We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if flying early out of Gatwick”
Review of Gainsborough Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gainsborough Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone flying out of Gatwick. Its only a 6 pound taxi ride from the hotel (or 5 pounds if you arrange the transfer with the hotel directly). Its a ten minute walk from Horley station or 4.50 for a taxi. The rooms are simple but clean and fully furnished, including a full length mirror, and tea/coffee facilities. The shower was really excellent, great pressure and easy to control temperature. The heating was good in the room, and it was really pretty quiet - a little traffic noise. It basically had everything I needed for somewhere to stay, for an absolutely reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having read earlier review I was little concern about staying but found staff to be really friendly & helpful. The linen was clean + fresh and the room had been newly redecorated. Easy walking distance to town center, would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macin2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is located about 15 minutes from Gatwick airport so it is very convenient for transit passengers who just need a place to get some sleep and take a shower.
We asked for the code to access the internet and we were told that the wifi is only available in the lounge. We told the staff that their ad shows internet is available in the rooms so he chose a room for us where the signal is strong and that is directly above the lounge.
There was TV but the remote was not working.
We were asked I we like to have breakfast the following day at £6.00 each and since we arrived at 9:00pm, we agreed to have it. However, when we went down to take our breakfast, the staff said that there was nothing for us since we did not pay for it the night before. Problem is that nobody had told us that breakfast should be paid in advance.

Room Tip: If you need to access the internet, ask to be located in a room where the wifi signal is strong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maverick_meru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is an OK place. It is spartan, but acceptable. There was a bit of traffic noise from a side-street, but nothing untoward. The staff were friendly. WiFi was available, but reliable only in the lounge, rather than the rooms. At least it was available and free. :-) There was no remote for the TV, but that is a small matter. There was a smell in the room, which the receptionist preemptively suggested was "new carpet" smell...I think it was something less desirable. In any event, it was not a strong smell, so its source is immaterial. Having an ensuite bathroom for a low price make it a fine value. I would stay again, although if it were fully-booked and I had to stay somewhere else I would not be heart-broken.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_S_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Unfortunately my girlfriend booked this as a stopover for our family prior to an early morning flight .....all of us were disgusted,DONT BOTHER,there cant be worse places to stay..can there?what a dump and I will emphasise.. A DIRTY SMELLY DUMP run by people who dont give a f@@@.If they think this is a good standard of "hotel"in thier country then I wouldnt want to stay or visit there,im a seasoned traveller and have stayed in hostels in China at 67p yes 67p per night and this place doesnt come anywhere near that standard! YOU have been warned!Also we were very hungry when we arrived and they took us to a local Indian resteraunt called the white lodge(think it was owned by the same family)....DO NOT TOUCH THIS PLACE EITHER! what a disgusting load of c@@p,SAVE your money,listen to what most of the reviews are saying and DONT go near it

Room Tip: there are NO good rooms they are ALL rubbish
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
15  Thank kalohtaxeethee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have been staying at the Gainsborough on and off for 8 years sometimes twice a year and have watched it go downhill especially over the last 3-4 years.
Last year was the final straw, the room was dirty and smelt of damp but what made us so mad was the fact that we booked a continental breakfast as we had an early morning flight, well the coffee was cold and the water for the tea luke warm then there was No milk so cereal was out, ok we thought we'll have toast, made that (yes there was bread (but NO BUTTER!!!) I searched all the cupboards no joy. THE FRIDGE WAS FULL OF WORKMENS LUNCH BOXES so no room for anything in there not even a yoghurt!!!! I phoned the duty whoever who wasn't interested and I assume just turned over and went back to sleep.

We are now looking for another B&B in Horley as we will never go back to the gainsborough. If anyone knows of a decent one please let me know.

Room Tip: Do not go to the Gainsborough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank carrottan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed at this place for 5 nights and it was my worst nightmare. The staff were very rude and the owner very obnoxious. I was in the customer living room watching TV and his small child came in and swtiched the TV over and made alot of noise.

Room was smelly and toilet smelt of urine, the toilet was the smallest I had ever seen it was barely shoulder width.

The cleaner did not clean the room peroperly and left one of the beds unmade.

The kitchen shoould have afood inspection as there were dished lying everwhere dirty amonst the garbage and the dirty cooker.

Only good point was the location and it was cheap.

Would never stay here again and the place should be withdrawn from all booking websites.

Try it at your peril.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.2 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough Lodge

Address: 39 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £36 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Gainsborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Horley
Gainsborough Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing