We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute choice ( e. stevens)”
Review of Gainsborough Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainsborough Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“last minute choice ( e. stevens)”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

needed reasonably priced accomodation for last minute stopover for the airport ,didnt arrive till after midnight ,staff couldnt have been any more helpful or friendly,place spotlessly clean & more than met my expectations,didnt want to buy the place only stop for the night,would certainly use again & reccomend to others

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erneststevens764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    63
    19
    58
See reviews for
28
71
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I'm staying in this hotel several days per month and I find it very confortable, with a very kind and friendly staff. The place is very well positioned, very close to the railway station (5 min walk away), very close to the town centre where every kind of shops or restaurants are easily accessible (5 min walk away again). Lori - Italy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I cant believe how many hypocritical reviews there are on here. The first time i was here it was bad. Yes the place is tired but they are making a great effort now, Rome wast built in a day.

I've been staying at the lodge for a few nights a week for several months while on business in the area. The staff are nice and friendly. Its got easy access, Breakfast is great and always on time. Ask a question and you get an honest truthful answer.

They've recently started to replace the old TV's with Freeview LCD TV's and decorate. Value for money has to be 10/10. If you want all the mod cons go stay somewhere else.

The big brands around here all charge over £100 night, out of my budget and most peoples which is why I've stayed in many of the B&B's in Massett's Road over the last year and this has to be the one that gives me best value.

After all I'm only after a bed for the night. People complain about the noise at night from other guests that are getting up at god knows what time, HEY they do that at all of the hotels & B&B's in the area, this one is no different most people are flying.

Never had dirty sheets in all the time I've been there but every place has its problems. I stayed in a top hotel recently and the curtain pole fell down on me, stuff happens.

Some great restaurants in the town, pubs, Chinese, Indian, Italian, Spanish all within a 5 minute walk to the town centre

15 minute walk to Gatwick Airport(but not with a suitcase) 5 minute walk to the train station, easy place to reach by car.

Thoroughly recommended and no they haven't paid me to write this but perhaps i should ask!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The B&B is near Gatwick airport and horley train station can be reached in ten minutes on foot. I'd like to thank all the staff for the nice service. Special thanks to the guy who served breakfast: he was very polite, helpful and fiendly..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Horrible place - room was old, smelly, furniture falling apart - blankets were old - looked like they needed a good wash - but probably would have fallen apart. Dirty linens were piled outside our window in bags - we requested wake up call for early departure - never received it. We were told there would be breakfast (which we paid for) before we left on the scheduled shuttle to the airport - nothing was prepared, no one was there at reception and the only thing in the dining room were a couple of apples - no tea, no coffee, zilch. Oh, the ensuite bathroom was a joke - looked like the place was falling apart - grouting and tiles were too old and worn to have been taken care of for many years.

Did not feel safe here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Retireecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I booked a room at this guest house before reading any customer reviews. When I then read the reviews I was horrified and thought about cancelling my booking. I am glad I didnt. I booked a single room with breakfast. The room was fine. I was given a double room. The bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Certainly the paint work could do with improving and the furniture dated but this does not affect the quality of a stay in a bed and breakfast hostelry. hHe staff were friendly, helpful and effficient. I had a cooked breakfast which was fine (when staying again I would ask that they improve the quality of the sausage). If that is the biggest complaint I can come up with this is a good example of a British bed and breakfast. I hope that the owners take heart from a good report because they deserve to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The place is ok. I stopped over for one night to get my flight the next day. The place is a bit tired, but clean, I slept well which was all I needed. A help yourself continental breakfast was fine. I phoned from the airport and was picked up within 10 mins, and taken back the next day, this cost £5 each trip..If I needed to stay again I would have no problem with it..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abigailCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,214 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough Lodge

Property: Gainsborough Lodge
Address: 39 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Horley
Gainsborough Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing