We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Gainsborough Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainsborough Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
inverness
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed 26 January 2009

I booked this by phone with late rooms and was suprised at how cheap it was, so i was a bit worried before i arrived. I phoned the hotel and they provided a free pickup from Gatwick which was unexpected. when i got to the hotel the man seeing i was a woman on my own upgraded my room to ensuite at no extra charge. i was in room 3 which was fresh, clean and very pleasant. i didnt book breakfast but it was offered and the eating area looked large and clean. although i was too early for the free bus back to gatwick the next morning i did take the offer of a bus for £5, which i thought was quite acceptable. the man on the reception in the evening and the other man in the morning were both friendly and helpful without being overbearing. I will definately use this hotel again.

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    63
    19
    58
See reviews for
28
71
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

A group of 4 we needed a stopover between Gatwick flights. The Gainsborough proved to be an excellent choice. Free airport shuttle, clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast with plenty fruit as well as the usual cooked fare. Staff very pleasant and helpful. All for £20pp! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Great value and service and close to the airport.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Good location with complimentary shuttle to and from Gatwick airport. On arrival we asked the lady on the desk where we could eat an evening meal. We selected the local pub (Ye Olde Six Bells) from the choices given. Had a terrific meal and a couple of drinks there.
Enjoyed a restful overnight sleep in double ensuite room, in the annex area ....and a hearty breakfast. Nice to have some choices again for breakfast!

  • Liked — The hearty breakfast menu ......and Gatwick shuttle service
  • Disliked — Cramped en suite
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

not long back stayed 3 days it is very dull the hotel needs lots of work the staff were not friendly there is a free taxi which i never got to use because of times the twin room i booked was in need of a make over the bathroom had a broken toilet seat and the outlet pipe was leaking so every time i flush water come out .
when i checked in they wanted money up front without seeing room every time i went down to the desk there was never anyone about the tea was cold and you had to help youre self to breakfast ,the cooked breakfast wanst much.
i wouldnt go there again
but horley it self it great its handie for buses and trains and near the airport

  • Liked — where it is its handie to trains and buses and airport
  • Disliked — the staff and the broken toilet
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALLORCA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

The room was freezing. The bathroom had wallpaper hanging from the ceiling and cobwebs. there was hair and dirt on the floor and light fittings.

When i went to the reception area to cancel a future booking, which we had requested on the internet, for our return journey. a very rude male advised me the lady at reception was on the phone, and would help me once she had finished. finally after 10 minutes he asked me what i wanted, i told him i wanted to cancel due to the standard of the rooms, they were not as advertised on the internet, he then stated ¨what do you expect for 50 pounds, this is not the Hilton!!!¨

I was so mad i had to leave the drab reception hall and return to our freezing cold room.

Dont go there, its awful, no wonder they take your cash before showing you the room!!!!

I have photos for proof.

  • Liked — THE WOMAN ON RECEPTION WAS VERY PLEASANT
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JANMALLORCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

This is the second time we have used this hotel. The first time was a year ago when we found the staff polite and helpful. I understand that it has since changed hands and our second stay there this year in January was not up to the same standard. We found the staff abrupt and unhelpful. The driver of the airport transport did not say a word to us and stood by while we put our luggage in the bus and again when we took it off. The receptionist was curt almost to the point of rudeness. The transport to the airport did not start until 9.00am which was two hours too late for us and we were told we could either get a taxi or walk half a mile down the road to the other hotel they owned to get transport. This is despite the fact that that transport would have had to pass infront of the Gaisborough Hotel on its way to the airport. The room was basic, small and rather pokey up in the attic but that would have been alright if the bed had been comfortable. Unfortunately it had a plastic covering over hte mattress which is most unpleasant to sleep on and the whole bed tilted like a ship listing in a storm. Breakfast did not start until 7.00am which again was too late for us but they did leave cereals, bread, coffee and tea out for us to help ourselves.

I hope that these problems are just teething problems which the new owners will sort out. On the whole I would want to see a considerable improvement before I stay there again

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequenttraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

I am very glad I chose to spend the night at Gainsborough Lodge instead of waiting around at Gatwick for 12 hours between flights. The taxi ride there only took five minutes and I had a very restful sleep. The room was very quaint and homey - if you like ultra-modern accommodations you won't like this place. Also, the twin bed may be a bit small for a larger person. Personally I'm happy as long as there are soft towels, a hot shower and a comfy bed. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was very good and generously portioned. Having a complimentary ride to the airport was a bonus as well.

Some tips: I got a better rate booking through the Lodge's web site than through travel booking sites. I also strongly recommend you reserve your ride back to the airport and your breakfast time in advance, and let them know if you'll be arriving late. You can do all of this when you book through their site.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank snacktime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough Lodge

Property: Gainsborough Lodge
Address: 39 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gainsborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Horley
Gainsborough Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing