We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks on behalf of my Mother”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenalmond Guest House
Ranked #17 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks on behalf of my Mother”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

A quick thank you on behalf of my Mother who stayed at Glenalmond over Christmas. I pass on her vote which I can assure, based on my Mother's exacting standards, is well deserved.

She was made very welcome from start to finish and the cleanliness and comfort of the room as well as the breakfast area and facilities were just what we hoped.

Thanks to Donal and the team. I am sure we will be visiting again in the future

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    27
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
62
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Thank U so much ad a lovely stay with U yet again comfy beds we arrived at 8am with a wonderful greeting and pot of tea so nice after a long journey a wonderful breakfast all in all lovely and very nice people that look after U from penny and June se U again soon I hope

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny astell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetland, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We dislike having to travel to Gatwick for holidays and have used off site hotels and car parks in the past. Our trip to Glenalmond was SO much more pleasurable. We had a lovely walk to a local pub for supper, spent a very comfortable night, had a great breakfast and then had a personal drop off at the airport. Ok, the room wasn't enormous and neither was the shower room but for one night it was big enough. The free wifi was also useful. The pickup on our return was the quickest we have ever left an airport - Thanks Donal. We'll be there again if we can't avoid the long boring trip down the M1!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Donal was an exemplary host, the whole package was outstanding as the title says. Why? Simply because of the very generous hospitality, standard of accommodation, fantastic breakfast, parking package, transport to and from airport and the overall extremely good value for money. Having spent hundreds of pounds on previous trips staying and parking at the Sofitel, I really whished that we had considered the B&B option sooner, what a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

For:

Exceptional host who goes above and beyond
Clean functional rooms, with what you would expect (we stayed in the family room)
Excellent Breakfast
Very competitive parking package
Reliable transportation to and from the airport
Good choice of quality restaurants & pubs within five minutes walking distance

Against:

Absolutely nothing the only regret is I wish I had done this option much sooner.

On a personal note Donal, thank you very much for helping me try to get the truck started, a new battery sorted it! Very much hope to visit you again next time we depart through Gatwick. I have no hesitation in recommending Donal & the Glenalmond Guest House to any travellers irrespective of your previous experiences on airport, give them a try!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

These are the nicest most concerned most helpful people that I have met in my life. I was treated better than family. I was fed very well. Donal picked us up from the airport and made sure that we were able to navigate well around in the UK. I slept so well the first day that I didn't even get up until late evening. All my child talks about is how much she loved the bed and breakfast. I stayed a long time, six nights, and enjoyed it so much that I plan to return. The wireless internet is very fast. It's just a very nice place. My mother was treated like a queen. We had an exceptional time. I became addicted to the tea. Delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslawlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night prior to flying out of Gatwick. Donal was very welcoming and extremely helpful. The room we had was a family room with a double bed and bunks although there was only 2 of us. Room had every thing we needed and was very comfortable, clean and tidy. We had breakfast the next morning before we left, this was of great quality with food cooked to order and plenty of choice. Transfers to and from airport were very efficient with Donal working around our requested times for both drop off and pick up. Highly recommended and we will stay next time we are flying from Gatwick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

3 things I want when flying from Gatwick are, cooked breakfast, holiday parking and tranfers to the airport all included. Well Glenalmond has it all. We stayed the night before flying, parked the car for the week, and stayed the night of our return. Donal is a great host, I told him on route by text what our rough arrival time would be, and he was there to meet us. He explained everything very clearly, but also said, please ring if you need absolutely anything. Room was tastefully decorated, with kettle,tea,coffee,hot chocolate,hairdryer etc all present and I'm sure if we had wanted another cup ,he would not have minded us helping ourselves in the kitchen. The inclusive cooked breakfast, was yummy and filling, and you can have such a good laugh with them, He took us to the airport as I was flapping about the time, but it was no more than 5 mins away. The sitting room has just been decorated with the carpet being fitted as we left, it looked gorgeous! Our flight back was at midnight, so he gave us the number of roadrunner taxis, who charged us only £5. They truly are a great team there and nothing is too much trouble. I cannot see how anyone could give a bad review for Glenalmond. When flying from Gatwick, please make this your stay, (unless I'm staying) you wont be disappointed. (Donals jokes can be a bit dodgy mind you) AAAAA++++++

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teasyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southbourne Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond Guest House

Property: Glenalmond Guest House
Address: 64 Massetts Road | Gatwick, Horley RH6 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond Guest House provides overnight accommodation near London Gatwick Airport. Close to local shops, restaurants, pubs, and mainline stations (35 minutes to London, 5 minutes from Gatwick). Full English/Continental Breakfast, Courtesy Transport provided between 0800 and 2000. Holiday parking available with or without accommodation. Run by retired Police Officer. All rooms have en suite facilities, color TV, tea and coffee, radio alarms, hairdryers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenalmond Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing