We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again”
Review of Gainsborough Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gainsborough Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Have stayed at this hotel on two previous occasions and had been very satisfied but having stayed there recently would never go back! The hotel has changed hands and not for the better. The bathroom was awful, scalding hot and very noisy shower, mouldy walls with paper peeling off. Had to pay for the shuttle to the airport at 6.30am. When we arrived back from our trip and phoned to be picked up at 8.am we were told the bus didn't start until 9.am so ended up paying for a taxi to take us. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank anonNewportUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Reservations were made months in advance, but were informed on our way from the airport in the shuttle that their boiler was broken and we had to stay at the proprieter's brother's B&B, The Gatwick White House Inn. What a disappointment! There were earlier Trip Advisor reviews that shared similar stories. Who knows if their accomodations are that unreliable, or if they habitually over-book and send the late arrivals to the brother's place?

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
10  Thank TosaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel was clean and tidy the food very good real fruit juce for breakfast...
not greasy Shower very good,room are very good. staff very good Helpful.
very close to areport ....and parking is free value for price ..
and im goin to stay there again.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macin2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Under no circumstances stay here.

It's dirty, smelly, owners are rude and the food is disgusting.

There are lots of other places to stay in the area, just look at the list for Horley. This is at the bottom of about 14 and for a good reason - it's dire!

I wanted to give it 0 out of 5 but Trip Avisor doens't give you that option. 1 out of 5 is over-rating it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank hazycosmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Found Gainsborough Lodge in the late 1990's, and stayed there our last nights in the UK on SIX previous holidays, when Graham and Rosina were the innkeepers. Back then, the place was always very clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, well organized. ALL THAT HAS CHANGED! Graham and Rosina have apparently sold out and moved on, and the new owners are TERRIBLE! En-suite room was filthy. Bed linens disgusting, holes in the ceiling, grimy curtains. At breakfast the milk was sour, and staff acted like it was the guests' fault that the milk had turned, and we should just tough it out. Had to pay for a shuttle ride to the airport, since we needed to check in at Gatwick 30 minutes before the start of the free shuttle runs. NEVER AGAIN. We will NOT be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PeteFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hotel is near to Gatwick airport. They provide shuttle service to and from airport for which I chosed this hotel. Room is too small and bathroom/wc is the smallest I could see on the world. I wonder how they managed to provide a shower and wc in 2x3 feet area. There was no door for the wc/shower. Can you imagine a hotel without doors to the washroom? Limited breakfast (full english). If you are on a transit from Gatwick airport, this hotel can be recommended. If you want to spend more than 1 night, this may not be the right choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volcanoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Dirty unsafe

Blocked fire exits

Mouldy bathrooms

Tv did not work

Curtains did not close

Bathroom stank of stale urine

Desperately needed new toilet seat

Shower enclosure impossible to close once your stood in it

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wagondragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough Lodge

Address: 39 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £36 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Gainsborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Horley
Gainsborough Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing