We will NOT be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PeteFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajapalayam, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hotel is near to Gatwick airport. They provide shuttle service to and from airport for which I chosed this hotel. Room is too small and bathroom/wc is the smallest I could see on the world. I wonder how they managed to provide a shower and wc in 2x3 feet area. There was no door for the wc/shower. Can you imagine a hotel without doors to the washroom? Limited breakfast (full english). If you are on a transit from Gatwick airport, this hotel can be recommended. If you want to spend more than 1 night, this may not be the right choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volcanoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Dirty unsafe

Blocked fire exits

Mouldy bathrooms

Tv did not work

Curtains did not close

Bathroom stank of stale urine

Desperately needed new toilet seat

Shower enclosure impossible to close once your stood in it

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wagondragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

On arrival only interested on payment before showing you the room...I was a female travelling alone and was left to carry my cases to the top floor without an offer of help...I can manage myself but an offer would of been courteous..
Room was damp smelling, curtains would not shut, shower caked in limescale so did not work properly, tv did not work, fire exit in room had a wardrobe infront of it and blocking it, bathroom smelt of stale urine, smelt like a gents toilet, bedding old and full of holes.
No staff there overnight made for a very unsafe feeling.
£50 fine for eating in room.
Front desk constantly unmanned.
Ironing board in corridor unsafe and iron leaked.
Would really like my money back...I felt filthy after staying there..

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wagondragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough Lodge

Property: Gainsborough Lodge
Address: 39 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Horley
Gainsborough Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing