We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1st time visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gable End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great 1st time visit!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed at Gable End for the 1st time this year - not only did we get excellent B+B, but we also got great advice on where to eat locally ( 6 Bells had a "Pie night" on and we all had a good meal out! The full breakfast was perfect, and Joseph took us to Gatwick on time and with no stress! On our return flight (9+hours) we phoned and Joseph kindly collected us from the airport and we were invited in for cups of tea before making the long drive home! We couldn't have wished for better. Definitely recommended to everyone we spoken to since - and in the future....we'll stay nowhere else when using Gatwick in future! Thanks to Mary and Joseph.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilersTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
thank you for your review, it was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you back with us again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    68
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
217
357
111
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very friendly people, Mary & Joseph, made us welcome. We stayed before flying and after our return. We left the car with them during the holiday too. Generous breakfast, gluten free toast for me made with Genius brand bread. Comfy beds, slept well. Joseph dropped us at airport on departure. On return at 1am they had made arrangements for us to get into the B&B and our room. Good value and close to airport.
Highly recommended. Stay here. Eat at The Six Bells too!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueChrisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back with us again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballinhassig
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Again we as a group would highly recommend a stay at the Gable End Guest House. On our way to a scuba diving trip to the Red Sea we were once greeted with a warm welcome having our Taxi organised for us from Heathrow. A great breakfast and being dropped off to Gatwick on our outward journey. Thanks once again to Mary and Joseph for all you efforts in making our outward and retuurn journey run so smoothly. Looking forward to our next stay
Helen &Jim and the members of Cork SAC

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Jim, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad your trip ran smoothly and you had a good stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We've just completed our second stay in 2013 with Joe and Mary at the Gatwick Gable End Guest House. Our first stay was in mid-February. Both times, we’ve enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Joe and Mary are delightful personalities---very hospitable, helpful and like to smile and laugh. Our rooms were great---clean, comfortable and charming. Breakfasts are spectacular, especially the English Breakfast, and they have a wide assortment of extras (cereals, juices, yogurts, jams, etc). The guest house is in an ideal location for weary travelers; it’s a very brief wait from the time you call for a pickup and Joe’s arrival to get you at the airport; it’s a short drive from Gatwick to Joe and Mary’s; and there’s a wonderful old pub within easy walking distance from Gable End. If you have a little time, walking around the nearby town centre of Horley is also fun and interesting. We’ll definitely stay with Joe and Mary again, the next time we’re stopping over at Gatwick.

Kerry Finucan & Lynn Peterson

Room Tip: We loved Room # 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Mary & Jospeh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at Gable End recently on our way to Tobago and again on our way back. We left our car with them whilst away and they gave us a lift to the airport and collected us on our way back...wonderful!
We have two children 6 & 2. Mary & Joe were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and tidy.
We felt very at home with the children and the use of the breakfast facilities to give the kids a banana or yogurt when they were hungry outside of the breakfast time was really helpful.
There is a lovely old pub within walking distance that has a great menu for dinner.
Also the cooked breakfast at gable End was delicious.
Thank you Mary, Joe & team we will certainly use you again.

Room Tip: Room 7 was great with a family...plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope that you and your family will come back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We are a family of four and were facing a really early departure from Gatwick for our Easter holidays. Following recommendations, we booked in to The Gable End Guest House and we are so glad to have found this little gem. Joseph gave us a lovely friendly and Irishly funny welcome and we felt our holiday actually started one day early! Joseph organised dinner reservations at the nearby pub, he arranged for a taxi to take us to Gatwick at an ungodly hour the next morning and then picked up up from the airport when we arrived back. Lovely lovely service. Our room was very comfortable clean and spacious and had all we needed for a quick stay. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Mandy, thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you and your family back with us again soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Lovely irish couple, very clean, handy for the airport, have stayed here 5 times now and just love it. Rates are very good. You can leave your car for as long as you are on holiday. Will definitely use again and again. Thanks again mary snd joe for that you did for us. Hope to see you next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertcutler9555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you Robert for your review, and we look forward to seeing you back again with us soon.
Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.2 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Property: Gable End Guest House
Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley
Gable End Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing