We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - for one night”
Review of Gainsborough Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gainsborough Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Coventry, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Value for money - for one night”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at the Gainsborough Lodge for one night in July. I had a very early morning flight from Gatwick Airport the following day so needed somewhere to stay the night before that wasn't too far away,

The Gainsborough was just the job for this, My single room with shower for £38 (including £4 parking) for one night was fairly reasonable I thought, The room was basic, small and clean, but this was all I needed. The room had tea/coffee/kettle/etc in the room which was pretty good for a £38/night hotel. I didn't stay for breakfast due to my early morning flight so can't comment on that. The Gainsborough is only a few minutes drive from Gatwick Airport which was why I chose to stay here which was perfect for my early morning start on the following day,

Should also mention that the Gainsborough is only a few minutes walk from Horley town centre where there are a few pubs, etc where you can get a drink/bite to eat.

Would I stay here again? Possibly, although I might also look at other establishments in the area next time just to check out what they are like, costs and so on but I wouldn't have any issues staying at the Gainsborough again as its value for money for one night.

Room Tip: Parking is limited so make sure you reserve your parking space at the time you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    63
    19
    59
See reviews for
28
72
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This place is truly just one step away from being a dosshouse; smelly, noisy, scruffy and somewhat how I imagine a Seventies B&B catering for asylum seekers. I only stayed because it was late, I was tired and due to fly early the next morning. The bathroom was outrageously poor with cracked and dirty grout, ineptly repaired fixtures and fittings and a surplus of badly applied mastic everywhere. I can't believe that this place has ever been properly inspected and would definitely avoid it in future, £4 for parking? What the hell...? Vote with your feet, gentle reader...

Room Tip: Sleep in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Don't be put off by bad reviews here. I am quite a fussy wotsit and I found it perfectly acceptable for an overnight stop at the airport.
I arrived at 1am and was soon checked in and helped with my case. Excellent!!
The room, whilst a little dated was clean, comfortable and quiet. Good dark curtains for sleep quality.
Nice hot shower and plenty of clean soft towels. Tea & coffee tray, I asked if I could have a mug for my tea and it was happily provided. Flat screen TV with the usual channels.
I paid an extra £5.00 for breakfast and it was very good with real tasty sausages. As much cereal, toast, juice as you wanted. Great value.
Paid the £5.00 for a transfer (cheaper than a taxi if you are solo) and was duly taken to the airport.
Many thanks to the staff for a good overnight stopover and great service.
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notforturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I used to stay here regularly until around five years ago when I discovered another guest house up the road. I made the decision to make a return solo visit since The Gainsborough is much cheaper for single rooms. I'd always found it to be basic but acceptable so I'm glad I didn't read the negative reviews here. I can only assume that this place has gone through a bad patch and is now much improved. The bad reviews seem to stop in November 2012.

I found it to be better than I remembered. Clean, reasonably quiet, comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. For many customers catching an early flight, breakfast doesn't start early enough. But for those who take it, at £3 it can't really be faulted.

I paid £38 for one night with parking. Excellent value for money.

I didn't take a transfer as I was not flying. But when I used to stay here regularly I always used a taxi anyway. Horley railway station is only a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have stayed at Gainsborough Lodge twice in the last 2 months when in the area on business, on both occassions for just 1 night. The hotel is very close to Gatwick Airport, and so the cost is competitive. The rooms are clean, but basic.
The breakfast is of a good standard, and the man who cooks and serves it deserves special recognition as he is both polite & friendly.
On my first visit, I was charged a £4 supplement for car parking (what?) but was told this was because I had booked through an agent (Laterooms) and if I had booked directly with the hotel, this would not apply. So, on my second stay I did just that - hey presto, no parking charge.
To sum up, with this hotel you get what you pay for. I am happy to book again for a 1 night stay.
If you want a better standard of hotel, then be prepared to pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked this B&B from their website while we were waiting in Barcelona for our plane to London. We arrived and the hotel owner was out picking up quests from the airport. So we left our bag and proceeded to the train station to go into London for the evening. It is very convenient to both the airport and the Horley Train Station. When we got back to the hotel, he was gone again to the airport to pick up guests. We waited for about 10 minutes in the small lobby. Our bag hadn't been taken to our room and was sitting unsecured behind the counter. When he arrived, he notified me the room he had put me in didn't have internet. The website made no mention of certain rooms having wifi and others not. He was kind enough to move to another room and was very pleasant to us. We walked up a flight of cramped stairs to the room. We opened the door and I almost cried. It was the smallest room (and we are familiar with the size of European rooms) we had ever seen. There was black mold around the ceiling. The room had an unpleasant odor. No shampoo or toiletries of any kind. The floor and bed squeaked every time we moved or walked. The next morning we got up and were offered complimentary coffee and/or tea, which we declined and had him call us a taxi. The hotel offers shuttle service, but we wanted to leave before his first shuttle so he called us a taxi. I guess it was ok for the price, but the mold and squeaky floor and mattress made for a restless night.

Room Tip: spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbtoys928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for one night before our flight. The staff and Rasheed (I'm getting old, I'm nearly five!) were so welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast cooked to order and a taxi service is available. We were so well catered for that this will now be our hotel of choice if we should fly from Gatwick in the future. Thanks Mr. Patel and Staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough Lodge

Property: Gainsborough Lodge
Address: 39 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Horley
Gainsborough Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing